Skip to main content
John B. Coleman Library

History Resources: Home

Recommended resources for History research.

Library of Congress Subject Headings [LCSH] for History

John B. Coleman Library uses the Library of Congress (LoC) classification system to organize its print materials.

Subject Heading Subject
C Auxiliary Sciences of History (Archaeology, Numismatics, Epigraphy, Heraldry, Genealogy, Biography, Etc.)
D World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Etc.
E, F History of the Americas

See the Library of Congress Classification Outline online to view more headings and subheadings at https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.

You may locate relevant books by subject heading in the Reference collection on the library's 1st floor and in the Circulating collection on the library's 2nd floor.  There are also special collections of materials located in the 1st floor Reading Room and 5th floor Special Collections & Archives Department.

Finding Databases by Subject

1. Go the library's homepage at https://www.pvamu.edu/library/.

2. Click on Databases A to Z.

3. Click on the dropdown box for All Subjects.

4. Click the subject you need.

Now, you can see every database we have access to with relevant content along with a brief description of the resource so that you can choose the database right for your searching.

Helpful Websites for Historical Research

National

The Avalon Project by Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library has documents in law, history, and diplomacy.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information and replaced the THOMAS system which was retired in 2016.

FamilySearch is a free genealogical website and research tool.

govinfo by the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government.

The U.S. Library of Congress's Digital Collections have photographs, digital scans of original text documents, audio and video files, and more.  Need help navigating their considerable resources?  They offer Ask-A-Librarian Service just like PVAMU does!


State of Texas

Texas Beyond History; The Virtual Museum of Texas' Cultural Heritage is a public education service of the Texas Archeological Research Laboratory at the University of Texas at Austin and in partnership with the Department of Anthropology at Texas State University including 15 other organizations.

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) is the state agency for historic preservation.

The Texas Historical Foundation (THF) is a non-profit organization that funds preservationists who save buildings, artifacts, documents, and traditions of the Lone Star past.

The Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) is an independent, non-profit organization and the oldest learned society in the state.

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) preserves the archival record of Texas.

PVAMU Resources for Historical Research

John B. Coleman Library's Introduction to Open Access: OA: History LibGuide

John B. Coleman Library's Reference and Information Services Department

John B. Coleman Library's Special Collections and Archives Department

PVAMU History Faculty

PVAMU History Program

Texas Institute for the Preservation of History and Culture (TIPHC)

Undergraduate Course Listing (Search by Course Name: HIST) to find history classes and their assigned instructors available at PVAMU.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If we don't own a book, article, or report that you need, just place an ILL request from the library's homepage at:

and our library's Circulation Department staff will locate a copy for you!

Reference & Instruction Librarian

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours