The library currently has access to over 300 web based full text databases which can be accessed on campus or remotely via this link:
https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php
* If you are accessing the databases from off campus you will need to ender your PVAMU ID and PVAMU email password.
Best African American Studies Databases
Search databases: ABI/INFORM, African American Poetry, American Periodicals, Criminal Justice, Ebook Central, GeoRef, Military Database, Music Periodicals, PAIS Index, Periodicals Archive, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Research Library, SciTech Premium Collection, & Social Science Database.
________
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
________
African American Historical Serials Collection
This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture. The product of more than 10 years of organizing and collecting materials, the African American Historical Serials Collection is a complete, centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects. 1829-1922
National Council for Black Studies
https://ncbsonline.org/about/background/
___________
The Black Scholar
https://www.theblackscholar.org/
___________
African American Intellectual History Society
Contagions of Empire : Scientific Racism, Sexuality, and Black Military Workers Abroad, 1898–1948
From 1898 onward, the expansion of American militarism and empire abroad increasingly relied on black labor, even as policy remained inflected both by scientific racism and by fears of contagion. Black men and women were mobilized for service in the Spanish-Cuban-American War under the War Department's belief that southern blacks carried an immunity against tropical diseases. Later, in World Wars I and II, black troops were stigmatized as members of a contagious' venereal race' and were subjected to experimental medical treatments meant to curtail their sexual desires. By turns feared as contagious and at other times valued for their immunity, black men and women played an important part in the U.S. military's conscription of racial, gender, and sexual difference, even as they exercised their embattled agency at home and abroad. By following the scientific, medical, and cultural history of African American enlistment through the archive of American militarism, this book traces the black subjects and agents of empire as they came into contact with a world globalized by warfare.
____________________________
A comprehensive and practical text on teaching, understanding and practicing African American Studies.
________________________
Philosophy of African American Studies : Nothing Left of Blackness
In this ground-breaking book, Stephen C. Ferguson addresses a seminal question that is too-often ignored: What should be the philosophical basis for African American studies? The volume explores philosophical issues and problems in their relationship to Black studies. Ferguson shows that philosophy is not a sterile intellectual pursuit, but a critical tool to gathering knowledge about the Black experience. Cultural idealism in various forms has become enormously influential as a framework for Black studies. Ferguson takes on the task of demonstrating how a Marxist philosophical perspective offers a productive and fruitful way of overcoming the limitations of idealism. Focusing on the hugely popular Afrocentric school of thought, this book's engaging discussion shows that the foundational arguments of cultural idealism are based on a series of analytical and historical misapprehensions. In turn, Ferguson argues for the centrality of the Black working class—both men and women—to Black Studies.
________________________
This collection brings together scholars from different disciplines. In short and provocative essays, they shine their light on the often ambivalent and contradictory possibilities and challenges people in Africa are facing. Africa, indeed, has many futures.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
