The National Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience and resources related to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. https://www.archives.gov/news/topics/african-american-history?fbclid=IwAR1n83jJl475252d-y71FK2EDjurklgv4jHQnMw8R5eHE919MA6BoOmkZpc
In January, to honor the birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., we remember his contributions to the nation and his role in the civil rights movement.
The largest African American History website in the world.
Multiple links available by archives.gov
Online collection of multimedia primary resources documenting the Civil Rights movement. Includes texts, photographs, video, and sound files.
The official, living memorial dedicated to the advancement of the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
Information on the organization and key figures involved in the NAACP.
Located at the Lorraine Motel, the site of Dr. Martin Luther King's assassination, the museum chronicles key episodes of the American civil rights movement.
In many ways, there are few things as powerful and as important as a people, as a nation that is steeped in its history. Often America is celebrated as a place that forgets. This museum seeks to help all Americans remember, and by remembering, this institution will stimulate a dialogue about race and help to foster a spirit of reconciliation and healing.
This project preserves records and memories of activism in the United States that supported the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
BlackPast.org brings the resources of African American history into every classroom in the world. It also makes every computer, regardless of its location, a classroom in African American history.
Oral histories (with interview transcripts) and digital photographs of people who participated in the civil rights movement.
On May 12, 2009, the U. S. Congress authorized a national initiative by passing The Civil Rights History Project Act of 2009 (Public Law 111-19). The law directed the Library of Congress to conduct a national survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record and make widely accessible new interviews with people who participated in the struggle.
The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide range of topics within the freedom struggle, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists. Actions and events discussed in the interviews include the Freedom Rides (1961), the Albany Movement (1961), the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom (1963), the Selma to Montgomery Rights March (1965), the Orangeburg Massacre (1968), the Poor People’s Campaign (1968), sit-ins, and voter registration drives in the South.
A chronological look at activism and civil rights from the History Channel.
Reflections about young people in the freedom struggle.
Collection of "political artifacts from the 1960s-era, collected and saved over the years by activist, photographer and filmmaker, Roz Payne." Collections include underground press, small press publications, leaflets/flyers/broadsides/article reprints, posters/graphic design, buttons, photographs, objects, and newsreel films.
Includes documents from Vietnam Veterans Against the War, Black Panther Party, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and several similar groups.
Dr. Martin Luther King Nobel Peace Prize Speech
I Have a Dream Speech
Martin Luther King, Jr. for Kids