Skip to main content
John B. Coleman Library

Social Work Resources: Home

Recommended resources for Social Work research.

Library of Congress Headings [LCSH] for Social Work

John B. Coleman Library uses the Library of Congress (LoC) classification system to organize its print materials.

Subject Heading Subject
H Social Sciences, General
HN Social history and conditions; Social problems; Social reform
HQ The family; Marriage; Women
HT Communities; Classes; Races
HV1-9960 Social pathology; Social and public welfare; Criminology; Social work; Charity

See the Library of Congress Classification Outline online to view more headings and subheadings at https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.

You may locate relevant books by subject heading in the Reference collection on the library's 1st floor and in the Circulating collection on the library's 2nd floor.  There are also special collections of materials located in the 1st floor Reading Room and 5th floor Special Collections & Archives Department.

Finding Databases by Subject

1. Go the library's homepage at https://www.pvamu.edu/library/.

2. Click on Databases A to Z.

3. Click on the dropdown box for All Subjects.

4. Click the subject you need.

Now, you can see every database we have access to with relevant content along with a brief description of the resource so that you can choose the database right for your searching.

Helpful Websites for Social Work Research

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities (CBPP) is a progressive, nonpartisan research and policy institute.

The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world.

The National Rural Social Work Caucus is an informal organization; members often say it is an organization that operates by rumor as opposed to
structure, established as a “loose” membership body at the First National Institute on Social Work in Rural Areas hosted by the
University of Tennessee in 1976. The caucus has operated since that time basically as a “commons” with a set of voluntary leaders that work to
keep a voice for social work practice with rural places active within the social work profession.

The NASW - Texas Chapter is a professional membership association that advocates for social workers, advances the profession of social work, and promotes sound public policy that is designed to ensure that human needs are met.

The School Social Work Association of America (SSWAA) empowers school social workers and promotes the profession of school social work to enhance the social and emotional growth and academic outcomes of all students.

The Society for Social Work Leadership in Health Care (SSWLHC) is an association of 700 members who are dedicated to promoting the universal availability, accessibility, coordination, and effectiveness of healthcare, with a focus on the psychosocial components of health and illness.

The United States Census Bureau serves as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.

PVAMU Resources for Social Work Research

John B. Coleman Library's Introduction to Open Access: OA: Social Work LibGuide

John B. Coleman Library's Reference and Information Services Department

John B. Coleman Library's Special Collections and Archives Department

PVAMU's Division of Social Work, Behavioral and Political Sciences (SWBPS)

PVAMU's Division/Social Work Faculty

Undergraduate Course Listing (Search by Course Name: SOWK) to find social work classes and their assigned instructors available at PVAMU.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If we don't own a book, article, or report that you need, just place an ILL request from the library's homepage at:

and our library's Circulation Department staff will locate a copy for you!

Reference & Instruction Librarian

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours