Best Bets!
Best Bet
The world’s largest and most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5.3 thousand full-text periodicals, including 4.4 thousand peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9.3 thousand journals and a total of 10.9 thousand publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1866 - current
African American Biographic Database (AABD)
Best Bet
The Largest Electronic Collection of Biographical Information on African Americans. 1790-1950.
America's Historical Newspapers
Best Bet
Includes 6 databases: Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation, Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers, Series 3: From Farm to City, Early American Newspapers, Series 4: The Rise of Industry, Early American Newspapers, Series 5: An Emerging World Power. 1682-1912
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Best Bet
Over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market. Containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
Credo Complete Cole Collection
Best Bet Popular
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.
Search Tips for Credo Reference
Directory of Open Access Journals (Open Source)
Best Bet
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available. Open Source
EBSCOhost (Search all EBSCO databases)
Best Bet Popular
EBSCOhost’s Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text peer-reviewed journals. Covers social behavior, human tendencies, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.
Best Bet
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Topics included in Explora - Public Libraries:
Arts and Literature, Biography, Business and Careers, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History and Social Science, and Science and Math.
Best Bet
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Films On Demand - Digital Educational Video (Academic Master Package)
Best Bet
Films On Demand - Digital Educational Video streaming database includes Master Academic Package and Nursing Videos. The database includes the Academic Master Package with subjects including anthropology, art & architecture, communication, counselling and social work, criminal justice and law, education, English, history, music and dance, philosophy, religion, political science, psychology, sociology, technology and society, world languages, biology, engineering, earth science, environmental science, geography, mathematics, physical science, business, economics, and health science, and the Nursing Video Collection.
Best Bet
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues
Best Bet
Contemporary Women's Issues features current full text and pertinent backfile coverage of topics relevant to women around the world, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Best Bet
Criminal Justice Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Best Bet
Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.
Best Bet
Govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all, a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch, providing free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Can browse all government resources from A to Z. Open Source
Best Bet
Infobase Learning Resources: Issues & Controversies, World News Digest, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video, Nursing Videos, available for PVAMU on and off campus.
Best Bet
Build Resumes and Job Letters
Find a Career Match
Explore Occupations
Search for Jobs and Internships
Prepare for an Interview
Career eBooks Library
Discover Schools and Scholarships
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Best Bet
sychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Best Bet
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Best Bet
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Best Bet
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
TexShare Databases Portal from Texas State Library & Archives Commission
Best Bet
This databases portal webpage from Texas State Library & Archives Commission provides a complete list of Texshare databases. The links from this page are accessible from PVAMU campus network computers only.
Best Bet
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
