The Black Churches in Texas Collection contains the manuscripts of Clyde McQueen's book Black Churches in Texas, as well as proof samples for the book cover, spine, and image plates. The collection also includes the maps used to delineate the regions studied in the book, a headshot of author Clyde McQueen, and correspondence between McQueen, Tammy Henry (Texas A&M Publications), and Frank Bruno (Prairie View A&M University’s former Director of Libraries).
Browsing through the collection will give you insight into how the original idea was conceptualized and the editing process that turned it into the published volume. Many aspects of the current publication are very different from the original concept; one that stands out is that the photographs were initially gathered to be plates separate from the text. These photos were eventually distributed throughout the book and matched with the appropriate chapters and sections.
Map of the North Texas Region. The original study included 13 counties; however, churches were found in Jack and Wichita counties, for a total of 15 at time of publication (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
Map of the East Texas region. It consists of 35 counties containing 120 historic black churches by the study's criteria (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
Map of the Gulf Coast Region. 71 total churches were identified throughout 14 counties (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
Map of the South Texas Region. 24 churches were identified throughout 10 counties (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
Map of the Central Texas Region. 128 churches were identified through 29 counties (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
Page of the Index proof, with corrections (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
Sample of photo gallery (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
Sample of photo gallery (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
