What is open pedagogy?
Open pedagogy is a practice which uses the 5R activity framework to design lessons and assessments that encourage students to improve or create course content. With open pedagogy projects, students are empowered to engage in information creation through non-disposable or renewable assignments. The student is both creator and contributor of assignments that are openly licensed, allowing the content to be shared, revised, and reused by future students in a course.
Simply put, open pedagogy involves creating assignments that involve students creating things that others can revise and reuse, that add value to the world beyond the course.
In-depth blog post by David Wiley that explores open pedagogy
Training modules were developed by the National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (Ireland). Tip: Module 4 focuses on open pedagogy. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Open Pedagogy to Support EDI (webinar)
Jennifer Snoek-Brown and Kathy Swart, 2021, for WACCy Wednesday Webinar series. Kathy Swart presents on "Critical and Renewable Assignments for Information Justice," and Jennifer Snoek-Brown presents on “Open Pedagogy Collaborations with Faculty & Students," featuring several TCC faculty open pedagogy assignments.
Examples of Open Pedagogy from TCC students
Public course on Canvas for TCC students to learn more about OER and the efforts campus-wide to reduce textbook expenses. Includes a module on open pedagogy and examples of open pedagogy from TCC students. Course content under a CC BY license.
Christina Riehman-Murphy and Bryan McGeary, Penn State, 2021. Workshop materials for developing open pedagogy projects, including sections for Scope, Support, Student Outcomes and Agency, and Sharing and Sustainability, with additional intro and glossary, and case studies. Online and Google Drive of documents and activity sheets. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Bruce Neid, Nicki Rehn; Coast Mountain College (Canada), 2021. "Open Pedagogy in the Trades: Instructor Resource contains a bank of activities and projects to integrate with your course curriculum and use with your students immediately. All the activities are adaptable to any trade or ITA line item, and most will work for in-person and remote learning modalities. Adopting open pedagogy will lead to more engaged and invested students and richer learning outcomes." Includes 14 open pedagogy projects to adapt to your own subject area. Multiple formats, including online, PDF, and Canvas cartridge. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
Open Pedagogy Approaches: Faculty, Library, and Student Collaborations
Edited by Alexis Clifton and Kimberly Davies Hoffman. "[I]t offers a diverse compilation of OER and open pedagogy (OP) projects grounded in faculty, library, and student collaborations [...] provides ideas, practical tips, and inspiration for educators willing to explore the power of open, whether that involves a small innovation or a large-scale initiative." CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
A resource for educators interested in learning more about Open Pedagogy. Includes open pedagogy assignments submitted by educators.
Examples of and issues about open pedagogy. From University of British Columbia.
Renewable assignments: Student work adding value to the world
Christina Hendricks, University of British Columbia. Outlines different types of renewable assignments, as well as examples.
Site with open resources for student-centered and adaptive strategies in higher ed. This site "offers practical and engaging advice about what "next" should look like across higher education, from sixteen current and forthcoming authors in the Teaching and Learning in Higher Education book series from West Virginia University Press." Includes videos, articles, guides, and more.
CORE 101 Open Pedagogy Project
Open pedagogy projects from Roger Williams University. Features student-designed and researched website projects about science issues, created by non-science majors. Example projects include Climate Change, DNA, Nutrition, Vaccines, and more. Projects are openly licensed with a CC-BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Open pedagogy collection of student essays from English courses at Lansing Community College, 2020. "Student writing collected from English classes at Lansing Community College with brief notes from instructors. Intended audience--faculty and students. A brief annotated bibliography about publishing student writing and permission form in Appendices." Online, PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
https://libretexts.org/mission.html
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
Teams and Organizations can setup accounts using subdomains for free or optionally purchase domain registrations. Provides easy access to install over 100 open source applications with ease directly in the control panel. From Reclaim Hosting, which provides hosting support for individuals and institutions that want to build out spaces online for personal portfolios, digital projects, and more.
Omeka is a free, flexible, and open source web-publishing platform for the display of library, museum, archives, and scholarly collections and exhibitions. Its “five-minute setup” makes launching an online exhibition as easy as launching a blog. Omeka is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University.
Pressbooks is easy-to-use book writing software that lets you create a book in all the formats you need to publish. Pressbooks delivers print-ready files for CreateSpace, IngramSpark and Lightning Source, as well as ebook files optimized to look great in all ebook stores: Amazon Kindle, Apple iBooks, Nook, Kobo, Google Play and more.
PubPub is a free and open tool for collaborative editing, instant publishing, continuous review, and grassroots journals
The Wiki Education Foundation connects higher education to the publishing power of Wikipedia. Bridging Wikipedia and academia creates opportunities for any learner to contribute to, and access, open knowledge. Wiki Ed supports the Wikipedia Education Program in the United States and Canada. Since 2010, university instructors participating in the program have assigned their students to add content to course-related articles on Wikipedia. Students gain key 21st century skills like media literacy, writing and research development, and critical thinking, while content gaps on Wikipedia get filled thanks to students’ efforts.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
