Library research involves the step-by-step process used to gather information in order to write a paper, create a presentation, or complete a project. As you progress from one step to the next, it is commonly necessary to back up, revise, add additional material or even change your topic completely. This will depend on what you discover during your research. There are many reasons for adjusting your plan. For example, you may find that your topic is too broad and needs to be narrowed, sufficient information resources may not be available, what you learn may not support your thesis. This tutorial is designed to assist you in the research process and provide information on how to find resources using the John B. Coleman Library website. External videos are included for additional information. Audio is included on the PowerPoint slides indicated.
Energy Conservation in Residential, Commercial, and Industrial Facilities by
The world’s largest and most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5.3 thousand full-text periodicals, including 4.4 thousand peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9.3 thousand journals and a total of 10.9 thousand publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1866 - current
Architectural Digest Magazine Archive
EBSCO offers the world’s only complete digital version of the Architectural Digest back file. A vibrant monthly celebration of international design talents, the Architectural Digest Magazine Archive provides students of art, design, and architecture with an essential research tool. It covers the history of design, includes inspirational ideas, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years. 1922 - 2011
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Avery has over a half million records dating back to 1741; the single most important resource architecture. Includes the publications of professional associations, state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on international architecture and design. Obituary citations contain biographical data. Note- it is a citation index; this means that you have to do further searching to get the text of the articles. 1930-Present (Selective coverage back to 1741)
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection
Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focused on both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. The database offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their pursuits.
Home Improvement Reference Center
Subjects Include: Maintenance, Remodeling, Electrical work, Decorating home and garden, Outdoor improvements, Plumbing, Wood projects
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
