Skip to main content
John B. Coleman Library

Psychology Resources: Home

Recommended resources for Psychology research.

Library of Congress Subject Headings [LCSH] for Psychology

John B. Coleman Library uses the Library of Congress (LoC) classification system to organize its print materials.

Subject Heading Subject
BF Psychology
BF173-198.7 Philosophy of Psychology; Psychoanalysis; Psych. tests/testing; Experimental Psych.
BF309-499 Consciousness; Cognition.
BF501-635 Motivation; Affection; Feeling; Emotion; Will; Volition; Choice; Control.
BF636-692.5 Applied psychology; New Thought; Menticulture, Comparative psych.; Sexual behavior.
BF712-724.85 Developmental psych.

See the Library of Congress Classification Outline online to view more headings and subheadings at https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.

You may locate relevant books by subject heading in the Reference collection on the library's 1st floor and in the Circulating collection on the library's 2nd floor.  There are also special collections of materials located in the 1st floor Reading Room and 5th floor Special Collections & Archives Department.

Finding Databases by Subject

1. Go the library's homepage at https://www.pvamu.edu/library/.

2. Click on Databases A to Z.

3. Click on the dropdown box for All Subjects.

4. Click the subject you need.

Now, you can see every database we have access to with relevant content along with a brief description of the resource so that you can choose the database right for your searching.

Helpful Websites for Psychology Research

The American Psychiatric Association is the leading psychiatric organization in the world.

The American Psychological Association is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States.

Cognition and Perception Commons is a database of open access psychology research available through the Digital Commons Network.

The International Association of Applied Psychology (IAAP) is the oldest international association of psychologists. Its official languages are English and French.

PVAMU Resources for Psychology Research

John B. Coleman Library's Introduction to Open Access: OA: Psychology LibGuide

John B. Coleman Library's Reference and Information Services Department

John B. Coleman Library's Special Collections and Archives Department

PVAMU's Psychology Department and Programs

PVAMU's College of Juvenile Justice & Psychology Faculty

PVAMU Psychology Training Clinic (PVPTC)

Undergraduate Course Listing (Search by Course Name: PSYC) to find psychology classes and their assigned instructors available at PVAMU.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If we don't own a book, article, or report that you need, just place an ILL request from the library's homepage at:

and our library's Circulation Department staff will locate a copy for you!

Reference & Instruction Librarian

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours