Guides: Bioengineering: Home

Bioengineering Resources

Tissue Engineering Strategies for Organ Regeneration by Naznin Sultana (Editor); Sanchita Bandyopadhyay Ghosh (Editor); Soon Chin Fhong (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138391543
Publication Date: 2020-02-11
Tissue Engineering Strategies for Organ Regeneration addresses the existing and future trends of tissue engineering approaches for organ/tissue regeneration or repair. This book provides a comprehensive summary of the recent improvement of biomaterials used in scaffold-based tissue engineering, and the tools and different protocols needed to design tissues and organs. The chapters in this book provide the in-depth principles for many of the supporting and enabling technologies including the applications of BioMEMS devices in tissue engineering, and the combination of organoid formation and three dimensional (3D) bioprinting. The book also highlights the advances and strategies for regeneration of three-dimensional microtissues in microcapsules, tissue reconstruction techniques, and injectable composite scaffolds for bone tissue repair and augmentation. Key Features: Addresses the current obstacles to tissue engineering applications Provides the latest improvements in the field of integrated biomaterials and fabrication techniques for scaffold-based tissue engineering Shows the influence of microenvironment towards cell-biomaterials interactions Highlights significant and recent improvements of tissue engineering applications for the artificial organ and tissue generation Describes the applications of microelectronic devices in tissue engineering Describes different current bioprinting technologies
Fundamental Bioengineering by John Villadsen (Editor); Sang Yup Lee (Series edited by); Jens Nielsen (Series edited by); Gregory Stephanopoulos (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9783527336746
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
A thorough introduction to the basics of bioengineering, with a focus on applications in the emerging'white'biotechnology industry. As such, this latest volume in the'Advanced Biotechnology'series covers the principles for the design and analysis of industrial bioprocesses as well as the design of bioremediation systems, and several biomedical applications. No fewer than seven chapters introduce stoichiometry, kinetics, thermodynamics and the design of ideal and real bioreactors, illustrated by more than 50 practical examples. Further chapters deal with the tools that enable an understanding of the behavior of cell cultures and enzymatically catalyzed reactions, while others discuss the analysis of cultures at the level of the cell, as well as structural frameworks for the successful scale-up of bioreactions. In addition, a short survey of downstream processing options and the control of bioreactions is given.With contributions from leading experts in industry and academia, this is a comprehensive source of information peer-reviewed by experts in the field.
Introduction to Bioengineering by Y. C. Fung (Editor)
Call Number: TA164.I684 2001
ISBN: 9810240236
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
Bioengineering is attracting many high quality students. This invaluable book has been written for beginning students of bioengineering, and is aimed at instilling a sense of engineering in them.Engineering is invention and designing things that do not exist in nature for the benefit of humanity. Invention can be taught by making inventive thinking a conscious part of our daily life. This is the approach taken by the authors of this book. Each author discusses an ongoing project, and gives a sample of a professional publication. Students are asked to work through a sequence of assignments and write a report. Almost everybody soon realizes that more scientific knowledge is needed, and a strong motivation for the study of science is generated. The teaching of inventive thinking is a new trend in engineering education. Bioengineering is a good field with which to begin this revolution in engineering education, because it is a youthful, developing interdisciplinary field.
Methods in Bioengineering by Korkut Uygun (Editor); Charles Y. Lee (Editor)
ISBN: 9781608070138
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
'Written and edited by recognized experts in the field, the new Artech House Methods in Bioengineering book series offers detailed guidance on authoritative methods for addressing specific bioengineering challenges. Offering a highly practical presentation of each topic, each book provides research engineers, scientists, and students with step-by-step procedures, clear examples, and effective ways to overcome problems that may be encountered. This first-of-its-kind volume addresses the important challenge of organ preservation and reengineering. The book presents cutting-edge techniques for damaged livers and hearts via normothermic perfusion, hypothermic machine perfusion for the liver, kidney and pancreas, and imaging techniques to assess the viability of injured kidneys. Professionals and researchers also find methods to decellularize whole organs to create scaffolds for tissue engineering. Moreover, the book presents an approach to enhancing hepatocyte recovery from marginal livers.'
Methods in Bioengineering: 3D Tissue Engineering by Francois Berthiaume; Jeffrey Morgan
ISBN: 9781596934580
Publication Date: 2010-05-31
Tissue engineering is an emerging field that involves the combination of materials, cells, and other signals or growth factors to generate new tissue that can be used to repair or replace damaged tissues due to injury or disease. This groundbreaking volume presents the latest methods and protocols for systematically building tissues in 3D configuration outside the body, as well as providing techniques that modulate repair and regeneration processes that occur "in situ" (in their natural or original place).

