Behavioral and Mental Health Online
Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works. Content included in the package has been the recipient of the Best Niche Product award from Library Journal and was deemed “highly recommended” by Choice Magazine.
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press.
Cambridge Core is the place to find valuable, useful and inspirational research and academic information. With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Browse subjects HERE with PVAMU logging
Over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market. Containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
Credo Complete Cole Collection
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.
Search Tips for Credo Reference
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Criminology and Criminal Justice is a peer-reviewed journal that focuses on the broad field of criminology and criminal justice policy and practice. The journal publishes scholarly articles on all areas of criminology, crime and criminal justice. It includes theoretical pieces, as well as empirically-based analyses of policy and practice in areas that range from policing to sentencing, community penalties and prisons; drug use to organized crime and terrorism; and from crime prevention to victims of crime.
Directory of Open Access Journals (Open Source)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available. Open Source
EBSCOhost (Search all EBSCO databases)
EBSCOhost’s Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text peer-reviewed journals. Covers social behavior, human tendencies, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.
Resources on the topics of Psychology
Infobase Learning Resources: Issues & Controversies, World News Digest, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video, Nursing Videos, available for PVAMU on and off campus.
Videos of psychology education from JoVE databases.
Videos of science education including biology, chemistry, clinical skills, engineering, environmental sciences, physics, and psychology.
Videos and films mainly from PBS and psychotherapy.net.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
PsycARTICLES (APA PsycArticles)
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with PsycARTICLES, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
sychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Part of ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection. This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Sage Publication Journals online in the fields of health sciences, humanity and social sciences, material sciences and engineering, and life and biomedical sciences. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscribed journals.
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscriptions, some open sources available.
Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders.
Scopus generates precise citation search results and automatically updated researcher and institution profiles, creating richer connections between people, published ideas, and organizations. In addition to protecting the integrity of the scholarly record, Scopus helps bolster institutional research performance, rank and reputation.
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
A complete list of journals and some ebooks from Springer. Disciplines include:
Biomedicine, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Economics, Education, Engineering, Environment, Geography, History, Law, Life Sciences, Literature, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Public Health, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science and International Relations, Psychology, Social Sciences, Statistics.
TexShare Databases Portal from Texas State Library & Archives Commission
This databases portal webpage from Texas State Library & Archives Commission provides a complete list of Texshare databases. The links from this page are accessible from PVAMU campus network computers only.
More than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is resource for evidence-based medicine. It includes 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research. Some open source e-books available.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
