Speaker: Ms. Kimberly M. Gay
Head of Reference and Information Services Department, Librarian II
John B. Coleman Library Staff >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/prf.php?account_id=199343
Office Email: kmgay@pvamu.edu
Office Phone: 936-261-1506
Title: Research Collaborations: Showcasing the John B. Library’s Resources and Reference Librarians
Description
Description: Come gather the best practices for researching the library’s virtual resources. From databases to digital commons to citation management programs to library departments and LibGuides to the live library chat service and virtual consultations with a librarian, this interactive session with gather the attendees’ tools for accessing the features and functions of the virtual world of the John B. Coleman Library.
Speaker Bio: Kimberly Michelle Gay is the Head of Reference and Information Services, Academic Reference and Instruction Librarian II at the John B. Coleman Library of Prairie View A&M University- a Texas A&M University System with over 15-years of PVAMU work experience and she has more than 20-years of Academic Librarianship experience. Texas Woman's University, Denton, Texas is where she received her Bachelors of Science Degree in Mass Communication double minor: Fashion Merchandising and Sociology graduating Magna Cum Laude, 3.89 GPA. She received a Master's of Science Degree in Library Science and Information Studies, Suma Cum Laude, 4.0 GPA from TWU as well. She is a Lifetime inductee in the Beta Lambda Chapter of Beta Phi Mu (International Library and Information Studies Honor Society
Workshop Outline Agenda: Features and Functions of the John B. Coleman Library
John B. Coleman Library: Website >> https://www.pvamu.edu/library/
· Live Chat Service
o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/c.php?g=906034&p=7167691
· LibGuides/Subject Guides
o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/?b=g&d=a
· Reference Librarians: Library Faculty Liaison Areas- Subjects/Colleges/Schools (Find my Liaison Librarian)
o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/liaisons
· John B. Coleman Library Departments
o >> https://www.pvamu.edu/library/departments/
· e-Journal portal
o e-Journals
· Interlibrary Loan
o >> https://mypanther-lib.pvamu.edu/screens/ill.html
· RefWorks- ProQuest- Database list- Letter R
o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php?a=r
· Off campus access
o >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/c.php?g=906034&p=6538359
· askalibrarian@pvamu.edu
· Databases: A to Z database list >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php
o Pivot
o NewsBank- Statbank
o eBooks-EBSCOhost/ProQuest (full-text)
o Nexis-Uni- Court Cases
o Credo Complete Core Collection Reference-Mind Map
o Kanopy Videos
o WorldCat- Open Source
o Scopus
o Music & Performing Arts (previously Music Online)- audio
o Infobase Learning Resources (Issues & Controversies, World News Digest, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video) Films on Demand
o HeritageQuest Online- Genealogy research
o NEW: HistoryMakers Digital Archive New- The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection
o Gale Legal Forms
o Google Scholar- My Library- PVAMU JBCL ( = settings- library links, type in Prairie View A&M University- check the box/s
Library Research Instruction Survey
>> https://pvamu.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_00YEz3N6FVpCeS9
Library Online Workshops
>> https://www.pvamu.edu/library/venue/online-presentation/
JBCL Virtual Tour >> https://pvamu.libguides.com/c.php?g=942462
Sage Research Methodssupports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Nearly everyone at a university is involved in research, from students learning how to conduct research to faculty conducting research for publication to librarians delivering research skills training and doing research on the efficacy of library services. Sage Research Methods has the answer for each of these user groups, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon Sage’s legacy of methods publishing, Sage Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
Please see our Help Page for more information on how to use the site.
To recommend Sage Research Methods to your library please complete this recommendation form.
About Sage Research Methods Cases
Sage Research Methods Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. The collection provides more than 1100 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. They explain why the researchers chose the methods they did, how they overcame problems in their research and what they might have done differently with hindsight: the realities of research that are missing from journal articles and textbooks. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions. They can be used as a teaching tool to demonstrate a particular method and how it is applied in real research, or as inspiration to students who are preparing for their own research project.
About Sage Research Methods Datasets
Sage Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. This bank of topical, engaging practice datasets, indexed by method and data type, are optimized to use in classroom exercises or in exam papers, saving faculty members hours spent sourcing and cleaning data themselves. The decisions researchers make when analyzing data can seem like a black box for students—through practicing analysis using real data from Sage Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made, helping them to become confident researchers.
About Sage Research Methods Video
Sage Research Methods Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action. Stimulate class discussions by assigning videos for pre-class viewing, or use a clip in class to provide an alternative viewpoint. Videos can also be embedded into course management systems for exam preparation. Through these videos, 60% of which are exclusive to Sage, students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project and succeed in their research methods course.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
