CPSY 7631- Professional Issues in Clinical Psychology: Professional Issues in Clinical Psychology: Full-Text Scholarly Journal Articles

EBSCOhost Vendor: (30 plus Database Subjects)  TI Professional AND TI clinical psychology AND ( issues or problems or challenges or difficulties or implications or limitations )

Expanders - Also search within the full text of the articles; Apply equivalent subjects Search modes - Find all my search terms

Results (311)

APA 7th Edition: 

References

References

Autor, S. B., & Zide, E. D. (1974). Master's-level professional training in clinical psychology and community mental health. Professional Psychology, 5(2), 115-121. https://doi.org/10.1037/h0037551
Describes a 2-yr master's level training program which has the development of clinical competence for community practice as its primary goal. Training takes place in a community mental health facility under the guidance of a clinician who practices there. A broad range of diagnostic techniques, therapeutic modalities, and preventive interventions are taught in seminars and in supervision by introducing theoretical material when it can best clarify the clinical process in which the trainee is engaged. There is a progressive increase in field experience throughout the training period in which the trainee works with people who present a variety of psychological and social problems and thus learns which techniques are most realistic and relevant. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2013 APA, all rights reserved)

Baillie, A. J., & Peters, L. (2012a). Professional Training Issues in Evidence‐Based Clinical Psychology. Handbook of Evidence‐Based Practice in Clinical Psychology, 2https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118156391.ebcp002003
The aspiration of evidence‐based clinical psychology is to combine the best empirical research with the best therapeutic relationship and the most careful assessment and case formulation to produce the best outcomes for each individual client. The use of treatments that have the support of clinical trials is expected to improve client outcomes. Training in evidence‐based clinical psychology adds training in empirically supported treatments (ESTs) and in the specific skills of evidence‐based practice (EBP) to existing clinical psychology training programs. Training in the techniques of ESTs may provide new content for some clinical psychology programs but the methods of teaching are unlikely to be novel. The EBP requires a set of specific skills that assist clinicians to be better consumers of research. Following on from evidence‐based medicine (EBM), EBP teaches clinicians specific skills in turning clinical information needs into answerable questions, devising and executing timely and targeted literature searches, critically appraising the results of searches, and integrating that information with other information about the specific client to decide on the optimal course of action. While there is little evidence about the effects of teaching EBP skills in clinical psychology, the evidence from other, mainly medical, professions is that didactic teaching may improve knowledge but has little impact on attitudes toward EBP or the use of EBP skills in clinical practice. Where there is evidence for changes in clinical practice the teaching methods are based around real clinical encounters and cases. Some authors have argued that maximum effect comes from adopting EBP skills throughout the clinical psychology curricula. After reviewing evidence about the effects of training in EBP, we discuss issues in adapting some of the excellent EBM teaching resources to clinical psychology and in providing continuing professional education. If individual clinical psychologists more frequently use treatments that have support from systematic reviews and clinical trials, it has been argued that their clients are more likely to attain better outcomes. While this reasoning has some appeal it is clear that high‐quality experimental studies are needed to examine whether training in EBP adds to traditional clinical psychology training by producing better client outcomes.

Baillie, A. J., & Peters, L. (2012b). Professional training issues in evidence-based clinical psychology. In P. Sturmey, & M. Hersen (Eds.), (pp. 39-53). John Wiley & Sons Inc. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118156391.ebcp002003
Evidence-based clinical psychology describes both clinical psychology interventions that have an evidence base, often termed empirically supported treatments (ESTs) (e.g., Chambless & Ollendick, 2001), and a specific set of skills using research evidence in clinical decision making that we and others call evidence-based practice (EBP) skills (Hoge, Tondora, & Stuart. 2003; Spring, 2007; Walker & London, 2007). Much has been written about the benefits of EBP in psychology (American Psychological Association Presidential Task Force on Evidence-Based Practice, 2006; Goodheart, Kazdin, & Sternberg, 2006) but there is relatively little about the specific skill set that is required (c.f. Hoge et al., 2003; Spring, 2007; Walker & London, 2007) and how to train clinical psychologists in EBP skills. This chapter reviews evidence about training in evidence-based practice, describes the content and methods of such training, and reviews issues and future directions for training in EBP. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2019 APA, all rights reserved)

Basic Skills and Professional Issues in Clinical Psychology (1997). . Book News, Inc.

