References
Please contact Ms. Kimberly Gay kmgay@pvamu.edu if you would like to gain instructions on how to access the full-text
Burton, V. S., Jr., Cullen, F. T., Evans, T. D., Dunaway, R. G., Kethineni, S. R., & Payne, G. L. (1995). The impact of parental controls on delinquency. Elsevier Science Publishers.
Previous studies have argued that not only indirect controls but also direct controls lessen delinquency. Through a self-report survey of high school youths, the current study attempts to assess this thesis. Supportive of previous studies, the data revealed that even with a range of theoretically salient variables controlled, direct control was inversely related to delinquent involvement. This relationship, however, was stronger and more consistent for males than females.
Charles, M. T., Kethineni, S., & Thompson, J. L. (1992). The State of Jails in America. Federal Probation, 56(2), 56-62. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.fedpro56.31
Evans, T. D., Cullen, F. T., Burton, V. S. J., Dunaway, R. G., Payne, G. L., & Kethineni, S. R. (1996). Religion, Social Bonds, and Delinquency. Deviant Behavior, 17(1), 43-70. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.devbh17.6
Falcone, D., & Kethineni, S. (2006). Hidden Apartheid: The Status of Dalits or "Untouchables" in India
This paper describes the historical and current plight of Dalits in India, including the social and economic challenges they face. Second, it provides specific examples of violations against the Dalits of India. Third, it looks at India's efforts to fulfill its commitment to human rights. Fourth, the social discrimination experienced by this underclass is further linked to discriminatory treatment by the various agencies of criminal justice. Finally, it discusses various recommendations suggested by human rights organizations and scholars to eliminate this socially endemic discrimination by criminal justice agencies. ..PAT.-Unpublished Manuscript ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Conference Papers -- American Society of Criminology is the property of American Society of Criminology and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Hartjen, C. A., & Kethineni, S. (1996). Comparative delinquency : India and the United States. Garland Pub.
Kethineni, S. (1992). Comparative Study of Roadside Accidents of Police, Emergency, and Non-Emergency Vehicles in Illinois. Journal of Crime and Justice, 15(2), 95-109. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edo&AN=ejs26603312
ABSTRACT The subject of roadside accidents involving police vehicles has received little attention by law enforcement agencies and researchers alike. The purpose of this exploratory study is: (1) to provide the frequency of roadside accidents involving police vehicles, other emergency vehicles, and large and small passenger cars in the state of Illinois; (2) to identify the types of vehicles involved in roadside accidents, the time of day, the accident location, and the frequency of injuries; (3) to illustrate from prior literature the human factors assumed to be causal agents in both aircraft and roadside accidents; and (4) to suggest precautionary measures for police agencies regarding roadside accidents. Data from the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) were utilized as the basis of our study. This exploratory study was limited to the IDOT data base that conforms with the Illinois uniform accident report form. The data suggest that police vehicles exhibit a greater risk of becoming involved in roadside accidents than do any other type of emergency vehicle.
Kethineni, S. (2001). Female homicide offenders in India1. International Journal of Comparative and Applied Criminal Justice, 25(1), 1-24. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edo&AN=ejs24538116
The study explores the patterns and causes of female homicide offending in domestic versus nondomestic situations by incarcerated women in India, analyzes circumstances behind such crimes, and compares them against cross‐national and U.S.‐based perspectives. In‐depth interviews were conducted with 74 female murderers serving life sentences in two state correctional institutions in one of the southern states of India. The results show that many of the domestic murders were committed in order to end cycles of domestic abuse, while a majority of nondomestic murders were committed with family members or accomplices in support of family unity. In either case, these murders reflect the subordinate social position of women in India. The patterns and causes found in this study were similar to those in many cross‐national studies on homicides by females. Recommendations include changing the social and economic status of women, as well as the legal recognition of battered women syndrome as a defense.
Kethineni, S. (2004). Youth-on-Parent Violence in a Central Illinois County. Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice, 2(4), 374-394. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.yvja2.26
Kethineni, S. (2006). The Juvenile Justice System in India: From Welfare to Rights. Asian Journal of Criminology, 1(2), 209-211. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=49571260
Kethineni, S. (2007a). Dalits "Opressed People" of India: How Their Social, Economic and Human Rights are Addressed. Conference Papers -- American Society of Criminology, , 1. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edo&AN=34676254
Historically Dalits have been poor, deprived of basic human rights, and treated as social inferiors in India. They still face economic, cultural, and political discrimination in the name of caste. Centuries of this hidden discrimination is seen in every aspect of the system, including the criminal justice system. This paper describes historical and current situation of Dalits and discusses how police and judiciary tend to treat their grievances. Finally, it examines Government of India's efforts to fulfill its commitment to human rights. ..PAT.-Unpublished Manuscript ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Conference Papers -- American Society of Criminology is the property of American Society of Criminology and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Kethineni, S. (2007b). Evaluation of the Cognitive Intervention Program for At-Risk Youth in McLean County. Conference Papers -- American Society of Criminology, , 1. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edo&AN=34676308
In McLean County, the Cognitive Intervention Program (CIP) was implemented in 2000 to service "high-risk" juvenile offenders. The assumption was that by providing supervision and cognitive intervention to "at-risk" juveniles, who would otherwise be sent to juvenile institutions, recidivism will decrease. Using existing agency data, this proposed study will evaluate the efficacy of CIP in improving pro-social attitudes and skills as part of the attempt to reduce recidivism. Seventy-five high-risk juveniles who participated in the CIP will be compared with a comparison group (Pre-CIP) of 75 juveniles who did not participate in CIP. Program participants, dropouts, and Pre-CIP subjects will be contrasted on pro-criminal attitudes, social skills, interpersonal problem-solving skills, and recidivism rates.Objectives are to (1) identify 75 Pre-CIP and 75 CIP-cases referred to the McLean County Juvenile Probation Department; (2) assess demographic characteristics; (3) evaluate the problem-solving, social skills, and pro-criminal attitudes in reducing recidivism; (4) evaluate the effectiveness of the CIP in improving protective factors; and (5) evaluate the effectiveness of the CIP in reducing overall risk factors associated with recidivism. Five hypotheses will be tested to see changes in scores on attitudinal, pro-social, interpersonal, goal-setting, and protective measures, and recidivism among the groups. This study will expand the research literature and add to our knowledge of "what works" in juvenile corrections. ..PAT.-Unpublished Manuscript ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Conference Papers -- American Society of Criminology is the property of American Society of Criminology and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Kethineni, S. (2012). Redeploy Illinois Program: The Impact on Juveniles, Families, and the Juvenile Justice System. Juvenile and Family Court Journal, 63(2), 39-xxiv. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.juvfc63.15
Kethineni, S. (2013a). Children as Victims. Sage Publications, Inc.
Children as Victims Children are vulnerable to various forms of violence, including violent offenses such as murder, physical assault, rape, and robbery; property offenses, such as larceny-theft, burglary, and auto ...]
Kethineni, S. (2013b). Juvenile Offending. Sage Publications, Inc.
Juvenile Offending Juveniles in the United States are involved in various forms of violent offenses, property offenses, drug and alcohol-related crimes, sex offenses, and gang-related offenses. Violent offenses they commit ...]
Kethineni, S. (2015). Crime and Punishment in India. The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment, , 1-5. 10.1002/9781118519639.wbecpx145
India has historically relied on both formal and informal systems of crime control. The formal system of crime control was based on the concept of Dharma (rules of right conduct), a Hindu religious concept applied by kings to render justice. During British rule, the British relied on formal agencies such as police, judiciary, and correctional administration to maintain order, deter crime, and punish those who violated laws. Prior to and during British rule, informal crime control existed side by side with the formal system. Instead of approaching the police to file complaints, families, neighbors, and the communities settled disputes and maintained community cohesiveness. The first part of this entry provides a historical overview of justice in India; the second part covers crime in India; the third section explains laws and punishments; and the final section provides a conclusion.
Kethineni, S. (2017). India. International Handbook of Juvenile Justice (9783319450889), , 173-194. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=122220905
Kethineni, S. (2019a). Bride Burning. The Encyclopedia of Women and Crime, , 1-2. 10.1002/9781118929803.ewac0037
Bride burning in India has been linked to the practice of dowry, in which a groom is given cash, jewels, and other durable goods. The practice of dowry began in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries CE in northern India. As the demands for dowry spread to other parts of the country, dowry deaths increased. Official reports indicate one dowry‐related death each hour. Women were either committing suicide to end their torment or were burned to death by their husbands or his relatives. Legislative efforts have been ineffective in preventing dowry death due to a lack of enforcement.
