American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Best Bet
A collection of e-books from the E-Read Texas Unlimited Collection, including popular non-fiction such as travel, nutrition and health, and gardening, along with adult and young adult fiction. Accessible anywhere in Texas.
Census 2000 - (census.gov) (Open source)
Best Bet
Data and statistics from Census.gov
Census 2000 was the largest peacetime effort in the history of the
United States. Information about the 115.9 million housing units and
281.4 million people across the United States will be available in a variety
of formats and media, including the Internet, CD-ROMs, DVDs, and printed
reports.
Best Bet
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Topics included in Explora - Public Libraries:
Arts and Literature, Biography, Business and Careers, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History and Social Science, and Science and Math.
Best Bet
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Legal Information Reference Center
Best Bet
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Best Bet
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Best Bet
Full text access to over 600 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from Johns Hopkins' University Press, as well as a growing number of other University Presses and scholarly publishers. Coverage is current with years of back issues varying by title.
Published by: Johns Hopkins University Press
Best Bet
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
TexShare Databases Portal from Texas State Library & Archives Commission
Best Bet
This databases portal webpage from Texas State Library & Archives Commission provides a complete list of Texshare databases. The links from this page are accessible from PVAMU campus network computers only.
Best Bet
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