Bonham, S. (1999). Clinical psychology: how do you persuade leading experts to discuss and formalise their own professional development?. Personnel Publications Ltd.
Consultants have always been autonomous and have continuedly relied on their judgment when building on their own expertise. A structured way of organising and documenting their development has never been established. A medical director has realized the need for the development of a process that enabled senior medical staff in a UK hospital to discuss their roles and development needs in a supportive and non-judgmental environment. The use of the term 'appraisal' as this may imply a subjective evaluation. An evaluative process was developed, which recognized that the medical director leading the service would not necessarily share the same professional background as the consultant whose development was under discussion. This is followed by the planning of development meetings. The method has made medical directors and consultants realize the incremental benefits of professional development.

Buhari 'Bunmi. (2013). Therapeutic relationships and professional boundaries : ethical issues in clinical psychology. IFE PsychologIA: An International Journal, 21(3), 162-168. https://doi.org/10.10520/EJC138730
The relationship that should exist between a therapist and his client is a relationship of trust. It should be a relationship that focuses on meeting the health care needs of the client. This relationship should serve as a means through which the therapist assists his client to resolve some difficulties that they are experiencing. One challenge that therapist however face as they get to know their clients intimately in the course of therapy is how to maintain proper boundaries. This is because the relationship often involves regular contact over time with client sharing their feelings with the therapist. These feelings often times have the potential to evoke actions that may be clinically inappropriate and unethical. These inappropriate actions when they occur are damaging to both the professional and the client. Professional boundaries are therefore intended to set limits and clearly define a safe, therapeutic connection between therapist and client. As professionals, it is up to the therapist to be aware of appropriate professional behaviors so that these boundaries are not violated. This paper is thus aimed at reminding us about the boundaries within therapeutic relations, how to maintain them during therapy and what to do when they occur.

Coffey, H. S., & Winder, C. L. (1951). Training for professional function in clinical psychology: 1 Field work in the training of clinical psychologists. American Journal of Orthopsychiatry, 21(2), 303-311. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1939-0025.1951.tb06104.x
This article approaches the topic of field work in the training of clinical psychologists in two sections: to indicate the requirements for graduate training in clinical psychology which are agreed upon by the profession as a whole, and to which both the University of California and Stanford University wholeheartedly subscribe and to develop in detail the way in which university field work fits into these requirements at the two universities. Both universities agree that the clinical psychologist must be a psychologist first, in that he is expected to have the core of knowledge and training which is common to all psychologists. The clinical experience and training of the student take place in three kinds of situations. The student is introduced to clinical problems at what has been called the laboratory level. The emphasis is on learning to handle the clinical techniques being employed and the problems of rapport. The next stage of training is that called practicum, in which knowledge of a useful group of techniques is assumed and the emphasis is on gaining a well rounded psychological. understanding of the patient. The third stage of training is the internship level, at which time the student begins to assume full professional responsibility for cases, functioning as a clinical psychologist within the organization. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2019 APA, all rights reserved)

Di Stefano, G., Ruvolo, G., & Lo Mauro, V. (2019). Developing professional identity through group experiential learning: A Group-Analytic experiential training approach for use with postgraduate clinical psychology students. Psychodynamic Practice, 25(2), 133-143. https://doi.org/10.1080/14753634.2019.1603809
This article describes a Group-Analytic, experiential and non-directive training approach taken with postgraduate clinical psychology students in training. Based on median/large group settings, it is aimed at promoting the development of psychology students' professional identities. It uses a particular form of experiential learning beyond the rational and cognitive aspects of traditional didactic teaching in order to stimulate students' own involvement in the integration of their thoughts, feelings and attitudes. From a Group-Analytic perspective, the group is conceived of as an organic entity. The convenor takes up a less intrusive and non-directive role in comparison to a traditional seminar leader. The learning outcomes that may be obtained with this group model are outlined in a description of group process below, and through the content analysis of verbalizations of students who participated in the twelve-session experiential group. The results confirm the usefulness of the Group-Analytic experiential training approach, highlighting the construction of professional self-awareness, achieved through students exploring their own relationship modalities in an intersubjective learning space. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Psychodynamic Practice is the property of Routledge and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)

Findings from University of North Carolina in the Area of Clinical Psychology Reported (Doctoral Students' Knowledge of Educators' Problems of Professional Competency) (2016). . NewsRX LLC.
2016 DEC 10 (NewsRx) -- By a News Reporter-Staff News Editor at Psychology Psychiatry Journal -- Investigators discuss new findings in Clinical Psychology. According to news reporting originating in Charlotte, ...]

Foley, D. C. (1989). Self-reported sources of clinical stress and support among doctoral trainees in professional psychology . (1990-54125-001). http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=psyh&AN=1990-54125-001

Francis, J. (2012). Religious and spiritual beliefs, practices, professional attitudes and behaviors of clinical and counseling psychology interns . (2012-99080-547). http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=psyh&AN=2012-99080-547
It is important for clinicians to address religious and spiritual matters in their psychological treatment. Personal religious and spiritual beliefs can have a significant impact on the consideration of religious and spiritual issues in psychotherapy. The religious and spiritual views of clinicians form as a function of general development and may be influenced by graduate education and training. The current study sought to determine the religious and spiritual attitudes, beliefs, and practices of doctoral students in clinical and counseling psychology, their views on religious and spiritual clinical interventions, and the effect of graduate education and training on both of these factors. One hundred forty-four interns completed the 48-item survey, which was developed by Edward Shafranske and Kenneth Pargament, primary investigators of the 'Religious and Spiritual Attitudes and Practices of Clinical and Counseling Psychologists and Graduate Students in Clinical and Counseling Psychology Project' (2010). Over 65% of participants in the current study reported that religion is not very important in their life, and over 41% reported that spirituality is very important in their lives. Half of participants stated that they consider themselves to be spiritual, and less than 10% described themselves as religious. However, personal religiosity and spirituality did not appear to affect attitudes towards or usage of religious and spiritual interventions. Graduate education and training did not appear to affect personal religious and spiritual views. It may be that the age cohort in the current study has reached a stage of faith development that is less affected by external factors. Their apparent openness to alternative modes of spirituality other than traditional religion contributes to their awareness of and willingness to consider religious and spiritual interventions. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2016 APA, all rights reserved)

Gonsalvez, C. J., Deane, F. P., O'Donovan, A., Nicholson Perry, K., Donovan, M., Knight, R., & Shires, A. (2017). Addressing Professional Competency Problems in Clinical Psychology Trainees. Australian Psychologist, (2), 121. https://doi.org/10.1111/ap.12268
Byline: Craig J. Gonsalvez, Frank P. Deane, Analise O'Donovan, Kathryn Nicholson Perry, Mark Donovan, Rosalind Knight, Alice Shires Keywords: clinical psychology; competency assessments; field placement evaluation; practicum assessment; problematic professional competence; student placement; supervision Objective Clinical psychology trainees with problems of professional competence (PPC) continue to be a challenge for courses. Despite the rapid development of competency-based training models, the impact of this shift to the identification and management of professional competency problems is unclear. This project aims to describe how clinical psychology trainees with PPC are identified and managed within the Australian and New Zealand context. Method An online survey was distributed through Australian and New Zealand universities offering clinical psychology training programmes. Questions addressed approaches to monitoring progress on placements, identification and management of trainees determined to be underperforming on placements, and the perceived usefulness of a range of strategies such as the use of standardised-rating tools. Results Thirty one responses were received, representing 40 clinical psychology training courses in 22 institutions across Australia and New Zealand. In all cases, at least one trainee with a PPC had been detected in the previous 5 years, most commonly attributed to psychological, behavioural, and developmental issues. Respondents reported the use of a range of preventive and remedial strategies, including the use of psychometrically validated competency evaluation rating forms to assist in the grading of placements. Conclusion Trainees with PPC occur on a fairly regular basis in clinical psychology training courses in Australian and New Zealand. While some processes involved in the identification and management of these students have been refined and systematised, some opportunities to facilitate early identification and remediation may yet need further enhancement.