Kethineni, S. (2019b). Cryptocurrency
Cryptocurrency Cryptocurrency (i.e., virtual currency) is unregulated digital currency issued and (usually) controlled by its developers. The value of cryptocurrency is not set by a central bank or government authority, ...]
Kethineni, S. (2019c). Dark Web/Deep Web
Dark Web/Deep Web The news media and law enforcement authorities are taking note of the online anonymity that the Deep Web and the Dark Web provide to consumers as well ...]
Kethineni, S. (2019d). Domestic Violence Laws. The Encyclopedia of Women and Crime, , 1-2. 10.1002/9781118929803.ewac0094
Prior to the 1970s, domestic violence was considered a family matter. Police, prosecutors, and even judges were reluctant to intervene in such cases. In the mid‐1970s, states started enacting legislation that provided protection to the victims of domestic violence by allowing police to make warrantless arrests in misdemeanor domestic violence cases. In the last thirty years, various state and federal legislations have been passed that have enhanced protections for victims and their families, increasing prosecution of perpetrators, and improving services to victims.
Kethineni, S. (2019e). Organ Trafficking
Organ Trafficking More than 110,000 people in the United States need a lifesaving organ transplant, but only 30,000–35,000 organ transplants are performed each year. International estimates show there were more ...]
Kethineni, S. (2019f). Ulbricht, Ross (1984–)
Ulbricht, Ross (1984–) Ross William Ulbricht is best known for developing and operating the darknet market Web site Silk Road. Using the pseudonym 'Dread Pirate Roberts,' a character from the ...]
Kethineni, S. (2020). Book Review: Fake goods, real money: The counterfeiting business and its financial management. International Criminal Justice Review (Sage Publications), 30(3), 352-353. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=144916730
Kethineni, S. R. (1992). Delinquency and substance abuse in India and the United States: A test of strain, control and social learning perspectives . (1992-75970-001). http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=psyh&AN=1992-75970-001
Kethineni, S., & Beichner, D. (2009). A Comparison of Civil and Criminal Orders of Protection as Remedies for Domestic Violence Victims in a Midwestern County. Journal of Family Violence, 24(5), 311-321. 10.1007/s10896-009-9231-x
Kethineni, S., Blimling, L., Bozarth, J. M., & Gaines, C. (2004). Youth Violence: An Exploratory Study of a Treatment Program in a Central Illinois County. International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology, 48(6), 697-720. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.ijotcc48.64
Kethineni, S., & Braithwaite, J. (2008). An Evaluation of Cognitive Intervention Program for At-risk Youth: An Assessment of Dynamic Risk Factors. Conference Papers -- American Society of Criminology, , 1. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edo&AN=45000953
Studies evaluating correctional treatment programs have reported that cognitive-behavioral programs, as opposed to traditional behavioral interventions, reduce recidivism significantly. The current study evaluates a cognitive intervention program (COG) for at-risk youth in a mid-western county. Legal history, family life, school and education, community and peers, alcohol and drugs, mental health, aggression and violent ideations, pro-criminal attitudes, and social and goal-setting skills are assessed prior to and after the completion of the program using a sample of 86 COG participants and a matched sample of 86 control group subjects. The results show that COG participants have reduced many of the dynamic risk factors at the conclusion of the program. ..PAT.-Unpublished Manuscript ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Conference Papers -- American Society of Criminology is the property of American Society of Criminology and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Kethineni, S., & Braithwaite, J. (2011). The Effects of a Cognitive-Behavioral Program for At-Risk Youth: Changes in Attitudes, Social Skills, Family, and Community and Peer Relationships. Victims & Offenders, 6(1), 93-116. 10.1080/15564886.2011.534012
The study evaluated the efficacy of a cognitive-behavioral program in assisting juvenile probationers to change their attitudes, improve social skills, develop positive family relationships, and improve community and peer relationships. A total of 86 medium- to high-risk juvenile probationers in the program were compared with a matched sample of 86 youths who did not participate in the program. Results showed that males in the program showed significant improvements in overall attitudes and family relationships compared to their nonprogram counterparts. The results provide support to existing research that cognitive-behavioral programs, when implemented correctly, show positive changes among high-risk youth. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Victims & Offenders is the property of Routledge and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Kethineni, S., & Cao, Y. (2019). Stoning. The Encyclopedia of Women and Crime, , 1-5. 10.1002/9781118929803.ewac0487
In certain religious and traditional cultures, stoning (lapidation) is a method of execution in which a group of citizens throws rocks or stones at the person they intend to execute. Stoning is a form of punishment handed down by the judiciary, or a legitimate form of communal sanction either approved or tolerated in the absence of an appropriate judicial process or used in mob violence in certain countries. Although it takes many different forms, it is typically used as a form of community justice or capital punishment for offenses considered morally or criminally wrong. The sentence of stoning to death has existed for centuries.
Kethineni, S., & Cao, Y. (2020). The Rise in Popularity of Cryptocurrency and Associated Criminal Activity. International Criminal Justice Review (Sage Publications), 30(3), 325-344. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=144916728
Cryptocurrency such as bitcoin, Ethereum, and, more recently, Monero has become the currency of choice for many drug dealers and extortionists. The criminal activities extend to tax evasion, money laundering, Ponzi schemes, and the theft of cryptocurrencies to kidnapping for ransom. As the demand for cryptocurrencies increases, it provides opportunities for criminals to hide behind the presumed privacy and anonymity. Identifying these cryptocurrency-related crimes have posed challenges for law enforcement due to the cross-border nature of transactions, the use of evasion technology to mask the identity of users, and inconsistent regulations. To address the role of cryptocurrencies in criminal activities, the study focused on four research questions: (1) What role do cryptocurrencies such as bitcoin (BTC) play in criminal activities? (2) What factors facilitate cryptocurrency-related criminal activities? (3) What role do politics play in regulating cryptocurrencies? and (4) What are the challenges they pose for regulators and law enforcement? To answer the questions, the study utilized a systematic content review of the news reports, court cases, scholarly articles, online search engines, and commentaries relevant to regulations and reforms. The findings help to understand the current climate of virtual currencies, their use in criminal activities, and the complexities involved in regulating cryptocurrencies. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of International Criminal Justice Review (Sage Publications) is the property of Sage Publications Inc. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Kethineni, S., Cao, Y., & Dodge, C. (2018). Use of Bitcoin in Darknet Markets: Examining Facilitative Factors on Bitcoin-Related Crimes. American Journal of Criminal Justice, 43(2), 141. 10.1007/s12103-017-9394-6
To access, purchase, authenticate, or subscribe to the full-text of this article, please visit this link: http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s12103-017-9394-6 Byline: Sesha Kethineni (1), Ying Cao (1), Cassandra Dodge (2) Keywords: Bitcoin; Silk Road; Cybercrime; Deterrence; Space transition theory Abstract: Bitcoin, created in 2008, has become the most widely accepted virtual currency in the world. Some believe that Bitcoin will play a significant role in both e-commerce and money transfers, whereas others believe that Bitcoin transactions are more likely to be used by criminals creating fraudulent investments and engaging in drug trafficking and money laundering. This study addresses (1) whether the traditional criminological concepts are applicable in explaining criminal activities in virtual space, (2) what factors contribute to Bitcoin-related offenses, and (3) what lessons could be learned from the current study of Bitcoin-related criminal cases. Author Affiliation: (1) 0000 0004 0456 3986, grid.262103.4, Prairie View A&M University, Prairie View, TX, 77446, USA (2) 0000 0001 2353 285X, grid.170693.a, University South Florida, Tampa, FL, 33620, USA Article History: Registration Date: 19/04/2017 Received Date: 05/03/2017 Accepted Date: 19/04/2017 Online Date: 03/05/2017
Kethineni, S., & Falcone, D. (2001a). Protective orders in domestic violence cases in a mid-western county. Criminal Justice Studies: A Critical Journal of Crime, Law and Society, 14(4), 323-344. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edo&AN=ejs21216290
The study reviewed ninety violations of orders of protections in a Mid-western county from November 1999 through May 2000. Demographic profiles of offenders and victims, prior criminal histories, severity of prior dispositions, victim/offender relationships, and the nature of current violations and dispositions were examined. The study also examined the relationship between prior criminal charges and current offenses. The results show that there was no relationship between the type of prior charges and the nature of current offense, indicating that the nature of prior offenses does not predict whether a person will commit domestic violence or violate orders of protection. Severity of prior disposition, especially prior prison sentence, did not predict the type of reoffense committed. Some form of court supervision with a jail sentence seemed to be a viable alternative for first-time domestic violent offenders.
