Citation Help

Citation Management Tools & Styles

Web-based bibliography and database managers that allow you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper.

RefWorks at ProQuest: on campus and off campus access available. First time users should sign up for a personal account and login with the personal account to use the citation tool.

RefWorks (legacy): For users with existing accounts only. Off campus access to RefWorks (Legacy) Prairie View Group code is: RWPrairieViewU Note: This version of RefWorks will be phased out, so you may want to move your account to the New RefWorks. Using both old and New RefWorks within one document in Write-n-Cite can cause problems, so finish your projects before making the switch.

What you need to know about the old (Legacy) and new (Proquest) Refworks:

1. Legacy RefWorks is very stable and will perform all the functions required of a citation manager. For short-term projects, legacy RefWorks is a good choice, especially while all features and functions of the new RefWorks have not been released.

2. Legacy RefWorks would not be a good choice for people who are starting a long term project.

3. I already have a legacy RefWorks account. Should I transition to the new version? New RefWorks is available now; the legacy version is still available. You must consider a number of factors before deciding to transition from Legacy RefWorks to the New RefWorks.

4. If you are currently using the Legacy version and plan to finish your project, consider sticking with Legacy RefWorks. If you are starting a project, consider using the New RefWorks. You may have accounts in both the new and the legacy version of RefWorks The accounts are separate from each other. You may want to consider experimenting with the new RefWorks for a new project, while relying on the legacy version for current projects.

5. Although it has been released, New RefWorks is still in Beta. That means not all features and functions, such as attaching non-PDF images to citations, have been released. Proquest is releasing new features each month.

Learn more about new ProQuest RefWorks https://proquest.libguides.com/newrefworks

Four Easy Steps on Getting Started on RefWorks:

Log into your account or create an account in RefWorks.
– Once in RefWorks – you may either type in your citation or populate from a database search.
Search a resource such as JStor or ProQuest.
– You must have already logged into RefWorks before running a search. A saved search will work.
Mark articles.
– Mark the articles you wish to have citations for. This procedure is different depending which resource you are using.
Export to RefWorks.
– After marking the articles, select download or export to RefWorks depending on the resource you are using.
– A prompt should appear displaying the option to create a document with the citation results.
– The results of your search should also be in your RefWorks account.

Write-N-Cite – Is a utility that allows users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in their word processor. It works with your word-processor to create citations while you are writing your paper. With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in a manuscript instantly. There are multiple versions of Write-N-Cite available—depending on your preferred operating system. Installing Write-N-Cite – login on to your RefWorks account, select Tools pull down menu and select Write-N-Write. Follow the instructions. You must have administrators rights to Install Write-N-Cite feature on your computer.

EndNote at Web of Science:

Five Easy Steps To Get Started on End Note

Log into your account or create an account in Web of Science.
Once in End Note – you may either type in your citation or populate from a
database search.
Go to the right side of the ISI Web of Science homepage under “My Web of Knowledge” and select “My End Note Web”. The End Note Getting Started Guide is located on the End Note homepage.
Search a resource such as ISI Web of Science or EBSCO Host. You must have already logged into End Note before running a search. A saved search will work.
You may also search for citations and resources from a list of databases and other library catalogs by selecting “Search online database”.

Cite While You Write (also known as CWYW) is a key feature of End Note. It allows you to access End Note from within Microsoft Word to insert citations into your Word documents. You can insert citations anytime during your writing process. You can also use Cite While You Write to insert images (figures) from an End Note library into your Word documents. CWYW automatically builds a bibliography from the citations you insert. You can also create a list of figures.

Installing Cite While You Write Log on to your End Note Account (http://www.myendnoteweb.com) and select Options. Select Download Installers from the Options menu and follow the instructions. You must have administrators’ rights to install the Cite While You Write feature on your computer.

Citation Styles: