Open Textbook Examples
Lifetime Fitness and Wellness
Disease Prevention and Healthy Lifestyles
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/suny-monroecc-hed110/
Personal Health
Full Text: https://www.oercommons.org/authoring/14221-he-250-personal-health-portland-community-college/view
Introduction to Health
Full Text: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1g4OYMjgg7ISQeITbqjoWIAd_f5PoXZB_
Yoga
Full Text: https://www.textbookequity.org/tbq-patanjalis-yoga/
Other OER Resources
Community Public Health OER Resources
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1oOuw5fqzLkF7XcfBXLvFR4hpwO5o34Y-F8VjNGy2K7I/edit
Public Health - Social and Behavioral Health
Full Text: https://www.intechopen.com/books/public-health-social-and-behavioral-health
Topics in Public Health
https://www.intechopen.com/books/topics-in-public-health
Current Topics in Public Health
https://www.intechopen.com/books/current-topics-in-public-health
Public Health - Methodology, Environmental and Systems Issues
https://www.intechopen.com/books/public-health-methodology-environmental-and-systems-issues
Environmental Health - Emerging Issues and Practice
https://www.intechopen.com/books/environmental-health-emerging-issues-and-practice
Additional Health OER Textbooks and Resources
http://www.collegeopentextbooks.org/textbook-listings/textbooks-by-subject/healthandnursing
Contemporary Health Issues (MOOC)
http://hlth21fall2012.wikispaces.com/
Not finding what you’re looking for?
https://www.valleycollege.edu/open-education-resources/faculty/find-oer.php
Learn About Creative Commons (CC) Licenses
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/
Anatomy & Physiology
Human Anatomy & Physiology Course 1 - "Human Anatomy and Physiology (A&P) 241 is the first class in a two quarter sequence in which human anatomy and physiology are studied using a body systems approach with emphasis on the interrelationships between form and function at the gross and microscopic levels of organization." From Open Course Library
Human Anatomy & Physiology Course 2 - "Human Anatomy and Physiology (A&P) 242 is the second class in a two quarter sequence in which human anatomy and physiology are studied using a body systems approach with emphasis on the interrelationships between form and function at the gross and microscopic levels of organization." From Open Course Library
Anatomy and Physiology Learning Modules Presented by University of Minnesota, it includes self- test, timed test, Anatomy Bowl and Quiz Bowl.
Anatomy and Physiology Practice Quiz Presented by MTSU
MERLOT Anatomy & Physiology Quizzes - Seven quizzes to help you learning Anatomy & Physiology from Merlot
Web Anatomy, tutorials for beginning anatomy students
Virtual Cell Animation Cellular processes and energy conversion images and animations for beginning Biology student
Inside the Cell NIH National Institue of General Medical Sciences Science Education Booklet divided into chapters with review questions. PDF or html
BBC Science & Nature - Human Body tutorial covers organs, muscles, skeleton, nervous sytem includes interactive game on the Interactive Human Body
Khan Academy Health and Medicine Lectures and educational videos of varying length, Anatomy flash cards, quizzes
TED talks Technology, Education, Design videos of varying length
Gastrointestinal System Anatomy - Learners review the parts of the gastrointestinal system and then check their knowledge in a matching exercise.
Source: WISC Online
Gastrointestinal tic-tac-toe - This tic-tac-toe game tests knowledge of medications, nursing implications, and client outcomes of gastrointestinal management. Players can compete against the computer or another person.
Source: Wisc-online
The musculoskeletal game show! - This game similiar to Jeopardy tests knowledge of the musculoskeletal system.
Source: Wisc-online
Cranial nerves - This interactive exercise teaches students about the different types of cranial nerves.
Source: Wisc-online
Endocrine medication game show! - This game similar to Jeopardy tests knowledge of endocrine medication (thyroid, pituitary, and adrenal cortex & adrenal medulla).
Source: Wisc-Online
WebAnatomy interactive tutorials - Tutorials and self tests on various body systems.
Source: University of Minnesota
Anatomy and physiology animations, movies and interactive tutorial links - A list of links to sources of learning tools
Source: Lonestar College
Courses and Videos
Exercising Advocacy: Some Personal Ideas and Experiences
This lecture by Prof. Timothy Noakes discusses the role of science in assisting the rise of South African cricket and ends with the story of Lewis Gordon Pugh’s swims in the Antarctic and Arctic including his epic 18 minutes (1km) swim at the North Pole in June 2007.
Future Learn - Health & Psychology Courses
Want to enhance patient care or improve your own wellbeing or mental health? Our online healthcare courses provide you with vital skills, knowledge and training. Learn about everything from Parkinson's disease to obesity or nutrition with top researchers.
John Hopkins Open Courseware - Nutrition
Lecture slides on a variety of nutrition-related topics.
Khan Academy - Health & Medicine
Course videos covering advanced topics in physiology and labs.
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice
This is an online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.
From the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, this 30-second video compares the activity of a normal mouse to one with a mutation in a key gene controlling obesity.
Open Learn - Health, Sports & Psychology
Open Learn provides courses such as "Recovery strategies in sport and exercise", "Eating to win: activity, diet and weight control", and "The psychological aspects of sports injury."
Dr. Scott Sailor (Cal State Fresno) created videos on several tests used to determine the type and extent of injuries.
This collection of seven videos from the Dallas County Community College District are available free from iTunes. The videos demonstrate lower body workouts, upper body workouts, and a cardiorespiratory endurance test.
Saylor Academy - Human Physiology Course
Entire course on human physiology- includes textbook, supplementary materials and even video clips.
Tufts Open Courseware - Nutrition
Foundations of Nutrition Science - This course provides an understanding of basic nutrition science to students with a limited scientific background.
UC Irvine OpenCourseWare - Education
Includes the course: Teaching PE & Health, Elementary Education (English)
YouTube - Kinesiology Channels
A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.
A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.
Additional Resources
The American Kinesiology Association
The American Kinesiology Association promotes and enhances kinesiology as a unified field of study and advances its many applications. AKA does this by advocating for kinesiology at national and international levels as well as by supporting its member departments by providing resource materials and leadership and educational opportunities for university administrators in kinesiology.
Typical Joint Movements in the Human Body. Images from Brunnstrom's Clinical Kinesiology 6th Edition
National Academy of Kinesiology (NAK)
The dual purpose of the Academy of Kinesiology shall be to encourage and promote the study and educational applications of the art and science of human movement and physical activity and to honor by election to its membership persons who have directly or indirectly contributed significantly to the study of and/or application of the art and science of human movement and physical activity.
NOVA is the most-watched prime time science series on American television and is now in its fourth decade of production, the series remains committed to producing in-depth science programming in the form of one-hour documentaries and long-form mini-series, from the latest breakthroughs in technology to the deepest mysteries of the natural world.
Created by personal trainers, PhysicalFitnet offers online fitness tools that use cutting-edge technology.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
