Bronze: a book of verse, by Georgia Douglas Johnson. With an introduction by Dr. W. E. B. DuBois. (1922)
Call Number: PS3519.O248 B7 1922
Book Collection: Black Classics Book Collection
Description: The second book of poetry by the influential Harlem Renaissance figure and one of the earliest female African American playwrights, in which she explores motherhood and being a woman of color. Johnson's husband did not approve of her literary ambitions and insisted she focus on domestic affairs. He died three years after the publication of this book; Johnson was left a widow at age 45, struggling to support two teenage boys. She wrote an estimated 28 plays, most of which were unpublished during her lifetime due to her gender and race, as well as her refusal to give the plays what she considered unrealistically happy endings.
Negro poets and their poems, by Robert T. Kerlin. (1923).
Call Number: PS591.N4 K4 1935
Book Collection: Lawless Collection
Description: Negro Poets and Their Poems is a 1923 poetry collection by Robert T. Kerlin. It was one of the major anthologies of African American poetry published during the Harlem Renaissance and has been cited as a valuable source of information on the era.
Call Number: PN6101 .E26 v.1, no.1 and v.3, no.1 (2002)
Book Collection: Poetry & Literature Collection
Description: This is a self-published book of poems written by students in the department of English and Foreign Languages.
The language we cry in / by Delicia Daniels. (2017)
Call Number: PS591.N4 K4 1935
Book Collection: African American Heritage of the West Book Collection
Description: In her debut poetry collection, Delicia Daniels uniquely relates different experiences, including a new outlook on past history, intimacies, hardships, the joys of relationships, and the stepping stones of faith we were all born with. This wonderful poetry journey will leave you asking for more.
Call Number: PS591.N4 J6 1931
Book Collection: Black Classics Book Collection
Description: The Book of American Negro Poetry is a 1922 poetry anthology that was compiled by James Weldon Johnson. The first edition, published in 1922, was "the first of its kind ever published" and included the works of thirty-one poets. A second edition was released in 1931 with works by nine additional poets.
Spirit of Harlem: A Portrait of America's Most Exciting Neighborhood Book by Craig Marberry and Michael Cunningham (2003)
Call Number: (uncatalogued)
Book Collection: Poetry & Literature Book Collection
Description: "Spirit of Harlem" documents this extraordinary period of transition through the words and faces of newcomers and longtime residents alike. There are reminiscences of Harlem during the 1920s through the 1960s, stories of friends and families gathering at churches, in local shops, and on the streets, and thoughts on what the future holds for the neighborhood.
I Am the Darker Brother: An Anthology of Modern Poems by African Americans written by Arnold Adoff and Benny Andrews (Illustrator) (1968)
Call Number: (uncatalogued)
Book Collection: Poetry & Literature Book Collection
Description: This honest and poignant young adult poetry collection addresses many different experiences of what it means to be black.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
