The library currently has access to over 300 web based full text databases which can be accessed on campus or remotely via this link:
https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php
* If you are accessing the databases from off campus you will need to ender your PVAMU ID and PVAMU email password.
Search databases: ABI/INFORM, African American Poetry, American Periodicals, Criminal Justice, Ebook Central, GeoRef, Military Database, Music Periodicals, PAIS Index, Periodicals Archive, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Research Library, SciTech Premium Collection, & Social Science Database.
________
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
________
Sage Publication Journals online in the fields of health sciences, humanity and social sciences, material sciences and engineering, and life and biomedical sciences. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscribed journals.
________
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
________
Videos and films mainly from PBS and psychotherapy.net.
________
Resources on the topics of Psychology
_________
Behavioral and Mental Health Online
Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works. Content included in the package has been the recipient of the Best Niche Product award from Library Journal and was deemed “highly recommended” by Choice Magazine.
American Psychological Association
Our mission is to promote the advancement, communication, and application of psychological science and knowledge to benefit society and improve lives.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories in Context and Practice : Skills, Strategies, and Techniques
GET TO KNOW THE ORIGINS, DEVELOPMENT, AND KEY FIGURES OF EACH MAJOR COUNSELING THEORY This comprehensive text covers all the major theories in counseling and psychotherapy along with an emphasis on how to use these theoretical models in clinical practice. The authors cover the history, key figures, research base, multicultural implications, and practical applications of the following theoretical perspectives: Psychoanalytic, Individual/Adlerian, Existential, Gestalt, Person- Centered, Behavioral, Cognitive-Behavioral, Choice Theory/Reality Therapy, Feminist, Constructive, Family Systems, Multicultural, and Eclectic/Integrative. This text has case examples that bring each theory to life. The entire book has been updated with the latest research and techniques. Pedagogical features include learner objectives,'Putting It in Practice'boxes, questions for reflection, case examples and treatment planning, and chapter summaries. Every theory is examined from cultural, gender/sexual, and spiritual perspectives. The instructor supplement package includes a Respondus test bank, chapter outlines, supplemental lecture ideas, classroom activities, and PowerPoint slides. It also includes video demonstrations corresponding to every major theory and linked to each chapter's contents. In addition, a WPLS course will be available after publication. Expanded video elements closely tied to sections of the text New visuals, including graphics, charts, and tables to facilitate student understanding of theories and how they relate to one another Increased coverage of multicultural and ethical issues in every chapter Cultural, gender, sexuality, and spiritual issues are integrated into every chapter The Sommers-Flanagan's hands-on, practical approach emphasizes how students and practitioners can apply these theories in real-world practice. Students are empowered to develop theoretically-sound and evidence-based approaches to conducting counseling and psychotherapy.
____________________
'Dodge Fernald writes an interesting, easy-to-read book for students. Each perspective covers the historical underpinnings of psychology, ending with current models and viewpoints as well as comments and critiques of the perspective. That′s important and will help the next generation of scholars in psychology to appreciate alternative views. Nice book!'Joseph R. Ferrari, Ph.D., Vincent de Paul Distinguished Professor, DePaul University Addressing six perspectives, this textbook offers the framework for a conceptual understanding of modern psychology. Psychology: Six Perspectives shows students a measure of unity and continuity within this fragmented field by briefly and coherently discussing six primary perspectives that have arisen: biological, psychoanalytical, behavioral, humanistic, cognitive, and evolutionary. Author L. Dodge Fernald provides coherence by presenting these perspectives in successive historical order, offering students a broad, retrospective account of psychology. Key FeaturesPortrays the fundamental dimensions of this multifaceted field: The similarities and differences among basic concepts, theories, research, and practice of each perspective are examined.Employs both a scientific mode of communication as well as a narrative thread: The real-life narrative of a lonely, stout-hearted social worker unfolds gently throughout the text, illustrating in turn each of the perspectives.Stimulates critical thinking and class discussion: Opportunities for critical evaluation and everyday application provide students with a context for extending their understanding of and investigation into psychology. Intended AudienceThis core textbook or supplementary text is designed for undergraduate courses in general psychology, ranging from special sections of introductory psychology to the capstone course or senior seminar, including the history and systems of psychology.
_______
Comparative psychology : Evolution and development of brain and behavior
"This revised third edition provides an up to date, comprehensive overview of the field of comparative psychology, integrating both evolutionary and developmental studies of brain and behavior. This book provides a unique combination of areas normally covered independently to satisfy the requirements of comparative psychology courses. Papini ensures thorough coverage of topics like the fundamentals of neural function, the cognitive and associative capacities of animals, the development of the central nervous system and behavior, and the fossil record of animals including human ancestors. This text includes many examples drawn from the study of human behavior, highlighting general and basic principles that apply broadly to the animal kingdom. New topics introduced in this edition include genetics, epigenetics, neurobiological, and cognitive advances made in recent years into this evolutionary-developmental framework. An essential textbook for upper level undergraduate and graduate courses in comparative psychology, animal behavior, and evolutionary psychology, developmental psychology, neuroscience and behavioral biology"
________
Psychology and Health: Culture, Place, History
Weaving together the various foundations of psychology and health into a compelling narrative, this book culturally and historically situates the practice, strengths, and shortcomings of the field. Historian of psychology Wade Pickren traces the development of the relationship of health and psychology through a critical history that incorporates context, culture, and place from the early modern period to the present day. Covering a range of topics and time periods including psychology and health in the nineteenth century; stress in post-World War II USA; and the relationship between body, mind, and emotion in the modern world, Psychology & Health: Culture, Place, and History outlines the journey of an understanding of health rooted in nature, to a commodity governed by the neoliberal values of the marketplace, including an exploration of the roles of self-help, emotions, and resilience. The book closes with an outline of contemporary alternatives in health psychology and points toward a future when, once again, psychology and health are grounded in nature. Throughout, the rich connections across cultures illustrate the importance of cultural variations in understanding health, disease, and treatment. This book is essential reading for scholars and students of health psychology at all levels. It will also be of interest to professionals and practitioners in related fields, as well as those interested in the enduring connection between health and psychology.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
