Best Bets!
Annual Reviews (Abstracts only)
Best Bet
Annual Reviews articles:
Capture current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial;
Set the work in historical context;
Highlight the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of research in upcoming years; and
Outline the practical applications and general significance of research to society.
Best Bet
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press.
Cambridge Core is the place to find valuable, useful and inspirational research and academic information. With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Browse subjects HERE with PVAMU logging
Best Bet
Over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market. Containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
Credo Complete Cole Collection
Best Bet Popular
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.
Search Tips for Credo Reference
Criminology & Criminal Justice (On campus only, off campus temporarily unavailable)
Best Bet
Criminology and Criminal Justice is a peer-reviewed journal that focuses on the broad field of criminology and criminal justice policy and practice. The journal publishes scholarly articles on all areas of criminology, crime and criminal justice. It includes theoretical pieces, as well as empirically-based analyses of policy and practice in areas that range from policing to sentencing, community penalties and prisons; drug use to organized crime and terrorism; and from crime prevention to victims of crime.
Directory of Open Access Journals (Open Source)
Best Bet
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available. Open Source
EBSCOhost (Search all EBSCO databases)
Best Bet Popular
EBSCOhost’s Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text peer-reviewed journals. Covers social behavior, human tendencies, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.
Best Bet
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Best Bet Popular
All databases subscribed through Gale.
Best Bet
General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
Best Bet
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Best Bet
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Best Bet
Infobase Learning Resources: Issues & Controversies, World News Digest, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video, Nursing Videos, available for PVAMU on and off campus.
Best Bet
Videos and films mainly from PBS and psychotherapy.net. About 247 videos available.
Best Bet
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Best Bet
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
Best Bet
Full text access to over 600 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from Johns Hopkins' University Press, as well as a growing number of other University Presses and scholarly publishers. Coverage is current with years of back issues varying by title.
Published by: Johns Hopkins University Press
Best Bet
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with PsycARTICLES, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Best Bet
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Best Bet
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Best Bet
Sage Publication Journals online in the fields of health sciences, humanity and social sciences, material sciences and engineering, and life and biomedical sciences. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscribed journals.
Best Bet
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscriptions, some open sources available.
Best Bet Popular
Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders.
Scopus generates precise citation search results and automatically updated researcher and institution profiles, creating richer connections between people, published ideas, and organizations. In addition to protecting the integrity of the scholarly record, Scopus helps bolster institutional research performance, rank and reputation.
Best Bet
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Best Bet
A complete list of journals and some ebooks from Springer. Disciplines include:
Biomedicine, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Economics, Education, Engineering, Environment, Geography, History, Law, Life Sciences, Literature, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Public Health, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science and International Relations, Psychology, Social Sciences, Statistics.
TexShare Databases Portal from Texas State Library & Archives Commission
Best Bet
This databases portal webpage from Texas State Library & Archives Commission provides a complete list of Texshare databases. The links from this page are accessible from PVAMU campus network computers only.
Best Bet
More than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is resource for evidence-based medicine. It includes 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research. Some open source e-books available.
Best Bet
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
