The library currently has access to over 300 web based full text databases which can be accessed on campus or remotely via this link:
https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php
* If you are accessing the databases from off campus you will need to ender your PVAMU ID and PVAMU email password.
Search databases: ABI/INFORM, African American Poetry, American Periodicals, Criminal Justice, Ebook Central, GeoRef, Military Database, Music Periodicals, PAIS Index, Periodicals Archive, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Research Library, SciTech Premium Collection, & Social Science Database.
________
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
________
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
National Association of Social Workers
https://www.socialworkers.org/News/Research-Data
__________
Society for Social Work and Research
Diversity and Otherness : Transcultural Insights Into Norms, Practices, Negotiations
This book critically examines multiple ways in which cultural diversity is represented and handled in a variety of contexts, from the artistic to the scientific, from the political to the theatrical, in media, fashion and everyday life, today as well as in the past. By drawing from the observation that specific socio-cultural features are made relevant to create asymmetries and hierarchies between individuals, groups and cultural resources, the volume questions, on the one hand, contingent processes of regulation, standardization, and homogenization of diversity. It points at contradictory processes of in- and exclusion related to the construction of differences between the Self and the Other in processes of doing culture. On the other hand, it recognizes and emphasizes the fluidity of cultural entanglements by adopting a transcultural perspective, which unifies the variety of the topics and of the contexts covered by the chapters, as well as their inter- and transdisciplinarity. While processes such as globalization, decolonization, migration, and mediatization have contributed to place diversity at the centre-stage of both scholarly and non-scholarly debates, this book invites to re-think norms, practices and negotiations of diversity and otherness through a variety of narrations, standardizations, imaginations, and negotiations. By emphasizing the contrast between emancipatory vs. standardizing approaches to diversity and otherness it also invites to “transculturalize” the study and the politics of culture.
___________________________
Sensitive Research in Social Work
This book addresses issues related with researching sensitive topics in social work, focusing on marginalized, vulnerable and hard to reach people. It covers the definition, characteristics, challenges and opportunities of sensitive research, its philosophical roots and methodological debates, and the skills and values that are required along with the ethical, political and legal issues involved in conducting social work research. This book will cover innovative research methods appropriate for research on sensitive topics involving vulnerable people. It shines light on how to use traditional research methods sensitively, and how to generate data while minimizing the harm that can potentially be caused to research participants and researchers.
___________________
Innovations in Social Work Research
A valuable reference to help practising researchers not only to understand but also to apply innovative approaches to social work research. Featuring extended case studies of actual research projects, the book provides an overview of a number of central features and qualities of social work research. It incorporates both distinctive methodological features, such as approaches to participatory inquiry, and provides accounts of researcher strategies to address particular challenges, such as carrying out studies with hard to reach populations. This book combines important methodological insights with pragmatic guidance on commonly experienced problems and how these challenges can be overcome. This is a key resource for social work and social care students, social work practitioners and academics engaged in research.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
