The library currently has access to over 300 web based full text databases which can be accessed on campus or remotely via this link:
https://pvamu.libguides.com/az.php
* If you are accessing the databases from off campus you will need to ender your PVAMU ID and PVAMU email password.
Portal to Texas History (Open source)
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources. Open source.
_____________________
The Texas Standard was the official publication of the Teachers State Association of Texas (TSAT) and supported the work of the African American teachers of Texas to gain equality in salaries and working conditions with their white peers. A collection from The Portal to Texas History. Open source
_____________________
The world’s largest and most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5.3 thousand full-text periodicals, including 4.4 thousand peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9.3 thousand journals and a total of 10.9 thousand publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1866 - current
______________________
African American Historical Serials Collection
This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture. The product of more than 10 years of organizing and collecting materials, the African American Historical Serials Collection is a complete, centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects. 1829-1922
______________________
Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
______________________
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
______________________
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
_______________________
America's Historical Newspapers
Includes 6 databases: Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation, Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers, Series 3: From Farm to City, Early American Newspapers, Series 4: The Rise of Industry, Early American Newspapers, Series 5: An Emerging World Power. 1682-1912
_______________________
Oxford African American Studies Center
Over 1,750 images, more than 300 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 150 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content. 150 charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts. 16th century to current.
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers. Since its inception in 1995, Issues & Controversies has been a core student and educator resource for understanding and writing about contemporary events and conflicts, as well as for debate prep. It also provides comprehensive coverage and analysis every year of the National High School Debate Topic.
_____________________
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
____________________
NewsBank (All databases portal)
Find current and archived state, national and international articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,400 full-text newspapers and other news sources including the Dallas Morning News, Houston Chronicle, New York Times , Washington Post, Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense and Access Newswires & Transcripts. 1945 - current
_____________________
Credo Complete Cole Collection
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.
______________________
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
_______________________
Focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries, Women's Studies Archive provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, it presents a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
