Access Portal is a Video Streaming Platform, videos are specifically designed to introduce complex medical topics, enhance student learning, aid in the development of clinical skills, and reinforce comprehension of in-class lectures.
More than 8500 articles covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and former McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology
115,000-PLUS definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
BCcampus OpenEd Resources (Open Source)
Open Source textbooks covering subjects including academic/career success, adult basic education, art and design, biological/physical sciences, business, communication/writing, computer science, earth and ocean science, education, engineering, health and medicine, hospitality/tourism, humanities, language learning, law/criminal justice, math/statistics, social sciences, support resources, and trades.
This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus.
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) (Open Source)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
eBook Nursing Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Nursing Collection features more than 600 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
EBSCOhost (Search all EBSCO databases)
EBSCOhost’s Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text peer-reviewed journals. Covers social behavior, human tendencies, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Users can manipulate and explore 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Contains ebooks from multiple fields.
Health Reference Center Academic
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals in the nursing field.
Infobase Learning Resources (Issues & Controversies, Today's Science, World News Digest, Today's Science, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video) available for PVAMU on and off campus. Films On Demand includes Master Academic Package and Nursing Videos.
MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Information on almost 200 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 300 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 90 drug categories.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
PubMed (Open source, abstracts only)
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Open source, some full text.
Sage Publication Journals online in the fields of health sciences, humanity and social sciences, material sciences and engineering, and life and biomedical sciences. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscribed journals.
Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders.
A complete list of journals and some ebooks from Springer. Disciplines include:
Biomedicine, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Economics, Education, Engineering, Environment, Geography, History, Law, Life Sciences, Literature, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Public Health, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science and International Relations, Psychology, Social Sciences, Statistics.
Search journals and ebooks from Wiley Online Library in multiple fields. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscribed journals, some open source contents available.
Wiley Online Library (InterScience)
More than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is resource for evidence-based medicine. It includes 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research. Some open source e-books available.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