Kaeding, A., Sougleris, C., Reid, C., Vreeswijk, M. F., Hayes, C., Dorrian, J., & Simpson, S. (2017). Professional Burnout, Early Maladaptive Schemas, and Physical Health in Clinical and Counselling Psychology Trainees. Journal of Clinical Psychology, 73(12), 1782-1796. https://doi.org/10.1002/jclp.22485
Objective Little is known about the personal factors that increase vulnerability to job-related stress and burnout among psychologists in training. This study was based on a large international sample and aimed to explore the role of early maladaptive schemas (EMS) in predicting vulnerability to burnout, as well as attendant effects on short-term physical health, in clinical and counseling postgraduate psychology trainees. Method An online, quantitative, cross-sectional survey method design was used to collect self-report data that measured burnout, EMS, and physical health from 1,297 trainees. Results Only the unrelenting standards (US) schema predicted high burnout among trainees. The most commonly endorsed physical health symptoms were back and neck pain and tiredness, and were more severe for those experiencing high burnout. Conclusion The current study contributes to our understanding of the role of the US EMS in the evolution of burnout in trainees and has implications for the development of self-awareness training programs for this population. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Journal of Clinical Psychology is the property of John Wiley & Sons, Inc. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)

Levitt, H. (1967). The clinical psychology internship in the medical setting and the professional identity: The psychodiagnostic function. Psychotherapy: Theory, Research & Practice, 4(4), 182-185. https://doi.org/10.1037/h0087952

Matthews, J. R., & Walker, C. E. (1997). Basic skills and professional issues in clinical psychology. Allyn and Bacon.

McKenzie, K., Cossar, J., Fawns, T., & Murray, A. (2013). Reconciling the professional and student identities of clinical psychology trainees. Advances in Health Sciences Education, 18(4), 745. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=90147177
The study explored the ways in which qualified and trainee clinical psychologists perceived professional behaviour, as illustrated in a series of short vignettes, in student and clinical practice contexts. Comparisons were made to identify the extent to which ideas of professionalism differed across different learning contexts and between qualified and unqualified staff, with the aim of adding to the literature on which factors influence the development of professional identity in health professionals. An online questionnaire depicting a range of potentially unprofessional behaviours was completed by 265 clinical psychology trainees and 106 qualified clinical psychologists. The data were analysed using a general linear model with simultaneous entry in which rater (trainee vs qualified clinical psychologist), setting (student vs placement) and their interaction predicted acceptability ratings. We found that, in general, trainees and qualified staff agreed on those behaviours that were potentially unprofessional, although where significant differences were found, these were due to trainees rating the same behaviours as more professionally acceptable than qualified clinical psychologists. Despite trainees identifying a range of behaviours as professionally unacceptable, some percentage reported having engaged in a similar behaviour in the past. Irrespective of the status of the rater, the same behaviours tended to be viewed as more professionally unacceptable when in a placement (clinical) setting than in a student (university) setting. Generally, no support was found for a rater by setting interaction. The study suggests that trainee clinical psychologists are generally successful at identifying professional norms, although they do not always act in accordance with these. Conflicting student and professional norms may result in trainees viewing some potentially unprofessional behaviour as less severe than qualified staff. Health professional educators should be aware of this fact and take steps to shape trainee norms to be consistent with that of the professional group. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Advances in Health Sciences Education is the property of Springer Nature and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)

Melchert, T. P. (2016). Leaving behind our preparadigmatic past: professional psychology as a unified clinical science. The American Psychologist, (6), 486. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edsgea&AN=edsgcl.463291593
The behavioral and neurosciences have made remarkable progress recently in advancing the scientific understanding of human psychology. Though research in many areas is still in its early stages, knowledge of many psychological processes is now firmly grounded in experimental tests of falsifiable theories and supports a unified, paradigmatic understanding of human psychology that is thoroughly consistent with the rest of the natural sciences. This new body of knowledge poses critical questions for professional psychology, which still often relies on the traditional theoretical orientations and other preparadigmatic practices for guiding important aspects of clinical education and practice. This article argues that professional psychology needs to systematically transition to theoretical frameworks and a curriculum that are based on an integrated scientific understanding of human psychology. Doing so would be of historic importance for the field and would result in major changes to professional psychology education and practice. It would also allow the field to emerge as a true clinical science.

Newmark, C. S., & Hutchins, T. C. (1981). Survey of Professional Education in Ethics in Clinical Psychology Internship Programs. Journal of Clinical Psychology, 37(3), 681-683. https://doi.org/10.1002/1097-4679(198107)37:3<681::AID-JCLP2270370342>3.0.CO;2-O
The article presents results of a survey that attempted to determine the extent to which clinical psychology internship programs offer professional education in ethics. The survey revealed that one hundred forty-four of the 185 internship programs offered training in ethical standards. Responses to the question that concerned whether interns who begin their internship are knowledgeable in the area of ethical standards were uniformly positive. Only 16 of the 144 training directors from programs that offer training in ethics and 1 of the 44 training directors from programs that did not offer training in ethics believed that interns definitely lacked sufficient knowledge in this area prior to beginning the internship.

Nicholas, M. (1999). Clinical psychology and pain management: Access to 'Best practice' collaborative care fares poorly under current health funding policies, professional training, and health care practices. Clinical Psychologist, 4(1), 11-17. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edo&AN=ejs13506747

Nicholson Perry, K., Donovan, M., Knight, R., & Shires, A. (2017). Addressing Professional Competency Problems in Clinical Psychology Trainees. Australian Psychologist, 52(2), 121-129. https://doi.org/10.1111/ap.12268
Objective Clinical psychology trainees with problems of professional competence ( PPC) continue to be a challenge for courses. Despite the rapid development of competency-based training models, the impact of this shift to the identification and management of professional competency problems is unclear. This project aims to describe how clinical psychology trainees with PPC are identified and managed within the Australian and New Zealand context. Method An online survey was distributed through Australian and New Zealand universities offering clinical psychology training programmes. Questions addressed approaches to monitoring progress on placements, identification and management of trainees determined to be underperforming on placements, and the perceived usefulness of a range of strategies such as the use of standardised-rating tools. Results Thirty one responses were received, representing 40 clinical psychology training courses in 22 institutions across Australia and New Zealand. In all cases, at least one trainee with a PPC had been detected in the previous 5 years, most commonly attributed to psychological, behavioural, and developmental issues. Respondents reported the use of a range of preventive and remedial strategies, including the use of psychometrically validated competency evaluation rating forms to assist in the grading of placements. Conclusion Trainees with PPC occur on a fairly regular basis in clinical psychology training courses in Australian and New Zealand. While some processes involved in the identification and management of these students have been refined and systematised, some opportunities to facilitate early identification and remediation may yet need further enhancement. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Australian Psychologist is the property of Wiley-Blackwell and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)

Nolan, L. (2020). Professional identity development in blended clinical psychology doctoral students . (2020-04050-015). http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=psyh&AN=2020-04050-015
As online graduate programs gain popularity, it has become more important to understand how students enrolled in these programs develop their professional identities. Researchers have demonstrated that there are both benefits and drawbacks to participation in blended learning programs (which incorporate in person and online instruction). It is not known how students enrolled in blended clinical psychology PhD programs experience the in-person portion of these programs and what their experiences mean for their professional identity development. This study examined the perceived impact of one part of an online clinical psychology doctoral program, the in-person classroom experiences, on the professional identity of clinical psychology trainees. Drawing from theories such as actor network theory and transactional distance theory, the current study explored how interactions between students and professors shaped professional identity. The study was qualitative phenomenological, using NVivo software to organize interview data from participants enrolled in blended doctoral programs. There were 6 participants total. A total of 8 themes were found in the data. These themes included fear, expertise, improved understanding, adjusting, growth, change, dissatisfaction, and finding support. Students valued the time spent with professors and perceived themselves to have grown after participating in in-person intensives. The themes found gleaned insight into the professional identity development of students enrolled in blended clinical psychology doctoral programs. This study has implications for how training programs for those in blended programs can be improved, thus improving the quality of patient care. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2020 APA, all rights reserved)

Rodriguez-Menendez, G., Dempsey, J. P., Albizu, T., Power, S., & Campbell Wilkerson, M. (2017). Faculty and student perceptions of clinical training experiences in professional psychology. Training and Education in Professional Psychology, 11(1), 1-9. https://doi.org/10.1037/tep0000137; 10.1037/tep0000137.supp (Supplemental)

Shotwell, O. C. (2014). Self-care in clinical psychology graduate students: Relationship to academic and professional stress . (2014-99040-094). http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=psyh&AN=2014-99040-094
This study examined the prevalence of self-care and its relationship to academic and professional stress. Participants were 109 clinical psychology graduate students from two Psy.D. programs in a large metropolitan area. Eighty-seven were female and 22 male, ranging in age from 22 to 46. Participants had varying ethnic backgrounds and most were working at clinical placements in therapy or assessment. Responses to questionnaires on self-care, academic stress, and professional stress were used to examine correlations between these constructs. Self-care was practiced at a moderate rate by the overall sample, while academic stress was reported at a moderate level, and professional stress at a low level. Results showed a nonsignificant negative correlation between self-care and academic stress. Overall self-care was negatively correlated with work overinvolvement, scheduling, and personal depletion (small effect size, significant at the .05 level). Self-care lifestyle factors were negatively correlated with overall professional stress, as well as various factors of professional stress, including scheduling problems (small effect size, significant at the .05 level), work overinvolvement (small effect size, significant at the 01 level) and personal depletion (moderate effect size, significant at the .001 level). Self-care relationship factors were negatively correlated with work overinvolvement and personal depletion (small effect size, significant at the .05 level). Results add to existing literature on the prevalence of self-care (e.g., Richards, Campenni, & Muse-Burke, 2010). Specific recommendations were made for modifications to graduate programs in clinical psychology in order to provide a stronger emphasis on self-care and thereby improve trainees' professional functioning. (PsycInfo Database Record (c) 2020 APA, all rights reserved)

Stiles, W. B., Schilling, K. M., Rorer, L. G., Knudson, R. M., Paternite, C. E., Leitner, L. M., Wright, M. O., & Biran, M. W. (1992). Pluralistic Professional Education: A Modular Curriculum in Clinical Psychology. Teaching of Psychology, 19(4), 211. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=6383163
Describes the pluralistic curriculum for doctoral education in clinical psychology. Introduction of students to alternative psychotherapeutic approaches in practicum courses; Selection of students of modules and practice that meet their career goals; Offer of courses in psychopathology, psychological assessment and intervention as modules.

Suresh Kumar, M., Rajeev Kumar, N., & Vigneswaran, K. (2014). Use of Social Media to Explore the Professional Issues in the Field of Clinical Psychology. International Nepal Epidemiological Association.
An abstract of the article "Use of Social Media to Explore the Professional Issues in the Field of Clinical Psychology," by M. Suresh Kumar and colleagues is presented.