Biological Science Database
This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
Coverage: 1946 - current
Engineering Village
The combined Compendex, Inspec, Chimica, and CBNB databases allow for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Coverage is from 1884 to present. Abstracts and indexes. Some full text. Click the button "Find it" to discover if the full text is available via library catalog.
JoVE - Advanced Biology
Users should create a personal account and sign in at https://app.jove.com/auth/signin.
This suite provides an introduction to the field of neuroscience, developmental biology, genetics, and cell biology. Create a free personal account using PVAMU email account and login with this personal account from anywhere.
Technology Collection
A full-text database supported by a specialized A&I file. Covers comprehensive scholarly output, managed by an expert editorial team overseeing content selection and indexing supported by a controlled vocabulary. 1962 - current
SciTech Premium Collection
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Scopus
Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders.
Scopus generates precise citation search results and automatically updated researcher and institution profiles, creating richer connections between people, published ideas, and organizations. In addition to protecting the integrity of the scholarly record, Scopus helps bolster institutional research performance, rank and reputation.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Explore journals, books and articles.

Biomedical Engineering Online
An open access, peer-reviewed journal of biomedical research.
Biomedical Engineering Journals (PVAMU)
PVAMU's full list of biomedical engineering journals available.

Bioengineering organizations are great places to find relevant conferences/events, submit your research for publication, network with other researchers, and find helpful pieces of Grey Literature (Hard-to-find information that may be buried in conference proceedings, meetings notes, or other places on the organizations website). See the LibGuide below for more information about searching Grey literature.

Grey Literature
by Tenley Sablatzky Last Updated Apr 18, 2022 4 views this year

List of Organizations

AIChE - American Institute of Chemical Engineers
AIChE is the world's leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with more than 60,000 members from more than 110 countries. AIChE has the breadth of resources and expertise you need whether you are in core process industries or emerging areas, such as translational medicine.
AIMBE - American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering
a non-profit organization headquartered in Washington, D.C., representing the most accomplished individuals in the fields of medical and biological engineering.
Alpha Eta Mu Beta
Alpha Eta Mu Beta is the National Biomedical Engineering Honor Society. Established in 1979, Alpha Eta Mu Beta was formed to recognize and encourage excellence in the field of Biomedical Engineering and Bioengineering.
ASB - American Society of Biomechanics
The American Society of Biomechanics (ASB) was founded in 1977 to encourage and foster the exchange of information and ideas among biomechanists working in different disciplines and to facilitate the development of biomechanics as a basic and applied science. ASB has a membership of approximately 850 academic researchers, clinicians, scientists, students, and industry members working to solve basic and applied problems in the realm of biomechanics and to improve understanding of the workings of biological systems.
BME - Biomedical Engineering Society
BMES serves as the lead society and professional home for biomedical engineering and bioengineering. Our leadership in accreditation, potential licensure, publications, scientific meetings, global programs, and diversity initiatives, as well as our commitment to ethics, all serve our mission to promote and enhance knowledge and education in biomedical engineering and bioengineering worldwide and its utilization for human health and well-being.
EWH - Engineering World Health
Engineering World Health is a U.S.-based non-profit organization that engages the skills and passions of students and professionals from around the globe to improve healthcare delivery in low-income countries.
IBE - Institute of Biological Engineering
The Institute of Biological Engineering (IBE) is a professional organization which encourages inquiry and interest in biological engineering. IBE supports:
Scholarship in education, research and service
Professional standards for engineering practices
Professional and technical development of biological engineering
Interactions among academia, industry and government
Public understanding and responsible uses of biological engineering products.
IEEE - Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society
IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) is the world’s largest international society of biomedical engineers. The organization’s 12,000 members reside in some 97 countries around the world. EMBS provides its members with access to the people, practices, information, ideas and opinions that are shaping one of the fastest growing fields in science.
SBE - Society for Biological Engineering
the world's leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with more than 60,000 members from more than 110 countries. AIChE has the breadth of resources and expertise you need whether you are in core process industries or emerging areas, such as translational medicine.

Biomat
Biomat.net is an organized and meaningful Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering communication resource for scientists, researchers, members of the business community, government, academia, and the general public. Biomat.net serves as a resource center to disclose news, data, and every other initiative related to biomaterials science and associated fields.

Bioengineering: Home

What is Bioengineering?

Bioengineering Resources

Learn Bioengineering Online!