John B. Coleman Library:
A to Z Database list by Subject Political Science
Best Bet
The world’s largest and most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5.3 thousand full-text periodicals, including 4.4 thousand peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9.3 thousand journals and a total of 10.9 thousand publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1866 - current
Best Bet
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other scarce printed material. 1639-1900.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American State Papers, 1789 - 1838
Best Bet
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817
Best Bet
Thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more, detailing life in 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century America. Includes America's Historical Imprints; Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876; America's Historical Newspapers; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
Best Bet
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Best Bet
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press.
Cambridge Core is the place to find valuable, useful and inspirational research and academic information. With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Browse subjects HERE with PVAMU logging
Best Bet
Over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market. Containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
Census 2000 - (census.gov) (Open source)
Best Bet
Data and statistics from Census.gov
Census 2000 was the largest peacetime effort in the history of the
United States. Information about the 115.9 million housing units and
281.4 million people across the United States will be available in a variety
of formats and media, including the Internet, CD-ROMs, DVDs, and printed
reports.
Chronicle of Higher Education, The
Best Bet Popular
To access, first time users should sign up a personal account at the publisher site from on/off campus.
Instruction to sign up or sign to access the ejournal. https://pvamu.libguides.com/c.php?g=906034&p=7766864
"The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world." - from the publisher
Credo Complete Cole Collection
Best Bet Popular
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.
Search Tips for Credo Reference
Best Bet
Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. 1981 - current
Directory of Open Access Journals (Open Source)
Best Bet
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available. Open Source
Best Bet
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards.
Topics included in Explora - High Schools:
Arts and Literature, Biography, Business and Government, Current Issues, Geography, Health, History, and Science and Math.
Best Bet
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Topics included in Explora - Public Libraries:
Arts and Literature, Biography, Business and Careers, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History and Social Science, and Science and Math.
Films On Demand - Digital Educational Video (Academic Master Package)
Best Bet
Films On Demand - Digital Educational Video streaming database includes Master Academic Package and Nursing Videos. The database includes the Academic Master Package with subjects including anthropology, art & architecture, communication, counselling and social work, criminal justice and law, education, English, history, music and dance, philosophy, religion, political science, psychology, sociology, technology and society, world languages, biology, engineering, earth science, environmental science, geography, mathematics, physical science, business, economics, and health science, and the Nursing Video Collection.
Best Bet
A website for free legal information, lawyer directory, and state laws. Open Source, some full texts available.
Best Bet
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Best Bet
Research academic topics ranging from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Ideal for smaller academic libraries.
Best Bet Popular
All databases subscribed through Gale.
Best Bet
Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Contains ebooks from multiple fields.
Gale In Context: Global Issues
Best Bet
Global Issues In Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Best Bet
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Best Bet
Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
Best Bet
Military and Intelligence Database Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
Best Bet
War and Terrorism Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
Government Publishing Office (GPO) - Open Source
Best Bet
Produce and distribute information products and services for all three branches of the Federal Government, including U.S. passports for the Department of State as well as the official publications of Congress, the White House, and other Federal agencies in digital and print formats.
Provide for permanent public access to Federal Government information at no charge through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) and govinfo.
Operate distribution centers in Laurel, MD and Pueblo, CO that fulfill orders for Government publications.
Best Bet
Govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all, a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch, providing free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Can browse all government resources from A to Z. Open Source
Hot Topics (via Access World News)
Best Bet
Current research topics covering key global issues, and people about business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts and more. Can be viewed by month/year.
Best Bet
Infobase Learning Resources: Issues & Controversies, World News Digest, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video, Nursing Videos, available for PVAMU on and off campus.
Best Bet
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers. Since its inception in 1995, Issues & Controversies has been a core student and educator resource for understanding and writing about contemporary events and conflicts, as well as for debate prep. It also provides comprehensive coverage and analysis every year of the National High School Debate Topic.
Military & Government Collection
Best Bet
Military & Government Collection is a database of full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers. More than 270 full-text journals and periodicals; Indexing and abstracts for 440 journals and periodicals.
Best Bet
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
NBC Learn - Higher Education (Open source, abstracts and full texts)
Best Bet
NBC Learn is a collection of over 14,000 standards-aligned resources designed for use in the classroom. NBC Learn is a rich, dynamic, and innovative resource that provides thousands of historic news reports, current events stories, original content, primary source documents, and other digital media specifically designed to help teach and engage students of all levels and abilities. Open Source
Best Bet
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Best Bet
Full text access to over 600 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from Johns Hopkins' University Press, as well as a growing number of other University Presses and scholarly publishers. Coverage is current with years of back issues varying by title.
Published by: Johns Hopkins University Press
Best Bet Popular
Search databases: ABI/INFORM, African American Poetry, American Periodicals, Criminal Justice, Ebook Central, GeoRef, Military Database, Music Periodicals, PAIS Index, Periodicals Archive, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Research Library, SciTech Premium Collection, & Social Science Database.
Best Bet
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Best Bet
Discover and explore centuries of primary sources: books, pamphlets, newspapers, government documents, and more through one search across 14 databases: America's Historical Imprints,America's Historical Newspapers, African American Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation, Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers, Series 3: From Farm to City, Early American Newspapers, Series 4: The Rise of Industry, Early American Newspapers, Series 5: An Emerging World Power, American State Papers, Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society
Best Bet
Orderly Books were the controlling document of day-to-day life in the military, most notably during the Revolutionary War. This one-of-a-kind collection – developed in conjunction with the New-York Historical Society – offers access to Orderly Books found nowhere else and contains handwritten volumes documenting military orders, movements and engagements by brigade, regiment, company and other specific military units between 1748 and 1817.
The content in Orderly Books provides detailed accounts of troops’ daily lives, documenting everything from court martial cases to the price of necessities charged by locals. Given the dearth of soldiers’ diaries, Orderly Books provides historically valuable information about soldiers’ lives. 1748 - 1817
Best Bet
The maps published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set publications. 1817 - 1980
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Best Bet
Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
This database contains:
5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
Links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research.
Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.
Best Bet
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Special Reports (via Access World News)
Best Bet
This portal contains current news resources on topics of people in the news, women's history, sports, political science, social issues, and places in the world. Updated monthly.
Best Bet
A complete list of journals and some ebooks from Springer. Disciplines include:
Biomedicine, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Economics, Education, Engineering, Environment, Geography, History, Law, Life Sciences, Literature, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Public Health, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science and International Relations, Psychology, Social Sciences, Statistics.
TexShare Databases Portal from Texas State Library & Archives Commission
Best Bet
This databases portal webpage from Texas State Library & Archives Commission provides a complete list of Texshare databases. The links from this page are accessible from PVAMU campus network computers only.
Best Bet
The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought. The magazine was originally created with a focus on publishing leading writers’ commentary on abolition, education and other major issues in contemporary political affairs at the time. Over its more than 150 years of publication, The Atlantic has featured articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, science and more. 1857-2014
The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
Best Bet
The Independent is a UK daily national newspaper. Since its launch in 1986 it has been one of the most innovative papers available in terms of design and avenues of investigation, while its freedom from party political affiliation and neutral ownership make it unique in British journalism. 1986 - 2012
Best Bet
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects. 1923 - 2000
Best Bet
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Best Bet
U.S. Declassified Documents Online, formerly Declassified Documents Reference System, offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.
Best Bet
New York, NY : Dow Jones & Co., 2010-
Daily (except Saturdays, Sundays and general legal holidays)
Best Bet
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
