https://www.archives.gov/electoral-college
The Electoral College
It's a Process, not a Place
The Electoral College is how we refer to the process by which the United States elects the President, even though that term does not appear in the U.S. Constitution. In this process, the States (which includes the District of Columbia just for this process) elect the President and Vice President.
The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) is a part of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) and, on behalf of the Archivist of the United States, coordinates certain functions of the Electoral College between the States and Congress. Acting as an intermediary, it reviews the Certificates of Ascertainment and Vote before Congress accepts them as evidence of official State action in preparation for the counting of electoral votes in Congress. In addition to posting them on this website, OFR makes the physical Certificates available for public inspection for one year following the election. After that year, the Certificates become part of the National Archives collection.
https://www.naacpldf.org/wp-content/uploads/Trump-Campaign-Complaint.pdf
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA MICHIGAN WELFARE RIGHTS ORGANIZATION, MAUREEN TAYLOR, NICOLE HILL, and TEASHA JONES, Plaintiffs, v. DONALD J. TRUMP, and DONALD J. TRUMP FOR PRESIDENT, INC., Defendants. Case No. 1:20-cv-03388 COMPLAINT FOR DECLARATORY AND INJUNCTIVE RELIEF INTRODUCTION 1. Since decisively losing the November 2020 presidential election, Defendants Donald J. Trump, and his campaign committee Donald J. Trump for President, Inc., have engaged in a variety of tactics designed to overturn the result of that election. Having unsuccessfully filed numerous unsuccessful lawsuits, Defendants have now turned to a new strategy: pressure state and local officials not to certify election results in key states and then have state legislatures override the will of the voters by installing President Trump’s slate of electors. They have actively pursued this strategy, compromising the integrity of the election process, and unlawfully interfering with will of the voters. 2. To effectuate this strategy, Defendants are openly seeking to disenfranchise Black voters, including voters in Detroit, Michigan. Repeating false claims of voter fraud, which have been thoroughly debunked, Defendants are pressuring state and local officials in Michigan not to
https://www.archives.gov/electoral-college/results
National Archives and Record Administration (NARA): Electoral College Results
Provides the electoral votes, popular votes, electors, and certificates of past presidential elections starting in 1944.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
