Guides: PVAMU College of Agriculture and Human Sciences: Organizing Your Library Research Skills and Strategies: Home

Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians- Training Session

Speaker: Ms. Kimberly M. Gay

Head of Reference and Information Services Department, Librarian II

John B. Coleman Library Staff >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/prf.php?account_id=199343

Office Email: kmgay@pvamu.edu

Office Phone: 936-261-1506

Title: College of Agriculture and Human Sciences: Organizing Your Library Research Skills and Strategies. Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians

Description: Come gather the best practices for researching the John B. Coleman Library’s virtual and print resources . From databases to literature reviews to avoiding plagiarism and predatory journals to citation management programs to library departments and research LibGuides to the live library chat service along with face to face and virtual consultations with a professional librarian , this interactive session will gather the attendees’ tools for accessing the features and functions of the virtual and print world of the John B. Coleman Library.

Speaker Bio: Kimberly Michelle Gay is the Head of Reference and Information Services, Academic Reference and Instruction Librarian II at the John B. Coleman Library of Prairie View A&M University- a Texas A&M University System with over 16-years of PVAMU work experience and she has more than 20-years of Academic Librarianship experience. Texas Woman's University, Denton, Texas is where she received her Bachelors of Science Degree in Mass Communication double minor: Fashion Merchandising and Sociology graduating Magna Cum Laude, 3.89 GPA. She received a Master's of Science Degree in Library Science and Information Studies, Suma Cum Laude, 4.0 GPA from TWU as well. She is a Lifetime inductee in the Beta Lambda Chapter of Beta Phi Mu (International Library and Information Studies Honor Society

Workshop Outline Agenda: Features and Functions of the John B. Coleman Library

John B. Coleman Library: Website >> https://www.pvamu.edu/library/

· Live Chat Service

o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/c.php?g=906034&p=7167691

· LibGuides/Subject Guides

o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/?b=g&d=a

· Reference Librarians: Library Faculty Liaison Areas- Subjects/Colleges/Schools (Find my Liaison Librarian)

o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/liaisons

· John B. Coleman Library Departments

o >> https://www.pvamu.edu/library/departments/

· e-Journal portal

o e-Journals

· Interlibrary Loan

o >> https://mypanther-lib.pvamu.edu/screens/ill.html

· RefWorks- ProQuest- Database list- Letter R

o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php?a=r

· Off campus access

o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/c.php?g=906034&p=6538359

· askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

· Databases: A to Z database list >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php

o Pivot

o NewsBank- Statbank

o eBooks-EBSCOhost/ProQuest (full-text)

o Nexis-Uni- Court Cases

o Credo Complete Core Collection Reference-Mind Map

o Kanopy Videos

o WorldCat- Open Source

o Scopus

o Music & Performing Arts (previously Music Online)- audio

o Infobase Learning Resources (Issues & Controversies, World News Digest, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video) Films on Demand

o HeritageQuest Online- Genealogy research

o NEW: HistoryMakers Digital Archive New- The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection

o Gale Legal Forms

o Google Scholar- My Library- PVAMU JBCL ( = settings- library links, type in Prairie View A&M University- check the box/s

Library Research Instruction Survey

>> https://pvamu.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_00YEz3N6FVpCeS9

Library Online Workshops

>> https://www.pvamu.edu/library/venue/online-presentation/

JBCL Virtual Tour >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/c.php?g=942462

Workshop: Working Documentation- Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians

Workshop: Working Documentation- Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians
Description: Come gather the best practices for researching the library’s virtual resources. From databases to digital commons to citation management programs to library departments and LibGuides to the live library chat service and virtual consultations with a librarian, this interactive session with gather the attendees’ tools for accessing the features and functions of the virtual world of the John B. Coleman Library.
PDF Workshop: Working Documentation- Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians
Description: Come gather the best practices for researching the library’s virtual resources. From databases to digital commons to citation management programs to library departments and LibGuides to the live library chat service and virtual consultations with a librarian, this interactive session with gather the attendees’ tools for accessing the features and functions of the virtual world of the John B. Coleman Library.

Google Docs Workshop: Working Documentation- Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians
Description: Come gather the best practices for researching the library’s virtual resources. From databases to digital commons to citation management programs to library departments and LibGuides to the live library chat service and virtual consultations with a librarian, this interactive session with gather the attendees’ tools for accessing the features and functions of the virtual world of the John B. Coleman Library.