Skip to main content
John B. Coleman Library

College of Education: Library Resources: Home

The Whitlowe R. Green College of Education has a legacy of producing some of the nation’s most distinguished teachers, counselors, principals, diagnosticians and superintendents.

Find Articles

Full length journal, magazine and newspaper articles can be found in our online article collections.

If a book or article cannot be found in PVAMU’s resources, it can usually be borrowed from another library. Fill out the Interlibrary Loan form, and please note that it may take several weeks to receive the item.

Find Print and Online Books

Use the Online Library Catalog to locate books in the library and in the online databases

Selected Reference Books

Selected Reference Books

  • Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education.  LC4007 E53 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Education.  LB15 E47 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Educational Research.  LB15 E48 1992
  • