The library currently has access to over 300 web based full text databases which can be accessed on campus or remotely via this link:
https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php
* If you are accessing the databases from off campus you will need to ender your PVAMU ID and PVAMU email password.
Best Databases for Social Work Research
Search databases: ABI/INFORM, African American Poetry, American Periodicals, Criminal Justice, Ebook Central, GeoRef, Military Database, Music Periodicals, PAIS Index, Periodicals Archive, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Research Library, SciTech Premium Collection, & Social Science Database.
________
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
________
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
________
Credo Complete Cole Collection
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.
________
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
________
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. Full runs of more than 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. More than 2 million primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. The artifacts, specimens, and documents in the collections are scanned at high resolution to enable detailed inspection of each item. 60,000 DRM-free ebooks from scholarly publishers. 18th century to present.
National Association of Social Workers
https://www.socialworkers.org/News/Research-Data
__________
Society for Social Work and Research
https://secure.sswr.org/resources/
___________
American Geriatrics Society
The Routledge Handbook of Social Work and Addictive Behaviors
The Routledge Handbook of Social Work and Addictive Behaviors is a definitive resource about addictive behaviors, emphasizing substance misuse, gambling, and problematic technology use. Contents address their prevalence in various communities and populations globally, theories related to their origins and etiology, and what is currently known about effective intervention strategies, education, and research. Social work's biopsychosocial, lifespan, and person-in-environment perspectives underpin the book contents which are applicable to a wide range of professional and social science disciplines. Contents are divided into five sections: The scope and nature of addictive behavior and related problems Addictive behavior across the lifespan and specific populations Interventions to prevent and address addictive behavior and related problems Issues frequently co-occurring with addictive behavior Moving forward This handbook provides students, practitioners, and scholars with a strong focus on cutting-edge high-quality research. With contributions from a global interdisciplinary team of leading scholars, this handbook is relevant to readers from social work, public health, psychology, education, sociology, criminal justice, medicine, nursing, human services, and health professions.
__________________________
Treating Adolescents with Substance Use Disorders
From a leading addiction specialist, this highly practical book explores what works in treating adolescents. Oscar G. Bukstein answers the clinician's vital question:'What do I do now?'He describes best practices for enhancing youths'motivation for change, teaching a variety of recovery skills, and implementing parent management training and parent–adolescent problem solving. The book covers ways to foster a prosocial peer network and to address mental health problems that co-occur with substance use disorders (SUDs). Clinicians can combine the strategies into an integrated approach or pick and choose depending on the needs of individual clients. Reproducible handouts and worksheets can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2'x 11'size.
_____________________________
Social Work : A Problem-oriented Introduction
In many regions of the world the twenty-first century has started with a structure of endless challenges for social work. Social work seems to be in demand almost everywhere, from support schemes for children and young people into adulthood and on to support for elderly people, in community work in cities and rural regions, in disaster relief and in care for refugees. This book describes the field of social work – its themes, problems and methods – in the face of the concept of the second, reflexive modernisation. The question needs to be asked of how, and whether, social work's success story from the first modernity can continue. We discuss the second modernity as a time of blurring boundaries. Today, it frequently faces the problem that the organised terms of its approaches come up against a social reality where the frameworks of social life are becoming dynamic. Normalised structures are dissolving or becoming mixed with new ones; boundaries are blurring and new ones appearing.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
