This tutorial is designed to assist you in the research process and provide information on how to find resources using the John B. Coleman Library website.
External videos are included for additional information. Audio is included on the PowerPoint slides indicated.
The world’s largest and most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5.3 thousand full-text periodicals, including 4.4 thousand peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9.3 thousand journals and a total of 10.9 thousand publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Communications and Mass Media Collection
Communications and Mass Media Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Credo Complete Cole Collection
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.
Search Tips for Credo Reference
EBSCOhost (Search all EBSCO databases)
EBSCOhost’s Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text peer-reviewed journals. Covers social behavior, human tendencies, community development, culture and social structure.
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers. Since its inception in 1995, Issues & Controversies has been a core student and educator resource for understanding and writing about contemporary events and conflicts, as well as for debate prep. It also provides comprehensive coverage and analysis every year of the National High School Debate Topic.
Provides full-text access to back issues of journals in the humanities, including over 3,000 language and literature titles. Some examples include The American Journal of Philology, James Joyce Quarterly, Journal of Modern Literature, and others.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Search 17 databases: ABI/INFORM, American Periodicals, Criminal Justice, Ebook Central, GeoRef, Literature Online, Military Database, MLA International Bibliography, Music Periodicals, New York Times, PAIS Index, Periodicals Archive, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, Research Library, SciTech Premium Collection, & Social Science Database.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