Kethineni, S., & Falcone, D. N. (2001b). Protective Orders in Domestic Viiolence Cases in a Mid-Western County. Justice Professional, 14(4), 323. 10.1080/1478601X.2001.9959629
Examines violations of orders of protections from November 1999 through May 2000 in the U.S. Assessment of the demographic profiles of offenders and victims; Analysis of the prior criminal charges; Implication of prior offenses in predicting domestic violence or violation of orders of protection.
Kethineni, S., & Falcone, D. N. (2007). Employment and Ex-Offenders in the United States: Effects of Legal and Extra Legal Factors. Probation Journal, 54(1), 36-51. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.probj54.6
Kethineni, S., & Grubb, J. A. (2020). An Evaluation of Redeploy Illinois on Juvenile Reoffending. International Journal of Offender Therapy & Comparative Criminology, , 1. 10.1177/0306624x20928021
The Redeploy Illinois (RI) program was created to provide services to nonviolent, moderate to high-risk youth who were likely to be committed to the Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice (IDJJ), which oversees juvenile correctional institutions. Participating counties received financial support from the state to offer various community-based services to youth instead of incarceration. The current research evaluated the impact of the RI program in reducing recidivism from the four pilot sites during state fiscal years (FY) 2006 through 2010. Results showed that youth who completed the program had fewer convictions compared with pre-program (Pre-RI) youth as well as those who were deemed unsuccessful. The findings also demonstrated a longer survival time for RI successful youth relative to those who were unsuccessful and pre-program youth. A discussion of limitations, implications, and future directions was also provided. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of International Journal of Offender Therapy & Comparative Criminology is the property of Sage Publications Inc. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Kethineni, S., Guyon, L., & Fennick, R. M. (1995). Drug use in India: Historical traditions and current problems. International Journal of Comparative and Applied Criminal Justice, 19(2), 211-221. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edo&AN=ejs24538251
By all accounts, drug abuse in India — as elsewhere around the world — is reaching near epidemic proportions. Although India has been a world producer of legal drugs for pharmaceutical markets, it also has an ancient tradition of using drugs in daily activities and ceremonial rituals. Only in recent years has this historically drug-rich country developed a drug abuse problem. Because of its history of tolerance of drug use in culturally sanctioned activities, India offers a rich site for investigating the conditions that foster responsible and irresponsible use of drugs. Global efforts at crop reduction, interdiction, and criminal sanctions continue to be disappointing at best. A more realistic approach may be to identify factors that make drugs particularly alluring to some segments of the population and not to others. This approach emphasized responsible conduct in drug-rich environments rather than depending on the increasingly unlikely eradication of the supply.
Kethineni, S., & Humiston, G. D. (2010). Dalits, the Oppressed People of India: How are Their Social, Economic, and Human Rights Addressed. War Crimes, Genocide, and Crimes Against Humanity, 4, 99-140. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.warcrim4.4
Kethineni, S., & Jones-Brown, D. (2014). Lynching
Lynching Lynching is a form of punishment for presumed criminal offenses that is often carried out by mobs or vigilantes by hanging or burning the victim in public. For almost ...]
Kethineni, S., & Klosky, T. (2000). The Impact of Juvenile Justice Reforms in India. International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology, 44(3), 312-325. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.ijotcc44.33
Kethineni, S., & Klosky, T. (2005). Juvenile Justice and Due Process Rights of Children in India and the United States. International Criminal Justice Review, 15(2), 131-146. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.intcrm15.14
Kethineni, S., & Lerner, S. (2014). Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children. The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice, , 1-5. 10.1002/9781118517383.wbeccj058
Commercial sexual exploitation of children (CSEC) refers to a number of transactional sexual activities involving minors in which adults offer false promises of food, shelter, clothing, money, or other items of value, either to the child or to an interested third party, usually a family member (Stockholm Declaration and Agenda for Action 1996). According to the US National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC), child sexual exploitation includes such activities as procuring children to participate in child pornography, child prostitution, sex tourism, extrafamilial sexual molestation, sending obscene unsolicited materials to a child via the US Postal Service, online enticement of children for transactional sexual activities, and digital transactions of sexual content. In addition, the organization End Child Prostitution, Child Pornography, and Trafficking of Children for Sexual Purposes (ECPAT n.d.) identified child marriage, forced marriage, and pedophilia as acts that fall under the CSEC definition.
