JOHN B. COLEMAN LIBRARY VIRTUAL TOUR: Your research needs

The John B. Coleman Library mission is to enhance the scholarly pursuit of knowledge, to foster intellectual curiosity, and to promote life-long learning and research through our innovative services, resources, and cultural programs, which support the Prairie View A&M University’s global mission of teaching, service, and research.

~ Our Mission ~

PRAIRIE VIEW A&M UNIVERSITY: JOHN B. COLEMAN LIBRARY- Services for Students: Undergraduate and Graduate

About the John B. Coleman Library

John B. Coleman Library (homepage)

John B. Coleman Library Hours

Librarian Faculty and Student Liaison Units

Request a Library Research Instruction Class

Quick Facts (John B.Coleman Library)

History of the John B. Coleman Library

Prairie View A&M University: Legacy and History Videos

Online and Print Researching: Materials

Library Live Chat Service

John B. Coleman Online Catalog (find the call numbers to books)

Library LibGuides (Subject area resource guides)

EBSCOhost- Search All databases (Online articles- journals, magazines, newspapers...)

A to Z Database List (Online: journals, magazines , books, newspapers, conference reports)

e-Journal Portal (Online access to Journal, Magazine and Newspaper titles)

Electronic Reserves and Course Reserves (Circulation Department)

InterLibrary Loan (Access to get library materials from other libraries)

Research Tools (Style Guides, RefWorks, Writing Lab)

World Cat | Area Libraries (Online Catalog of the world)

TexShare Online Application (Roving library card for access to public libraries in Texas)

RefWorks (Citation management)

Use credit card to pay for library fines

Ask a Librarian

Access from Home

Help with Database Access

Library of Congress Classification System: Call Numbers

PVAMU Library Departments and Area Libraries

Library Administration

Circulation Services

Special Collections & Archives

Reference & Information Services

Technical Services

Northwest Houston Center Library

Dr. Robert A. Henry Music Library

College of Nursing Library

John B. Coleman Library: Notes

Interlibrary Loan – Books and articles that the Coleman Library orders from another library may be picked and dropped off at the Circulation Desk 1st Floor.
Jazzman’s Café is located just left of the Circulation Desk – 1st Floor
Lost and Found is located at the Circulation Desk – 1st Floor
Photocopiers/Printer/Scanners are located in the Periodicals and Reference Departments – 1st floor
Reference Desk is on the 1st floor to answer your research and reference questions. You may e-mail questions to askalibrarian@pvamu.edu or call (936) 261-1535.
Electronic Reserves – You may put items for your class on Reserve. Circulation Desk – 1st Floor
Library Public Events Room 108 is located on the 1st Floor after the Jazzman's Cafe on the left-side

Selected List of Popular John B. Coleman Library Online Databases

Articles: magazines, newspapers, journals

Databases A to Z List

Database: ProQuest
Database: Heritage Quest
Database: SAGE
Database: EBSCOhost/EDS Discovery
Database: NewsBank
Database: Statbank
Database: Alexandra Street Music
Database: ScienceDirect
Database: African American Studies Center
Database: ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses
Database: eBooks- ProQuest and EBSCOhost
Database: Grove Music Online
Database: JSTOR
Database: Lexis Nexis
Database: NBC Learn
Database: Project Muse
Database: Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Database: Gale
Database: Mental Measurement Yearbook
Database: Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Database: Engineering and Business and Chemistry
Database: Agriculture and Sociology, Psychology, Social work
Database: Juvenile Justice
Database: Credo Reference: encyclopedia
Database: Credo Reference: Mind Map
Database: Kanopy psychological and counseling full length videos

Library of Congress Classification Outline
Handout to finding books by subject areas in the John B. Coleman Library's First and Second floors
PRAIRIE VIEW A&M UNIVERSITY: JOHN B. COLEMAN LIBRARY- Services for Students: Undergraduate and Graduate

JBC Library: Reference and Information Services Resources

Research Tools – Writing a research paper can be challenging. With the right tools and resources, the process can be less complicated. The resources below have been developed to help improve the process. Contact the Reference Librarians for further assistance or help.

Schedule Research Instruction Session – A Reference and Information Librarian can come to your department, classroom or office and present information on a specific research topic, resource, or provide an overview of library services.

Ask-a-Librarian – Ask a reference question 24/7 from anywhere in the world. There is usually a 24-48 hour turnaround time on answers.

Library Liaisons List

Department Policies

RefWorks – RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

Style Guides – Print out short tip sheets for APA, MLA and others. For detailed instruction, contact the Reference Desk.

John B. Coleman Library: Off Campus Access

Off Campus Access

Help – Ask a Librarian

For questions related to the use of library resources, please contact John B. Coleman Library Reference Department, X1535 (936-261-1535).

The following instructions pertain how to gain access from off campus.

All Faculty, Staff and Students are required to enter your network ID and network password to access the Library’s electronic resources from off campus.

Your network ID is the first part of your Prairie View A&M University e-mail address (your network ID is the part before the @ on your e-mail address) and your password is your e-mail password.

Example: jbcoleman@pvamu.edu or jbcoleman@student.pvamu.edu

In this example, “jbcoleman” would be the network ID.

If your do not know your email account, please contact Help Desk at (936) 261-2525 or Toll free (877) 241-1752 for assistance.

Go to Information and Technology Services for account details.

Library Research Instruction Survey

John B. Coleman Library: Research Instruction Survey
Please help us determine how successful the John B. Coleman Library is in meeting your information needs by filling out the brief survey above (Reference Instruction Survey). If you have any further questions or concerns about the Library, please contact the Library Administration at (936) 261-1500 or by e-mail at askalibrarian@pvamu.edu.

RESEARCH INSTRUCTION SURVEY

Please help us determine how successful the John B. Coleman Library is in meeting your information needs by filling out the brief survey above (Reference Instruction Survey). If you have any further questions or concerns about the Library, please contact the Library Administration at (936) 261-1500 or by e-mail at askalibrarian@pvamu.edu.

Please help us determine how successful the John B. Coleman Library is in meeting your information needs by filling out the brief survey below. If you have any further questions or concerns about the Library, please contact the Library Administration at (936) 261-1500 or by e-mail at askalibrarian@pvamu.edu.

ELEG 1304 - Computer Applications in Engineering: Home