United States Government and OER Research: OER American Government Textbooks

• FAU Textbook (2013)

  This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License This license is the most restrictive of six main Creative Commons licenses, allowing redistribution. This license is often called the "free advertising?" license because it allows others to download your works and share them with others as long as they mention you and link back to you, but they can't change them in any way.

• American Government and Politics in the Information Age (2016)

  This book is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike, which means that we can take portions of the book and use them as long as we provide proper credit (and license it so others can do the same)

• OpenStax American Government

  This book is licensed under a CC BY license, which means we can use the materials and remix them as long as we provide proper credit.

• American Government by The Independence Hall Association

  This book is licensed under a CC BY license, which means we can use the materials and remix them as long as we provide proper credit.

• Democracy in Brief

  This title is a governmental resource, it is in the public domain, and we can use and remix it as long as we provide credit.

• Civic Life

  This book is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike, which means that we can take portions of the book and use them as long as we provide proper credit (and license it so others can do the same)

Equality under the Constitution Reclaiming the Fourteenth Amendment Judith A. Baer

Congress Policies

Congress Browse Policies by Subject

Library of Congress

LIbrary of Congress: Constitution Resources

Cornell Law School Constitution with Annotations

Speaker of the House

House.gov: Speaker Resources

Bill of Rights

Civil Rights vs. Civil Liberties

Civics Literacy Requirement

Texas Department of Education: https://www.ed.gov/category/location/texas

Landmark Court Cases  (list)

U.S. Courts: Landmark Cases (Includes more extensive information on notable cases like Brown V. Board)

Federalism

Direct Democracy

The Atlantic Monthly: American Voters Are Turning to Direct Democracy

Government Support of Marriage?

Should the Government promote marriage

US House of Representatives Resources

• American Government (OpenStax)

  American Government is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester American government course. The book provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of American government and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.
• American Government (UShistory.org)
• Basic Political Concepts (OrangeGrove)

  This short text introduces the basic ideas of political science.
• American Government (OrangeGrove)

  An exciting new book that explores the role of government, politics, and policy ion American lives.
• USA Elections in Brief (OrangeGrove)

  This book discusses the nature of the modern American electoral process and how it works at the federal, state, and local levels. The process, complicated and sometimes confusing, has evolved to ensure universal suffrage to all men and women who are U.S. citizens 18 years of age or older.

• Digital Commons Network - Political Science Commons

  The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
• OER Commons - Political Science

  The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions. It is a great first step in an OER search, but often more results can be found by searching the specific collection.
• Data.gov

  The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.

• Open Yale - Political Science Courses

  Yale has been home to some of the world’s foremost political scientists and the current faculty includes diverse practitioners of all the major methodologies of political science.
• MIT Open CourseWare - Political Science

  The Political Science Department today provides high-quality graduate training emphasizing research and apprenticeship relations with faculty members; excellent in international relations and comparative politics; an orientation toward issues of public policy both domestic and international; and a chance to interact with scientists, engineers and other social scientists at MIT.
• Open Culture - Political Science Courses

  Get 1,300 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. You can download these audio & video courses (often from iTunes, YouTube, or university web sites) straight to your computer or mp3 player.
• OpenLearn - Society, Politics & Law

  Produced by The Open University, a world leader in open and distance learning, all OpenLearn courses are free to study.
• Saylor Academy - Political Science Courses

  Saylor Academy is a non-profit organization sponsored by the Saylor Foundation focused on bringing "freely available education to all." Founded in 1999 by Michael Saylor, they have created online courses curated from open content found on the Web. The courses are marketed toward students who just want to learn, and are working on some methods for offering credentials.
• American Government (Lumen Learning)

  This course teaches the origins and key functions of the American government. Topics include the Constitution; American federalism; civil liberties; civil rights; public opinion and its role in American democracy; voting and elections; the roles of the media, political parties, interest groups, and lobbying; the three branches of government; state and local government; bureaucracy; and the arenas of domestic and foreign policy.
• Boundless Political Science (Lumen Learning)