Criminal Justice : A Beginner’s Guide by Bryan Gibson
ISBN: 9781908162687
Publication Date: Hook, Hampshire : Waterside Press. 2014
The most straightforward overview available. Covers the entire criminal justice system. A ‘no frills'explanation for beginners. This basic guide sets out the main components of the criminal justice system in an accessible way. Intended as a starting point for readers coming to the subject for the first time it is ideal for new staff, volunteers, first year students and other ‘rookies': a short book of facts, explanations and pointers to further study. Chapters: 1. What is Crime? 2. What is Criminal Justice? 3. Who's Who? 4. Modern Developments 5. The Police 6. The Criminal Courts in Action 7. Sentencing (including Probation Work) 8. Prisons and Imprisonment 9. Victims and Restorative Justice 10. Causes of Crime The book also features the Rule of Law, risk assessment, decision-making, forensic investigation, witnesses, surveillance, criminology, crime reduction strategies, border controls, penal reform and some international and historical dimensions. With a Glossary of Words, Phrases and Abbreviations.
Criminal Justice by Stephen R. Mitchell; Emily S. Ross
ISBN: 9781619424913
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
This book examines various issues being contemplated by the criminal justice system, existing laws, and sentencing guidelines for criminal activity. Topics discussed include federal crime control issues in the 111th Congress; D.C. gun laws and proposed amendments; post-incarceration controls of convicted sex offenders; supervised release; criminal liability under wildlife laws for the 2010 oil spill; federal cocaine sentencing disparity and federal mandatory minimum sentences.
Criminal Justice by Ian Marsh; John Cochrane; Gaynor Melville
ISBN: 9780415333009
Publication Date: 2004-06-17
This new text encourages students to develop a deeper understanding of the context and the current workings of the criminal justice system. The first part offers a clear and comprehensive review of the major philosophical aims and sociological theories of punishment, the history of justice and punishment and the developing perspective of victimology. In the second part, the focus is on the main areas of the contemporary criminal justice system, including the police, the courts and judiciary, prisons and community penalties.There are regular reflective question breaks which enable students to consider and respond to questions relating to what they have just read and the book contains useful pedagogic features such as boxed examples, leading questions and annotated further reading. This practical book is particularly geared to undergraduate students following programmes in criminal justice and criminology. It will also prove a useful resource for practitioners who are following vocationally based courses in the criminal justice area – in social work, youth justice and police training courses.
Criminal Justice in America by Carla Lewandowski; Jeffrey B. Bumgarner
ISBN: 9781440862625
Publication Date: 2020-11-17
This authoritative set provides a comprehensive overview of issues and trends in crime, law enforcement, courts, and corrections that encompass the field of criminal justice studies in the United States.This work offers a thorough introduction to the field of criminal justice, including types of crime; policing; courts and sentencing; landmark legal decisions; and local, state, and federal corrections systems—and the key topics and issues within each of these important areas. It provides a complete overview and understanding of the many terms, jobs, procedures, and issues surrounding this growing field of study. Another major focus of the work is to examine ethical questions related to policing and courts, trial procedures, law enforcement and corrections agencies and responsibilities, and the complexion of criminal justice in the United States in the 21st century.Finally, this title emphasizes coverage of such politically charged topics as drug trafficking and substance abuse, immigration, environmental protection, government surveillance and civil rights, deadly force, mass incarceration, police militarization, organized crime, gangs, wrongful convictions, racial disparities in sentencing, and privatization of the U.S. prison system.Approximately 300 authoritative entries on important topics pertaining to the discipline of criminal justiceIlluminating timeline of events in the history of criminal justice in the United States Extensive general bibliography providing students with useful resources for further study
Multiple Objective Analytics for Criminal Justice Systems by Gerald W. Evans
ISBN: 9780367517342
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Criminal justice systems are complex and difficult to design and operate. This is due to their many interacting parts, and their dynamic and probabilistic nature, as well as their interfaces with other systems. This book reviews the use of analytics to address issues in criminal justice system and discusses the various sources of data associated with the systems. This book is meant to be used by those who would like 1) an introduction to criminal justice systems and 2) an illustration of how some of the various methodologies of analytics can be used to address specific issues in criminal justice systems. This book will be of interest to faculty, students, and researchers in schools/departments of criminal justice, law, public affairs, political science, industrial engineering, and management. In addition, the book should be of use to government analysts who study the effects of criminal programs and laws.
The Law of Disclosure by Ed Johnston (Editor); Tom Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 9781000260175
Publication Date: 2020-12-17
This edited collection explores the topic of disclosure of evidence and information in the criminal justice process. The book critically analyses the major issues driving the long-standing problem of dysfunctional disclosure practice, with contributions from academics, lawyers, former police officers, and current police policymakers. The ultimate objective is to review the key problems at the investigative, trial and post-conviction stages of criminal proceedings, and to suggest a way forward through potential routes of reform, both legal and cultural. The collection represents a significant and novel contribution to the policy debate regarding disclosure, and advances thought on resolving this issue in a fair and sustainable manner. The book provides a valuable resource for academics, practitioners and policymakers working on this vital aspect of criminal procedure.
