Best Bet
The world’s largest and most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5.3 thousand full-text periodicals, including 4.4 thousand peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9.3 thousand journals and a total of 10.9 thousand publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1866 - current
Best Bet
Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. 1970 - current.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Best Bet
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Coverage: 1960 - current
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Arkansas Variety Testing (Open source)
Best Bet
Unbiased Variety Performance Tests Under Arkansas Conditions. The Variety Testing Program conducts replicated field trials at multiple locations representing the major production regions in Arkansas each year. In addition to yield, and depending on the crop and specific test, other information that may be reported includes reaction to pests (diseases and insects), and other agronomic characteristics such as crop quality, date of maturity and lodging and shattering resistance.
Best Bet
A collection of e-books from the E-Read Texas Unlimited Collection, including popular non-fiction such as travel, nutrition and health, and gardening, along with adult and young adult fiction. Accessible anywhere in Texas.
EBSCOhost (Search all EBSCO databases)
Best Bet Popular
EBSCOhost’s Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text peer-reviewed journals. Covers social behavior, human tendencies, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.
Best Bet
More than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain.. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. 1922 - current
Best Bet Popular
All databases subscribed through Gale.
Best Bet
Agriculture Collection provides a comprehensive view of agriculture and related fields. The database provides access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
Best Bet
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
Best Bet
Articles on the practical aspects of gardening and horticulture.
Government Publishing Office (GPO) - Open Source
Best Bet
Produce and distribute information products and services for all three branches of the Federal Government, including U.S. passports for the Department of State as well as the official publications of Congress, the White House, and other Federal agencies in digital and print formats.
Provide for permanent public access to Federal Government information at no charge through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) and govinfo.
Operate distribution centers in Laurel, MD and Pueblo, CO that fulfill orders for Government publications.
Best Bet
Govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all, a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch, providing free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Can browse all government resources from A to Z. Open Source
Best Bet
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Best Bet
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Best Bet Popular
Search databases: ABI/INFORM, African American Poetry, American Periodicals, Criminal Justice, Ebook Central, GeoRef, Military Database, Music Periodicals, PAIS Index, Periodicals Archive, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Research Library, SciTech Premium Collection, & Social Science Database.
Best Bet
Sage Publication Journals online in the fields of health sciences, humanity and social sciences, material sciences and engineering, and life and biomedical sciences. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscribed journals.
Science & Technology databases (ProQuest)
Best Bet
Search 5 ProQuest Science and Technology databases, including GeoRef, Military Database, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology, Research Library: Science & Technology, and SciTech Premium Collection.
Best Bet
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscriptions, some open sources available.
Best Bet
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Best Bet
A complete list of journals and some ebooks from Springer. Disciplines include:
Biomedicine, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Economics, Education, Engineering, Environment, Geography, History, Law, Life Sciences, Literature, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Public Health, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science and International Relations, Psychology, Social Sciences, Statistics.
Best Bet
includes articles from more than 80 journals and books about Texas and Texans. Topics include history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home, garden, sports and leisure.
Best Bet
The Texas Standard was the official publication of the Teachers State Association of Texas (TSAT) and supported the work of the African American teachers of Texas to gain equality in salaries and working conditions with their white peers. A collection from The Portal to Texas History. Open source
TexShare Databases Portal from Texas State Library & Archives Commission
Best Bet
This databases portal webpage from Texas State Library & Archives Commission provides a complete list of Texshare databases. The links from this page are accessible from PVAMU campus network computers only.
Best Bet
More than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is resource for evidence-based medicine. It includes 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research. Some open source e-books available.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
