Librarian and Faculty Research Collaborations Best Practices Using Evidence Synthesis and Systematic Reviews: Train the Trainers: Evidence Synthesis: The Database Research Experience

The Research Process: Reframing the collaboration with faculty and librarians  

Best Practices 

• Systematic review guidelines/checklists/reporting standards
• The reference interview: how to have a conversation with faculty
• Formulating a research question
• Selecting databases for evidence synthesis
• Writing a Search Strategy- Grid Chart 
• Searching the Grey Literature
• Citation management, article screening tools and documentation (RefWorks) 

Frameworks (e.g., PICO- TT) and eligibility criteria

Best Practices 

PICO: >> PICO - Evidence-Based Practice - LibGuides at Duke University Medical Center 

PROBLEM/POPULATION
How would you describe the problem? Who is the population 

INTERVENTION, EXPOSURE, PROGNOSTIC FACTOR
What main intervention are you considering? What do you want to do with this problem

COMPARISON
What is the main alternative being considered, if any?

OUTCOME
What are you trying to accomplish, measure, improve or affect?

Type of Clinical Question

Diagnosis, Etiology/Harm, Therapy, Prognosis, Prevention

Type of Study Design to Answer the Question

What would be the best study design/methodology (Systematic review, RCT, cohort study, case control, etc.)

Databases:  John B. Coleman Library- A to Z database list (Subjects, Types, Titles, Vendors and Providers) 

Best Practices ​​​​​​​

Search Limit Options: (click on Show More) ONE Search Discovery- Database 

• Full Text
• Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
• Catalog Only
• Publication Date 1495 to 2022
• Source Types
• All Results
• News 
• Academic Journals 
• Magazines 
• Reviews 
• Reports 
• Language
• Library Location
• Subject
• Publisher
• Publication
• Geography
• Collection
• Content Provider

Added Value: to the research strategy 

• Create Personal Accounts in the databases
• Sign into Account databases at every research transaction- keeps a running note on your research
• Create Search Alerts and RSS Feeds 
• Create Search History Folders 
• Create a Research Cloud Account- RefWorks (citation builder)