MUSC 3222 Analysis of Music II: Music Databases

Music Databases

African American Music Reference

Music Online: African American Music Reference, a collection from Music Online.

Alexander Street Collections

PVAMU collections in Alexander Street: Music Online, Academic Video Online, Behavioral and Mental Health Online, Black Drama, Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Educational Video Online. Counseling and Therapy Video

Credo Complete Cole Collection

Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.

EBSCOhost (Search all EBSCO databases)

EBSCOhost’s Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text peer-reviewed journals. Covers social behavior, human tendencies, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.

Grove Music Online (Oxford Music Online) 

Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition.

Music Periodicals Database

This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.

Music Reference Collection

Music Reference Collection delivers some of the most acclaimed music text content from the world’s best publishers spanning time periods, genres, cultural groups, and geographic regions, together in one place. The collection contains full-text reference books, artwork, biographies, songsheets, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.