Templer, D. I., Tyler, L., Nelson, A. A., Winstanley, S., & Chicota, C. (2004). Clinical psychology program improvement on the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology. Journal of Instructional Psychology, (2), 175. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edsgih&AN=edsgcl.119611694
The present study was conducted in the context of previous research on the validity, correlates, and stability over time of clinical psychology program graduate scores on the national licensing exam, ...]

Thomas‐Peter, B., & Howells, K. (1996). Professional and ethical challenges of forensic clinical psychology. Psychiatry, Psychology & Law, 3(1), 63. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=75490054
This paper describes the ethical and professional challenges encountered by two experienced forensic clinical psychologists in the course of their daily work. Five examples are chosen from a typical working week which illustrate and explain a particular professional dilemma and the forensic or organisational context The paper concludes that professional guidance from the British and Australian Psychological Societies and the legal framework and organisation of services to very damaged mentally abnormal offenders are inadequate and often unsupportive of psychological intervention, It also suggests that preparation to deal with these typical problems should be addressed in continued professional training. ABSTRACT FROM PUBLISHER]; Copyright of Psychiatry, Psychology & Law is the property of Routledge and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)

Wade, T. C., Baker, T. B., Morton, T. L., & Baker, L. J. (1978). The Status of Psychological Testing in Clinical Psychology: Relationships Between Test Use and Professional Activities and Orientations. Journal of Personality Assessment, 42(1), 3. https://doi.org/10.1207/s15327752jpa4201_1
A survey of clinical psychologists determined that both objective and projective tests were used with high frequency. The two tests clinicians most frequently recommended clinical students learn to administer were projective (the Rorschach and the TAT) and, among the 10 most frequently recommended tests, projective tests were recommended approximately 30% more often than objective tests. Clinicians who were frequent test users recommended both objective and projective tests more often than those not using tests. Clinicians doing substantial teaching and research tended to recommend projective tests less often than clinicians not engaged in those activities. Behavior therapists recommended projective tests less often than eclectic, Freudian, and neo-Freudian therapists. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Journal of Personality Assessment is the property of Taylor & Francis Ltd and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)

Watts, R. J. (1987). Development of professional identity in Black clinical psychology students. Professional Psychology: Research and Practice, 18(1), 28-35. https://doi.org/10.1037/0735-7028.18.1.28
Professional identity was conceived and explored via a sample of Black clinical psychology students. Theoretical perspective, values, and career goals were identified as the central aspects of professional identity. Sociopolitical professional identity (SPI) was of special interest; it was defined as a pattern of interdependence between sociopolitical values and other aspects of professional identity. SPI, which develops during the process of professional socialization (i.e., training), was predicted to occur more frequently in programs with a greater number of program resources relevant to work with culturally diverse populations. There was some evidence that significant and meaningful interdependent relations existed among the SPI variables, but there was no convincing evidence of an association between resource use and SPI. Nonetheless, the students used and apparently valued program resources such as Black faculty and culturally diverse training experiences. Other findings indicated that students were shaped by their training experiences, often in a way that reflected the dominant perspectives in clinical psychology. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2013 APA, all rights reserved)

Wiens, A. N. (1969). Scientist-professional: The appropriate training model for the mainstream of clinical psychology. Professional Psychology, 1(1), 38-42. https://doi.org/10.1037/h0028678
Proposes that in response to demands from other professionals who look to psychology for solutions to present day problems, clinical psychology must offer a "methodology that will make it possible to generate new data and knowledge," and that will offer a scientist-professional model as an educational solution. Thus each patient and community encounter will be seen as an experiment that admits a scientific approach. This continuous process of inquiry makes possible the necessary flexibility in keeping pace with constantly shifting role models, techniques, and procedures. It is concluded that PhD training in psychology should not be carried on in professional schools under the auspices of the American Psychological Association, but should emphasize a broad base of psychological knowledge and scientific skills with more specific techniques being taught on the job, and thus tailored to the specific situation. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2013 APA, all rights reserved)