Guides: Researching Genealogy Virtual Library Resources: Looking and Locating Lucinda: A PVAMU Genealogy Library Research Experience

Looking and Locating Lucinda: A PVAMU Genealogy Library Research Experience

Opinion| Locating Lucinda: Exploring the experiences of Enslaved People held at Alta Vista Plantation
Marco Robinson is an associate professor of history at Prairie View A&M University and assistant director of the Ruth J. Simmons Center for Race and Justice.
Slave Voyages: Lucinda
>> https://www.slavevoyages.org/past/database/oceans-of-kinfolk
524201 Lucinda 54 15 Female 58.00 Light Mulatto 131584 Louisiana 1851-6-21 1851-06-24 Galveston New Orleans Fate unknown after arrival in New Orleans New Orleans Ellis, C E
Alta Vista Plantation: Slave Ads Historical Prairie View and General Jared Kirby
Texas Runaway Slave Project
About this collection
The Texas Runaway Slave Project is a database of runaway slave advertisements, articles and notices from newspapers published in Texas, as well as materials from court records, manuscript collections, and books. It documents more than 2,500 fugitive slaves from Texas. The project is ongoing and new content is regularly added to the webpage.
more...less...
Contact Information:

Kyle Ainsworth, Project Manager, ainswortk@sfasu.edu, 936-468-1590

List of Contributing Researchers:

Kyle Ainsworth, Christy Costlow, Patricio DeJesus, Hayley Ellisor, AnnElise Golden, Nydia Hernandez, Rox Ann Johnson, Joanna Lovejoy, Wallace Scot McFarlane, Mark Musquiz, William Page Michael Smith, Darah Vann

Grant Support:

The Summerlee Foundation funded student research on the Texas Runaway Slave Project in 2014. For more information on the Summerlee Foundation, please visit their website http://www.summerlee.org/.

Follow the Texas Runaway Slave Project on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/texasrunawayslaveproject
Texas Archival Resources Online: Lee S. Smith Papers, 1865-1988
Title: A history of the territory that now constitutes Waller County, Texas, from by Frank Edd White, B.A., 1821 to 1884. Box 2325/140
more...less...
Date(s) (Inclusive):

1821 to 1884
Creator(s):

Smith, Lee S.

Title(s):

Lee S. Smith papers

Date(s) (Inclusive):

1865-1988

Abstract:

Reports, printed material, catalogs, correspondence, legal documents, and literary productions collected by Smith relate to higher education in Texas in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Identification:

urn:taro:utexas.cah.00243

Extent(s):

15.42 linear feet

Language(s):

English .

Repository:

Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, The University of Texas at Austin
FYR 2022 Undergraduate RISE Impact Report- Research & Innovation- Prairie View A&M University Published on Sep 6, 2022
Enslaved people toiled at a plantation where Prairie View A&M now stands. Researchers want to know their stories
Samantha Ketterer, Staff writer. Feb. 7, 2022. Updated: Feb. 7, 2022 9 a.m.
National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you.

White, Frank E. “A History of the Territory that now Constitutes Waller County, Texas, From 1821 to 1884.” Master’s Thesis, University of Texas, 1936.

Texas Digital Newspaper Program in the Portal to Texas History. University of North Texas Libraries. https://texashistory.unt.edu/explore/collections/TDNP

Jackson, Charles Christopher. “Kirby, Jared E.” Handbook of Texas Online. February 15, 1995. https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/kirby-jared-e

McArthur, Judith N. “Kirby, Helen Marr Swearingen,” Handbook of Texas Online. September 2, 2020. https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/kirby-helen-marr-swearingen.

The National Archives in Washington, DC; Washington, DC; Slave Manifests of Coastwise Vessels Filed at New Orleans, Louisiana, 1807-1860; Microfilm Serial: M1895; Microfilm Roll: 30 Marshal, John. “Runaway Negroes.” State Gazette, November 6, 1858, pg. 3, col. 3. Texas slave Schedules of 1850 https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HY-DCNQ-D4V?i=14&wc=MJCD61Z%3A1042936601%2C1042941201%2C1042941202&cc=1420440 pages 15 and 1

Census Records

USA Census 1850 Record: Austin County

National Archives and Records Administration: African American Research

African American Research

Jarred E. Kirby- Lucinda Manifest Galveston Texas

Jarred E. Kirby- Lucinda Manifest Galveston Texas

J E Kirby, _United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1860_ • FamilySearch

J E Kirby, _United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1860_ • FamilySearch
FamilySearch >> https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:WKTT-LB6Z

Sound Index: Col. Jarred E. Kirby (Alta Vista Plantation)

Kerby

Kerbey

Kirbey

Kirby

Kirbee

National Archives: American Slavery, Civil Records

National Archives: American Slavery, Civil Records

FamilySearch: Slave Manifests - National Archives Catalog

FamilySearch: Slave Manifests - National Archives Catalog

FamilySearch: Louisiana, New Orleans, Slave Manifests of Coastwise Vessels, 1807-1860

FamilySearch: Louisiana, New Orleans, Slave Manifests of Coastwise Vessels, 1807-1860

Slave Ship Manifests filed at New Orleans, 1807-1860: National Archives- African American Heritage

Slave Ship Manifests filed at New Orleans, 1807-1860: National Archives- African American Heritage
On the 30 rolls of NARA Microfilm Publication M1895, Slave Manifests of Coastwise Vessels Filed at New Orleans, Louisiana, 1807-1860 (30 rolls), are reproduced manifests filed with the collector of customs at New Orleans, Louisiana, of slaves transported in coastwise trade to or from New Orleans during the period 1807-1860. They are part of Records of the U.S. Customs Service, Record Group (RG) 36, and are the records imperfectly identified as Series 1630, "Slave Manifests, 1819-52, 1860-61," in Forrest R. Holdcamper, comp., Preliminary Inventory NC-154, Preliminary Inventory of the Records of Bureau of the Customs (Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Service, 1968). The original records are housed at the National Archives at Fort Worth.

The act of March 2, 1807 (2 Stat. 426), which outlawed the slave trade, also imposed regulations on the coastal transportation of slaves. Effective January 1, 1808, vessels under 40 tons in coastwise trade were prohibited from transporting slaves.

Cash For Blood: The Baltimore to New Orleans Domestic Slave Trade
Cash For Blood: The Baltimore to New Orleans Domestic Slave Trade - Ralph Clayton. The demand for slave labor increased dramatically in the first decade of the 19th century due to the invention of the cotton gin and the consequent expansion of cotton plantations in the South. In 1808 it became illegal to import slaves from Africa, however Maryland and Virginia were experiencing a “superabundance” of slaves at this time and slave owners were faced with the options of renting, freeing, or selling their excess labor.