Basic Statistics in Criminology and Criminal Justice by David Weisburd; Chester Britt; David Wilson; Alese Wooditch
ISBN: 9783030479664
Publication Date: 2021-02-24
This introductory textbook takes a building-block approach that emphasizes the application and interpretation of statistics in research in crime and justice. This text is meant for both students and professionals who want to gain a basic understanding of common statistical methods used in criminology and criminal justice before advancing to more complex statistical analyses in future volumes. This book emphasizes comprehension and interpretation. As the statistical methods discussed become more complex and demanding to compute, it integrates statistical software. It provides readers with an accessible understanding of popular statistical programs used to examine real-life crime and justice problems (including SPSS, Stata, and R). In addition, the book includes supplemental resources such as a glossary of key terms, practice questions, and sample data. Basic Statistics in Criminology and Criminal Justice aims to give students and researchers a core understanding of statistical concepts and methods that will leave them with the confidence and tools to tackle the statistical problems in their own research work.
Bias in the Law by Joseph Avery (Editor, Contribution by); Besiki Luka Kutateladze (Contribution by); Andrea Lyon (Contribution by); Naci Mocan (Contribution by); Ojmarrh Mitchell (Contribution by); Jim Sidanius (Contribution by); Mort Smith (Contribution by); Tessa West (Contribution by); Joel Cooper (Editor, Contribution by); Amanda Nicholson Bergold (Contribution by); Gregory Davis (Contribution by); Oana Dumitru (Contribution by); Asma Ghani (Contribution by); Rachel D. Godsil (Contribution by); Rebecca C. Hetey (Contribution by); Margaret Bull Kovera (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781793601032
Publication Date: 2020-02-12
Racial bias in the U.S. criminal justice system is much debated and discussed, but until now, no single volume has covered the full expanse of the issue. In Bias in the Law, sixteen outstanding experts address the impact of racial bias in the full roster of criminal justice actors. They examine the role of legislators crafting criminal justice legislation, community enforcers, and police, as well as prosecutors, criminal defense attorneys, judges, and jurors. Understanding when and why bias arises, as well as how it impacts defendants requires a clear understanding how each of these actors operate. Contributions touch on other crucial topics—racialized drug stigma, legal technology, and interventions—that are vital for understanding how the United States has reached this moment of stark racial disparity in incarceration. The result is an important entry into understanding the pervasiveness of racial bias, how such bias impacts legal outcomes, and why such impact matters. This is an issue that is as relevant today as it was fifty—or even one hundred fifty—years ago, and collection editors Joseph Avery and Joel Cooper provide a glimpse at how to proceed.
Research Methods for Criminology and Criminal Justice by Richard D. Hartley; Lee Ellis; Anthony Walsh
ISBN: 9781538129517
Publication Date: 2020-07-27
The second edition of Research Methods for Criminology and Criminal Justice is a core text for criminology and criminal justice research methods courses. This text offers a general foundation of knowledge that transcends particular topics or subject areas, allowing students to apply the methods and concepts discussed to a multitude of scenarios. Within the first five chapters, students learn (a) the philosophy behind scientific research, (b) the role of theory and hypotheses in the research process, (c) ethical issues in conducting research in our field, and (d) how research reports are structured. Thereafter, each new chapter will add information and examples that help students move toward a further understanding of research design and methodology that can be applied across the social and behavioral sciences to better understand social phenomena.
Historical Dictionary of American Criminal Justice by Matthew J. Sheridan; Raymond R. Rainville; Anna King; Brian Royster; Giuseppe M. Fazari
ISBN: 9781538111406
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
There has never been a more important time for those involved in criminal justice policy, operations and civil service to know their history. The Historical Dictionary of American Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the development of criminal justice in the United States. Criminal justice is a multidisciplinary endeavor, emerging across time and place through the fields of philosophy, law, biology, anthropology, and sociology. Developments occur quickly and regularly, the meanings of which are deeply embedded, not only in an historical context, but in complicated social, economic, and political circumstances as well. The field is particularly vulnerable to the exploitations of power being as closely aligned with the forces of social control as it is. The Historical Dictionary of American Criminal Justice contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,200 cross-referenced entries on the most relevant concepts, cases, people, and terms. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about American criminal justice.
Careers for the Criminal Justice Major by Tomas C. Mijares
ISBN: 9780398092108
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
The purpose of this book is to address the proper preparation for careers in criminal justice. Now more than ever, there is a societal demand for willing college graduates who are prepared to enter the field at the basic level, and eager to develop themselves into positions of responsibility and leadership. Due to rapid and continuous changes in technology and overall society, students entering the field of criminal justice employment will be expected to adjust to changes in their line of work. This book describes the realistic descriptions of the various entry-level positions that are offered, and practical information is provided to maximize efficiency in the selection of academic courses that will improve a student's likelihood of success during the application process. Major topics include: A Short History of Criminal Justice as an Academic Study; The Nature of Professions; Electives that Will Help; The Importance of an Internship; Disqualifiers and What to Avoid During College Years; Stereotypes and Misperceptions in Criminal Justice Employment; Careers in Law Enforcement, Corrections, and Private Security; Graduate School and Law School; Realistic Alternatives; Networking, Looking for Employment Leads, and References; Preparing for Testing and the Interview; Preparing for Transfers to Specialized Units and Promotions; and the Roles of Nontraditional Students, Minorities, and Women in Criminal Justice. The names of state law enforcement training councils, federal law enforcement agencies, intelligence agencies, state regulatory agencies, federal regulatory agencies, and criminal justice professional associations are contained in the Appendices to assist students and faculty members. This valuable resource is designed to assist college students majoring in criminal justice, police academics, and law enforcement professionals.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
