Clyde McQueen was born in Lily Island, Texas, on August 24, 1926, and passed away on May 13, 2020 in Temple, Texas. Mr. McQueen paused his high-school education to join the Navy, where he served as an apprentice seaman during WWII (1944-1946) and the Korean War (1951-1952), earning a Combat Infantry Badge and battle star. After his discharge from the Navy, he finished his high school education. Then he attended Prairie View A&M University (then Prairie View College), earning an Undergraduate and Master of Science in Education in 1957. He completed a Master of Urban Planning from Texas A&M University in 1970. From 1965 to 1972, he worked as a Soil Conservationist for the U.S.D.A. in Brazos, Burleson, and Waller counties, finishing his career in Tyler, Texas. McQueen retired on July 3, 1984, after 31 years of service to the federal government.
Mr. McQueen used his retirement to conduct independent research that produced two books, including the previously described Black Churches in Texas: A Guide to Historic Congregations. The Prairie View A&M University Special Collections and Archives Department houses the manuscripts and master copies of Black Churches in Texas, while the Cushing Memorial Library & Archives at Texas A&M University holds the related research collection.
Headshot of author Clyde McQueen (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
A short article on the Prairie View A&M College Veteran's Club identifies Mr. Clyde McQueen as a member (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
Commencement program where Mr. McQueen is listed as a candidate for the Degree of Master of Education (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
The Career Education & Placement Newsletter highlights Mr. McQueen's employment with the U.S. Department of Agriculture (From the Black Churches in Texas Collection, PVAMU Special Collections and Archives).
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
