AGRI: Land Grant and Global Food Security: Agricultural Reference eBooks

This book outlines the import and export guidelines for food and agriculture in Brazil and India. Brazil's domestic market has proven to be less vulnerable to external crisis, despite a worsening of the global economic outlook. Stable economic growth, relatively low inflation rates and class mobility continue to benefit Brazilians. Massive investments have also driven income expansion, consequently pushing consumers to spend more. Oversight of imported food and beverage products is primarily the responsibility of the Brazilian Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Food Supply (MAPA) and the Ministry of Health, through the National Agency of Sanitary Surveillance. These two government bodies ensure the safety of the Brazilian food supply and enforce regulations related to food and beverage products throughout the supply chain. Additionally, and with a growing population of over 1.2 billion, Indian food law is intently focused on strengthening food security, and increasingly on promoting nutrition and food safety. In December 2011, the Indian Cabinet submitted a National Food Security Bill to Parliament for approval. The proposed legislation, will create a legal entitlement to subsidized food grains for 63.5 percent of India's population, including 75 percent of rural and 50 percent of urban dwellers. This measure will also raise the food subsidy bill to over INR1 trillion (approximately USD 18 billion) a year.

This new book presents and discusses current research in the study of agriculture, with a particular focus on technology, production and economics. Topics discussed include agricultural software; mechanized land application of organic fertilizers; pesticide models; optical metrology in agriculture; amplification of small interfering RNAs in transgenic plants; spate irrigation of rangelands; land titling and agricultural development; social labels for agricultural products and contemporary ecological-economic assessment of contaminated agricultural lands.

The scope of this book is Operations Research methods in Agriculture and a thorough discussion of derived applications in the Agri-food industry. The book summarizes current research and practice in this area and illustrates the development of useful approaches to deal with actual problems arising in the agriculture sector and the agri-food industry.This book is intended to collect in one volume high quality chapters on Methods and Applications in Agriculture and Agri-food industry considering both theoretical issues and application results. Methods applied to problems in agriculture and the agri-food industry include, but are not restricted to, the following themes:Dynamic programmingMulti-criteria decision methodsMarkov decision processesLinear programmingStochastic programmingParameter estimation and knowledge acquisitionLearning from dataSimulationDescriptive and normative decision tree techniques, including: agent modelling and simulation, and state of the art surveysEach chapter includes some standard and traditional methodology but also some recent research advances. All the applications presented in the chapters have been inspired and motivated by the demands from the agriculture and food production areas.

The latest findings in seed physiology—discussed as they relate to agricultural problems! Presenting the latest findings in the area of seed physiology as well as the practical applications of that knowledge in the field, the Handbook of Seed Physiology: Applications to Agriculture provides a comprehensive view of seed biology

This book tackles the central question of the political and structural changes and characteristics that govern agriculture and food. Original contributions explore this highly globalized economic sector by analyzing salient geographical regions and substantive topics. Along with chapters that investigate agri-food in North America, Europe, Latin America, Asia and Oceania, the book includes contributions that cover topics such as labor, science and technology, the financialization of agri-food, and supermarkets.

he present book “Key Notes on Horticulture and Agriculture Extension” has been designed to fulfill this long felt need of students, teachers, researchers and aspirants of competitive examinations. It is designed in such a way that give rapid, easy access to the core materials in a short format which facilitates easily learning and rapid revision. The book carries fundamentals of Horticulture and Agriculture Extension. The book is divided in two parts. The Part A of the book is Key Notes on Horticulture and the Part B of the book is on Key Notes on Agriculture Extension. The most recent information is provided along with a detailed list of references for further reading. Hope this book would be highly useful for graduate and post-graduate students of agriculture, teachers and researchers. This book will also useful for the aspirants of various competitive examinations such as Agricultural Research Service (ARS), ICAR- National Eligibility Test (NET), State Eligibility Test (SET), Junior Research Fellowship (JRF), Senior Research Fellowship (SRF), Civil Services, Allied Agricultural Examinations and Extension Workers for reference and easy answers of many complicated questions. Thus it is expected that this book will adequately meet the need of wider circle of students and readers for preparing their professional career.

Volume 11 of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture examines the economic culture of the South by pairing two categories that account for the ways many southerners have made their living. In the antebellum period, the wealth of southern whites came largely from agriculture that relied on the forced labor of enslaved blacks. After Reconstruction, the South became attractive to new industries lured by the region's ongoing commitment to low-wage labor and management-friendly economic policies. Throughout the volume, articles reflect the breadth and variety of southern life, paying particular attention to the region's profound economic transformation in recent decades. The agricultural section consists of 25 thematic entries that explore issues such as Native American agricultural practices, plantations, and sustainable agriculture. Thirty-eight shorter pieces cover key crops of the region--from tobacco to Christmas trees--as well as issues of historic and emerging interest--from insects and insecticides to migrant labor. The section on industry and commerce contains 13 thematic entries in which contributors address topics such as the economic impact of military bases, resistance to industrialization, and black business. Thirty-six topical entries explore particular industries, such as textiles, timber, automobiles, and banking, as well as individuals--including Henry W. Grady and Sam M. Walton--whose ideas and enterprises have helped shape the modern South.

Our capacity to maintain world food production depends heavily on the thin layer of soil covering the Earth's surface. The health of this soil determines whether crops can grow successfully, whether a farm business is profitable and whether an enterprise is sustainable in the long term. Farmers are generally aware of the physical and chemical factors that limit the productivity of their soils but often do not recognise that soil microbes and the soil fauna play a major role in achieving healthy soils and healthy crops. Soil Health, Soil Biology, Soilborne Diseases and Sustainable Agriculture provides readily understandable information about the bacteria, fungi, nematodes and other soil organisms that not only harm food crops but also help them take up water and nutrients and protect them from root diseases. Complete with illustrations and practical case studies, it provides growers and their consultants with holistic solutions for building an active and diverse soil biological community capable of improving soil structure, enhancing plant nutrient uptake and suppressing root pests and pathogens. The book is written by scientists with many years'experience developing sustainable crop production practices in the grains, vegetable, sugarcane, grazing and horticultural industries. This book will be useful for: growers, consultants, agronomists and soil chemists, extension personnel working in the grains, livestock, sugarcane and horticultural industries, professionals running courses in soil health/biological farming, and students taking university courses in soil science, ecology, microbiology, plant pathology and other biological sciences.

World Agriculture and the Environment presents a unique assessment of agricultural commodity production and the environmental problems it causes, along with prescriptions for increasing efficiency and reducing damage to natural systems. Drawing on his extensive travel and research in agricultural regions around the world, and employing statistics from a range of authoritative sources including the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization, the author examines twenty of the world's major crops, including beef, coffee, corn, rice, rubber, shrimp, sorghum, tea, and tobacco. For each crop, he offers comparative information including: • a'fast facts'overview section that summarizes key data for the crop • main producing and consuming countries • main types of production • market trend information and market chain analyses • major environmental impacts • management strategies and best practices • key contacts and referencesWith maps of major commodity production areas worldwide, the book represents the first truly global portrait of agricultural production patterns and environmental impacts.