Guides: Navigating and Investigating: HBCUs Libraries and Librarians Researching with Authority: An Academic Librarian’s Frame-working Research Approach: Home

Research Collaborations: Showcasing the HBCUs Library’s Resources and Services

Speaker: Ms. Kimberly M. Gay

Head of Reference and Information Services Department, Academic Reference and Instruction Librarian II

John B. Coleman Library Staff >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/prf.php?account_id=199343

Office Email: kmgay@pvamu.edu

Office Phone: 936-261-1506

Title: Navigating and Investigating: HBCUs Libraries and Librarians Researching with Authority: An Academic Librarian’s Frame-working Research Approach

Description: Come gather the best practices for researching with your HBCU Librarian. From databases to digital commons to citation management programs to library departments and LibGuides to the live library chat service and virtual consultations with a librarian, this interactive session with gather the attendees’ tools for collaborations with your HBCU Librarian.

Speaker Bio: Kimberly Michelle Gay is the Head of Reference and Information Services, Academic Reference and Instruction Librarian II at the John B. Coleman Library of Prairie View A&M University- a Texas A&M University System with over 20-years of PVAMU work experience and she has more than 20-years of Academic Librarianship experience. Texas Woman's University, Denton, Texas is where she received her Bachelors of Science Degree in Mass Communication double minor: Fashion Merchandising and Sociology graduating Magna Cum Laude, 3.89 GPA. She received a Master's of Science Degree in Library Science and Information Studies, Suma Cum Laude, 4.0 GPA from TWU as well. She is a Lifetime inductee in the Beta Lambda Chapter of Beta Phi Mu (International Library and Information Studies Honor Society.

Workshop Outline Agenda: An Example- Features and Functions of the John B. Coleman Library -

John B. Coleman Library: Website >> https://www.pvamu.edu/library/

· Live Chat Service >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/c.php?g=906034&p=7167691

· LibGuides/Subject Guides >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/?b=g&d=a

· Reference Librarians: Library Faculty Liaison Areas- Subjects/Colleges/Schools (Find my Liaison Librarian) >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/liaisons

· John B. Coleman Library Departments >> https://www.pvamu.edu/library/departments/

· e-Journal portal- Subject are listing of Full-Text Journal Titles

· Interlibrary Loan >> https://mypanther-lib.pvamu.edu/screens/ill.html

· RefWorks- ProQuest- RefWorks is a web-based commercial reference management software package. It is produced by Ex Libris, a ProQuest company >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php?a=r

· Off campus access >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/c.php?g=906034&p=6538359

· askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

· Databases: A to Z database list >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php

o Pivot- Pivot is a database containing funding opportunities. for all disciplines and project types. It includes. information on federal, private, and international. funding options all in one easy to search tool. >> https://pivot.proquest.com/

o eBooks-EBSCOhost/ProQuest (full-text)

o Nexis-Uni- Business to Court Cases (Federal and State)

o Credo Complete Core Collection Reference-Academic Core >> https://corp.credoreference.com/collections/academic-core.html

o Kanopy Videos >> https://www.kanopy.com/en

o WorldCat- Open Source. OCLC >> https://www.worldcat.org/

o Scopus- Scopus is Elsevier's abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers nearly 36,377 titles from approximately 11,678 publishers, of which 34,346 are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences and health sciences. >> https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/scopus

o Sage Research Methods- About Sage Research Methods

>> https://methods-sagepub-com.pvamu.idm.oclc.org/

o Infobase Learning Resources (Issues & Controversies, World News Digest, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video) Films on Demand >> https://infobase.com/products-universities-colleges/

o HeritageQuest Online- Genealogy Research (Ancestry. Com) >> https://about.proquest.com/en/products-services/HeritageQuest-Online/

o HistoryMakers Digital Archive - The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection >> https://www.thehistorymakers.org/ . The HistoryMakers is a national 501©(3) non-profit research and educational institution committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans. Through the media and a series of user-friendly products, services and events, The HistoryMakers enlightens, entertains and educates the public, helping to refashion a more inclusive record of American history.

o Gale Databases >> https://www.gale.com/databases#academic

o Google Scholar- My Library- PVAMU JBCL ( = settings- library links, type in Prairie View A&M University- check the box/s >> https://scholar.google.com/scholar?scilib=1&hl=en&as_sdt=0,44

Library Research Instruction Survey

>> https://pvamu.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_00YEz3N6FVpCeS9

Library Online Workshops

>> https://www.pvamu.edu/library/venue/online-presentation/

Workshop: Working Documentation- Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians

Workshop: Working Documentation- Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians
Description: Come gather the best practices for researching the library’s virtual resources. From databases to digital commons to citation management programs to library departments and LibGuides to the live library chat service and virtual consultations with a librarian, this interactive session with gather the attendees’ tools for accessing the features and functions of the virtual world of the John B. Coleman Library.
PDF Workshop: Working Documentation- Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians
Description: Come gather the best practices for researching the library’s virtual resources. From databases to digital commons to citation management programs to library departments and LibGuides to the live library chat service and virtual consultations with a librarian, this interactive session with gather the attendees’ tools for accessing the features and functions of the virtual world of the John B. Coleman Library.

Google Docs Workshop: Working Documentation- Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians
Description: Come gather the best practices for researching the library’s virtual resources. From databases to digital commons to citation management programs to library departments and LibGuides to the live library chat service and virtual consultations with a librarian, this interactive session with gather the attendees’ tools for accessing the features and functions of the virtual world of the John B. Coleman Library.