Guides: SciFinder: John B. Coleman Library Database : SciFinder: Information

SciFinder: Information

What sets SciFinder® apart? CONTENT! Did you know that SciFinder is the only research tool with access to the world’s most reliable and largest collection of substances, reactions and references (from both journals and patents)? A global network of scientists update content daily to ensure you have access to the most timely and accurate information available.

SciFinder excels with its wider coverage of literature and patents from ca. 1965 forward, its comprehensive registration of all types of chemical compounds, polymers, and mixtures, and its more thorough coverage of organic reactions after 1985. CAS also scans more source publications, indexes new material more rapidly, and is updated daily.

Get substances – access the world’s most trusted resource for substance information including chemical structures, chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers®, properties, commercial availability and regulatory information.

Get reactions – find dependable and current chemical reaction information from our extensive databases including reaction schemes, experimental procedures, conditions, yields, solvents, catalysts, as well as commercial availability of substances with direct links to leading producer and supplier sites.

Get references – get the information you need when you need it with our unrivaled collection of the world’s most up-to-date chemistry and related science information found in journals, patents, dissertations and more. SciFinder is the only source that brings you information from early discovery through clinical trials with the combined coverage of CAplusSM and MEDLINE®. And full-text is just a click away*.

SciFinder’s easy-to-use search features offer fast and convenient access to the most comprehensive source for substance, reaction and reference information in a single tool designed for a more efficient workflow.

SciFinder: Information

More details about SciFinder and SciFinder-n content

SciFinder content:

References (CAPlus) has more than 50 million records from publications dating back to the early 1800s, with continuous coverage since 1907. Cited/citing references cover 1997-present. Updated daily.

Substances (CAS Registry) has 156 million organic and inorganic substances disclosed in literature since the early 1800s. Includes alloys, coordination compounds, minerals, mixtures, polymers and salts; 68 million protein and nucleic acid sequences; and is enriched with experimental and predicted property data and spectra. Updated daily.

Reactions (CASREACT) has ~118 million reactions from 1840 to present including organometallics, total syntheses of natural products and biotransformation reactions. Records are enhanced with yield data, detailed reaction conditions, and experimental procedures. Updated daily.

Chemical suppliers (CHEMCATS) includes millions of unique commercially available products and covers verified catalogs from hundreds of suppliers. Updated weekly.

Chemical regulations (CHEMLIST) covers more than ~394,000 unique chemical substances. Includes information from 150 regulatory inventories and lists. Updated weekly.

Markush representations in patents can embody hundreds of specific substances making it difficult to do a comprehensive search. There are more than 1.2 million searchable Markush representations from >500,000 patents. Continuous coverage since 1988, with selected coverage back to 1961. Updated daily.

Biomedical literature (MEDLINE) has more than 27.1 million records. Covers 1946-present. Updated six times each week, with an annual reload.

SciFinder-n content:

All content that is present in SciFinder plus these additional resources:

Synthetic methods (MethodsNow Synthesis) has more than 4.5 million step-by-step synthetic protocols.

Specific location of a structure within a patent (PatentPak) connects you to more than 17 million searchable, full-text patents from 46 major patent offices across the globe

Synthesis planning (retrosynthetic and predictive synthesis) offers a retrosynthetic analysis using reaction data in SciFinder and presents results in an intuitive retrosynthesis plan. Predictive synthesis planning will available soon.