Skip to Main Content
John B. Coleman Library Ask A Librarian

PVAMU Office of Graduate Studies: John B. Coleman Library Resources: Home

The Prairie View A&M University Office of Graduate Studies offers master’s and doctoral programs within each of the seven Colleges and School

Home

Find Articles

Full length journal, magazine and newspaper articles can be found in our online article collections.

If a book or article cannot be found in PVAMU’s resources, it can usually be borrowed from another library. Fill out the Interlibrary Loan form, and please note that it may take several weeks to receive the item.

Find Books: Print and Online

Use the Online Library Catalog to locate physical books in the library.

Use the Onesearch - Discovery Service for John B. Coleman Library to locate eBooks in the library's collection

Make Time For Research: Library Database Webinar Trainings

Access Reference Resources

Research Tools – Writing a research paper can be challenging. With the right tools and resources, the process can be less complicated.  The resources below have been developed to help improve the process.  Contact the Reference Librarians for further assistance or help.
 
Schedule Research Instruction Session – A Reference and Information Librarian can come to your department, classroom or office and present information on a specific research topic, resource, or provide an overview of library services.
 
Ask-a-Librarian – Ask a reference question 24/7 from anywhere in the world. There is usually a 24-48 hour turnaround time on answers.
 

RefWorks – RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

 
Style Guides – Print out short tip sheets for APA, MLA and others. For detailed instruction, contact the Reference Desk.

John B. Coleman Library: Contact

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446


Administration: (936) 261-1500

Reference: (936) 261-1535

Circulation: (936) 261-1542


Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

John B. Coleman Library: Access from home

Off Campus Access

Help –  Ask a Librarian

For questions related to the use of library resources, please contact John B. Coleman Library Reference Department, X1535 (936-261-1535).

The following instructions pertain how to gain access from off campus.

All Faculty, Staff and Students are required to enter your network ID and network password to access the Library’s electronic resources from off campus.

Your network ID is the first part of your Prairie View A&M University e-mail address (your network ID is the part before the @ on your e-mail address) and your password is your e-mail password.

Example: jbcoleman@pvamu.edu   or   jbcoleman@student.pvamu.edu

In this example, “jbcoleman” would be the network ID.

If your do not know your email account, please contact Help Desk at (936) 261-2525 or Toll free (877) 241-1752 for assistance.

Go to Information and Technology Services for account details.

John B. Coleman Library: Notes

John B. Coleman Library: Notes

  1. Interlibrary Loan – Books and articles that the Coleman Library orders from another library may be picked and dropped off at the Circulation Desk 1st Floor.
  2. Jazzman’s Café is located just left of the Circulation Desk – 1st Floor
  3. Lost and Found is located at the Circulation Desk – 1st Floor
  4. Photocopiers/Printer/Scanners are located in the Periodicals and Reference Departments – 1st floor
  5. Reference Desk is on the 1st floor to answer your research and reference questions. You may e-mail questions to askalibrarian@pvamu.edu or call (936) 261-1535.
  6. Electronic Reserves – You may put items for your class on Reserve. Circulation Desk – 1st Floor
  7. Library Public Events Room 108 is located on the 1st Floor after the Jazzman's Cafe on the left-side

Selected List of Popular John B. Coleman Library Online Databases

Selected List of Popular John B. Coleman Library Online Databases

 

Databases A to Z List

  •  Database: ProQuest
  • Database: Heritage Quest
  • Database: SAGE
  • Database: EBSCOhost/EDS Discovery
  • Database: NewsBank
  • Database: Statbank
  • Database: Alexandra Street Music
  • Database: ScienceDirect
  • Database: African American Studies Center
  • Database: ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses 
  • Database: eBooks- ProQuest and EBSCOhost 
  • Database: Grove Music Online
  • Database: JSTOR
  • Database: Lexis Nexis
  • Database: NBC Learn
  • Database: Project Muse
  • Database: Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
  • Database: Gale
  • Database: Mental Measurement Yearbook
  • Database: Taylor & Francis Online Journals
  • Database: Engineering and Business and Chemistry
  • Database: Agriculture and Sociology, Psychology, Social work
  • Database: Juvenile Justice 
  • Database: Credo Reference: encyclopedia
  • Database: Credo Reference: Mind Map
  • Database: Kanopy psychological and counseling full length videos

Head of Reference and Information Services Department, Librarian II

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

 Library Hours