Guides: MLK Day-Honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.: Introduction

Introduction--Honoring MLK Day

The National Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience and resources related to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. https://www.archives.gov/news/topics/african-american-history?fbclid=IwAR1n83jJl475252d-y71FK2EDjurklgv4jHQnMw8R5eHE919MA6BoOmkZpc

In January, to honor the birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., we remember his contributions to the nation and his role in the civil rights movement.

Please Read-- Books on Activism, Anti-Racism and Peaceful Protest

How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi
ISBN: 9780525509288
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
In How to Be an Antiracist, Kendi takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas—from the most basic concepts to visionary possibilites—that will help readers see all forms of racism clearly, understand their posionous consequences, and work to oppose them in our systems and in ourselves.Kendi weaves an electrifying combination of ethics, history, law, and science with his own personal story of awakening to antiracism.
Race by Alan H. Goodman; Yolanda T. Moses; Joseph L. Jones
ISBN: 9781119472476
Publication Date: 2019-12-31
The second edition of the bestselling title on modern notions of race, providing timely examination of perspectives on race, racism, and human biological variation In this fully updated second edition of this popular text on the study of race, Alan Goodman, Yolanda Moses, and Joseph Jones take a timely look at modern ideas surrounding race, racism, and human diversity, and consider the ways that ideas about race have changed over time
Undermining Racial Justice by Matthew Johnson
ISBN: 9781501748585
Publication Date: 2020-04-15
Over the last sixty years, administrators on college campuses nationwide have responded to black campus activists by making racial inclusion and inequality compatible. This bold argument is at the center of Matthew Johnson's powerful and controversial book. Focusing on the University of Michigan, often a key talking point in national debates about racial justice thanks to the contentious Gratz v. Bollinger 2003 Supreme Court case, Johnson argues that UM leaders incorporated black student dissent selectively into the institution's policies, practices, and values.

Internet Resources on Activism, Protest and Civil Dissent

African Activist Archive Project

This project preserves records and memories of activism in the United States that supported the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.

Black Past

BlackPast.org brings the resources of African American history into every classroom in the world. It also makes every computer, regardless of its location, a classroom in African American history.

https://www.blackpast.org/about-us/

https://www.blackpast.org/tag/civil-rights-activists/

Center for Constitutional Rights An organization that stands with social movements and communities resisting oppression, we know that change is possible when artists, storytellers, and lawyers dream together.

https://ccrjustice.org/black-history-month-activism-through-artists-lawyers-and-storytellers

Civil Rights History Project

Oral histories (with interview transcripts) and digital photographs of people who participated in the civil rights movement.

Civil Rights History project—Library of Congress

On May 12, 2009, the U. S. Congress authorized a national initiative by passing The Civil Rights History Project Act of 2009 (Public Law 111-19). The law directed the Library of Congress to conduct a national survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record and make widely accessible new interviews with people who participated in the struggle.

The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide range of topics within the freedom struggle, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists. Actions and events discussed in the interviews include the Freedom Rides (1961), the Albany Movement (1961), the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom (1963), the Selma to Montgomery Rights March (1965), the Orangeburg Massacre (1968), the Poor People’s Campaign (1968), sit-ins, and voter registration drives in the South.

https://www.loc.gov/collections/civil-rights-history-project/about-this-collection/

Civil Rights Movement

A chronological look at activism and civil rights from the History Channel.

https://www.history.com/topics/black-history/civil-rights-movement

Library of Congress—Youth in the Civil Rights Movement

Reflections about young people in the freedom struggle.

https://www.loc.gov/collections/civil-rights-history-project/articles-and-essays/youth-in-the-civil-rights-movement/

Roz Payne Sixties Archive

Collection of "political artifacts from the 1960s-era, collected and saved over the years by activist, photographer and filmmaker, Roz Payne." Collections include underground press, small press publications, leaflets/flyers/broadsides/article reprints, posters/graphic design, buttons, photographs, objects, and newsreel films.