Skip to main content
John B. Coleman Library

Political Science Resources: Home

Recommended resources for Political Science research.

Library of Congress Headings [LCSH] for Political Science

John B. Coleman Library uses the Library of Congress (LoC) classification system to organize its print materials.

Subject Heading Subject
JA Political Science, General
JC Political theory
JF Political institutions and public administration
JJ Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JZ International relations

See the Library of Congress Classification Outline online to view more headings and subheadings at https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.

You may locate relevant books by subject heading in the Reference collection on the library's 1st floor and in the Circulating collection on the library's 2nd floor.  There are also special collections of materials located in the 1st floor Reading Room and 5th floor Special Collections & Archives Department.

Finding Databases by Subject

1. Go the library's homepage at https://www.pvamu.edu/library/.

2. Click on Databases A to Z.

3. Click on the dropdown box for All Subjects.

4. Click the subject you need.

Now, you can see every database we have access to with relevant content along with a brief description of the resource so that you can choose the database right for your searching.

Helpful Websites for Political Science Research

Open Access Political Science scholarly research is available through the Digital Commons Network.

The American Political Science Association (APSA) is the leading professional organization for the study of political science.

The Central Intelligence Agency's (CIA) The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

The International Association for Political Science Students (IAPSS) aims to enhance and support political science students in every part of the world by creating opportunities to research, connect with each other and get to know distant places.

The International Political Science Association (IPSA) is the voice of political science around the world.

PVAMU Resources for Political Science Research

John B. Coleman Library's Introduction to Open Access: OA: Political Science LibGuide

John B. Coleman Library's Reference and Information Services Department

John B. Coleman Library's Special Collections and Archives Department

PVAMU's Division of Social Work, Behavioral and Political Sciences (SWBPS) webpages

PVAMU's Division/Political Science Faculty webpage

Undergraduate Course Listing (Search by Course Name: POSC) to find political science classes and their assigned instructors available at PVAMU.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If we don't own a book, article, or report that you need, just place an ILL request from the library's homepage at:

and our library's Circulation Department staff will locate a copy for you!

Reference & Instruction Librarian

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Administration: (936) 261-1500, Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours