Bridge to Doctorate Program: Using the Library as a Research Tool: JBCL Databases
The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation from TAMUS is dedicated to providing excellent academic opportunities for underserved students. This guide serves as a jumping-off point for students who are interested in broadening their research skil
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives. Search Tips for Credo Reference
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Explore Houston history through local news, events and people with the Houston Chronicle Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Search databases: ABI/INFORM, African American Poetry, American Periodicals, Criminal Justice, Ebook Central, GeoRef, Military Database, Music Periodicals, PAIS Index, Periodicals Archive, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Research Library, SciTech Premium Collection, & Social Science Database.
Business news, industry & market, accounting, company financial reports, company profiles. Compare companies, SEC Filings & Reports, business directories, company dossiers, patents, topics on criminal science and political science.
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world’s highest quality literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore contains over 2.5 million full text documents from IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Publications.
SciFinder® is your portal to chemistry and related information providing easy access to the most trusted collection of chemical substances, reactions and literature references in the world curated by expert scientists, not robots. Leading pharmaceutical and chemical corporations as well as top academic institutions and government labs rely on SciFinder to keep up to date on and leverage the latest advances in science.
Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders.
Scopus generates precise citation search results and automatically updated researcher and institution profiles, creating richer connections between people, published ideas, and organizations. In addition to protecting the integrity of the scholarly record, Scopus helps bolster institutional research performance, rank and reputation.
Explore the Art & Architecture ePortal. Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world’s finest publishers and museums. Search, read, cite, note, and more.
In addition to full-text journals, Art & Architecture Source includes a collection of more than 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources. It also includes 14,000 indexed art dissertations and 229,000 indexed art reproductions.
Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works. Content included in the package has been the recipient of the Best Niche Product award from Library Journal and was deemed “highly recommended” by Choice Magazine.
Part of ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection. This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Part of ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection. This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Coverage: 1960 - current
Agriculture Collection provides a comprehensive view of agriculture and related fields. The database provides access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
