Skip to main content
John B. Coleman Library

Philosophy Resources: Home

Recommended resources for Philosophy research.

Library of Congress Subject Headings [LCSH] for Philosophy

John B. Coleman Library uses the Library of Congress (LoC) classification system to organize its print materials.

Subject Heading Subject
B Philosophy (General)
B108-708 Philosophy, Ancient
B720-765 Philosophy, Medieval
B770-785 Philosophy, Renaissance
B790-5802 Philosophy, Modern

See the Library of Congress Classification Outline online to view more headings and subheadings at https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.

You may locate relevant books by subject heading in the Reference collection on the library's 1st floor and in the Circulating collection on the library's 2nd floor.  There are also special collections of materials located in the 1st floor Reading Room and 5th floor Special Collections & Archives Department.

Finding Databases by Subject

1. Go the library's homepage at https://www.pvamu.edu/library/.

2. Click on Databases A to Z.

3. Click on the dropdown box for All Subjects.

4. Click the subject you need.

Now, you can see every database we have access to with relevant content along with a brief description of the resource so that you can choose the database right for your searching.

Helpful Websites for Philosophical Research

The American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena.

History of Women Philosophers and Scientists shows that women have influenced the development of scientific and philosophical thought in various ways throughout history. In order to ensure digital and social participation, our research areas intersect and bolster the other pillars of digital humanities: public engagement and teaching.

The International Association of Women Philosophers (IAPh) is a professional association and network that provides a  forum for discussion, interaction and cooperation among women engaged in teaching and research in all aspects of philosophy, with a particular emphasis on feminist philosophy.

Open Access Philosophical scholarly works within the Digital Commons Network.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by a community of philosophers.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

 

PVAMU Resources for for Philosophical Research

John B. Coleman Library's Reference and Information Services Department

John B. Coleman Library's Special Collections and Archives Department

PVAMU Philosophy Faculty within the SWBPS Division

Undergraduate Course Listing (Search by Course Name: PHIL) to find philosophy classes and their assigned instructors available at PVAMU.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If we don't own a book, article, or report that you need, just place an ILL request from the library's homepage at:

and our library's Circulation Department staff will locate a copy for you!

Reference & Instruction Librarian

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours