Full length journal, magazine and newspaper articles can be found in our online article collections.
If a book or article cannot be found in PVAMU’s resources, it can usually be borrowed from another library. Fill out the Interlibrary Loan form, and please note that it may take several weeks to receive the item.
Use the Online Library Catalog to locate books in the library. You’ll find useful statistics and background information in these books, which are located on the first floor of the library in the Reference department:
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery): The Digital Library and The Guide to Computing Literature sponsored and maintained by Association for Computing Machinery. The Guide is a collection of bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other publishers. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the Guide as a small subset of the total bibliographic space, more than 750,000 citations from 3,000+ publishers. The Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers published by ACM and by other publishers that have co-publishing or co-marketing agreements with ACM. Computer Source: Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Information Science and Technology Abstracts: Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts: Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (formerly Microcomputer Abstracts) provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more. There are other databases which have computer resources: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Science and Technology Collection, Science Direct, SpringerLink, Kluwer Journals Online, ProQuest Computing, Wiley Inter Science Journals, Business Source Complete, Business Source Premier and some others.
The reference books are located on the first floor of the library in the Reference department: • Encyclopedia of portal technologies and applications / Arthur Tatnall, editor.
REF: ZA4201 .E53 2007
• Internet and society: a reference handbook / Bernadette H. Schell, editor.
REF: HM851 .S25 2007
• Encyclopedia of human computer interaction / Claude Ghaoui, editor.
REF: QA76 .9 .H85 .E52 2006
• PC Magazine technology almanac 2004 / Brian Underdahl.
REF: T20 .P36 2004
• Encyclopedia of computer science / editors, Anthony Ralston, Edwin D. Reilly, David Hemmendinger.
REF: QA76.15 .E48 2003
• Milestones in computer science and information technology / Edwin D. Reilly.
REF: QA76 .R434 2003
• Computer sciences / Roger R. Flynn, editor in chief.
QA76 .C572 2002
The Internet Society http://www.isoc.org/
(The Internet SOCiety (ISOC) is a professional membership society with more than 100 organization and over 20,000 individual members in over 180 countries. It provides leadership in addressing issues that confront the future of the Internet, and is the organization home for the groups responsible for Internet infrastructure standards, including the Internet Engineering Task Force .