Kethineni, S., & Srinivasan, M. (2009). Police Handling of Domestic Violence Cases in Tamil Nadu, India. Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice, 25(2), 202-213. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.jccj25.18
Kethineni, S., & Srinivasan, M. (2013). Victims of Domestic Violence in India: Do They Have Rights? Handbook of Asian Criminology, , 367-377. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=93781375
Kethineni, S., & Srinivasan, M. (2018). Special Courts and Protection of Children from Sexual Offenses in India. Criminal Justice Issues - Journal of Criminal Justice, Criminology and Security Studies, 2018(5-6), 189-204. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edshol&AN=edshol.hein.journals.crjisuj2018.32
Kethineni, S., Srinivasan, M., & Kakar, S. (2016). Combating Violence against Women in India: Nari Adalats and Gender-Based Justice. Women & Criminal Justice, 26(4), 281-300. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=118940531
Using qualitative methodology—field observations and in-depth interviews—the study examines the role ofMahila Samakhya(a group advocating women's equality) andNari Adalats(informal women's courts) in India in combating violence against women. Interviews were conducted with members of aMahila Samakhyain the southwest state of Karnataka and complainants who appeared beforeNari Adalats.Nari Adalatsin Karnataka are an innovation ofMahila Samakhya,a Government of India development program. The results indicate thatNari Adalatsexercise broad authority to investigate and dispose of a wide range of domestic violence cases in India. TheMahila Samakhyaserves as an advocacy group and provides shelter, legal assistance, and social help as well as education for victims of domestic violence. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Women & Criminal Justice is the property of Taylor & Francis Ltd and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Kethineni, S., & Suresh, G. (2009). Profile of Juvenile Offenders: An Empirical View. Conference Papers -- American Society of Criminology, , 1. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edo&AN=54433757
Using Youth Assessment Screening Instrument (YASI), violence profile of Juvenile offenders will be empirically analyzed. The violence scale consisted of acts such as use of weapons, assaults, bullying, fire-setting, and animal cruelty. The profile will be predicted based on prior criminal history, mental health, substance abuse, parental criminal history, school history, and attitudes. ..PAT.-Unpublished Manuscript ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of Conference Papers -- American Society of Criminology is the property of American Society of Criminology and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Sesha, K. (2016). Crime and Punishment in India. Wiley.
Keyword(s): crime, India, law, police, punishments Abstract: India has historically relied on both formal and informal systems of crime control. The formal system of crime control was based on the ...]
Sesha, K., & Sheri, L. (2014). Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children. Wiley.
Commercial sexual exploitation of children (CSEC) refers to a number of transactional sexual activities involving minors in which adults offer false promises of food, shelter, clothing, money, or other items ...]
Smith, B. A., & Kethineni, S. (2006). Homicides by Males and Females in India--the Domestic Context. International Journal of Comparative & Applied Criminal Justice, 30(2), 255-284. http://pvamu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=25092000
Using extensive interviews with 32 males and 32 females serving life sentences in Indian prisons for domestic-related homicides, this study examines the cultural context in which those homicides took place. Compared to their male counterparts, female offenders had lower literacy rates, lower family incomes, minimal if any education, and lower employment skills. Male offenders killed siblings, parents, spouses, and children, while female offenders killed spouses, children, and adult daughters-in-law. Both males and females used knives or agricultural implements. Females were the only ones to use poison or drowning. No offender used a gun. The subordinate status of Indian women, the social taboos against female alcohol use and work outside the home, specific cultural traditions about marriage, and property disputes figured most prominently in these homicides. ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]; Copyright of International Journal of Comparative & Applied Criminal Justice is the property of Taylor & Francis Ltd and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Smith, B. A., & Kethineni, S. (2007). Cultivation and Use of Opium in Rural India: Bottom-Up Insights Into Anti-Drug Efforts. Asian Journal of Criminology, 2(1), 19. 10.1007/s11417-007-9024-1
Although India is a major supplier of licit (i.e., legally grown) opium, it is also a leading producer of illicit (i.e., illegally grown) opium. To learn who might be involved in both types of production, the researchers interviewed 50 licensed opium farmers in Madhya Pradesh. Those interviews covered, among other aspects, farmers' opium use, community attitudes towards addiction and trafficking, and knowledge of government-set opium prices and regulations. In general, some of those interviewed outlined both informal social controls and shunning, used against rural addicts, and support, even if grudgingly given, for government regulation. Those same interviews, however, revealed evidence of important social/economic changes that are undercutting the limited efficacy of extant formal controls in curtailing opium use, addiction, and trafficking.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
