Library Guides: Prairie View A&M University All-State Choir Camp: Sheet Music Resources

Sheet Music Resources

(Photo credit: Mirskey Collection of Salon Orchestra and Silent Film Music)

Can I photocopy or scan sheet music? Unlicensed copying of sheet music damages the income and work of composers and music publishers, and is illegal.
I want to acquire downloads of sheet music from the Internet. Is this legal? Downloading sheet music illegally severely damages the work, reputation, and income of composers and music publishers and so you should only acquire downloads if you are certain that the site offering the service is legitimate.
I want to make a recording of my performance of music which is in copyright – can I do this? A licence is required to make and distribute recordings of any music which is in copyright, and this applies whether or not you are making a charge to purchase the recording (delivered as a CD or in digital form).

Sheet Music Resources

African American Sheet Music, 1850-1920 (Brown University)

Consisting of roughly 6,000 items, this collection provides sheet music, as well as scarce portraits of African American performers. This collection provides significant materials that bring light to American culture from the 1850s-1920s such as music, theatre, dance, and print histories.

A database consisting over 400,000 materials relating to popular songs, show-tunes, jazz and dance music.

Digital Scores and Libretti

Hundreds of rare or unique manuscripts and early editions from the Loeb Music Library collections.

IMSLP - Petrucci Music Library

IMSLP is the #1 website for free public domain sheet music. Founded in 2006, IMSLP aims to provide open access, public domain music worldwide.

Sheet Music Resources

Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection

This collection consists of over 29,000 pieces of American popular music spanning from 1780 to 1980.

The Music Treasures Consortium

Digitized music manuscripts and prints (16th-20th centuries) from the Library of Congress, British Library, Bavarian State Library, New York Public Library, The Morgan, The Newberry, the Beethoven-Haus Bonn, Harvard, Juilliard, Johns Hopkins, Princeton, University of Iowa, University of Washington, and Yale.

Sheet Music Consortium

200,000+ pieces of sheet music from the collections of 22 institutions. Sign up for a free account to make your own private or shared portfolios of sheet music from the site.

Sibley Digital Scores

Public Domain scores from the collections of the Sibley Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester