Skip to main content
John B. Coleman Library

Sociology Resources: Home

Recommended resources for Sociology research.

Library of Congress Headings [LCSH] for Sociology

John B. Coleman Library uses the Library of Congress (LoC) classification system to organize its print materials.

Subject Heading Subject
H Social Sciences, General
HM Sociology, General
HN Social history and conditions; Social problems; Social reform
HQ The family; Marriage; Women
HT Communities; Classes; Races
HV Social pathology; Social and public welfare; Criminology

See the Library of Congress Classification Outline online to view more headings and subheadings at https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.

You may locate relevant books by subject heading in the Reference collection on the library's 1st floor and in the Circulating collection on the library's 2nd floor.  There are also special collections of materials located in the 1st floor Reading Room and 5th floor Special Collections & Archives Department.

Finding Databases by Subject

1. Go the library's homepage at https://www.pvamu.edu/library/.

2. Click on Databases A to Z.

3. Click on the dropdown box for All Subjects.

4. Click the subject you need.

Now, you can see every database we have access to with relevant content along with a brief description of the resource so that you can choose the database right for your searching.

Helpful Websites for Sociology Research

The American Sociological Association (ASA) is a 501(c)3 non-profit and membership-based organization in Washington, D.C. dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good.

International Sociological Association (ISA) is governed by the Assembly of Councils which is composed of all members of the Council of National Associations and the Research Council, which consists of one delegate from each member country.

Open Access Social and Behavior Science Commons scholarly research within the Digital Commons Network.

PVAMU Resources for Sociology Research

John B. Coleman Library's Introduction to Open Access: OA: Sociology LibGuide

John B. Coleman Library's Reference and Information Services Department

John B. Coleman Library's Special Collections and Archives Department

PVAMU's Division of Social Work, Behavioral and Political Sciences (SWBPS)

PVAMU's Division/Sociology Faculty

Undergraduate Course Listing (Search by Course Name: SOCG) to find sociology classes and their assigned instructors available at PVAMU.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If we don't own a book, article, or report that you need, just place an ILL request from the library's homepage at:

and our library's Circulation Department staff will locate a copy for you!

Reference & Instruction Librarian

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours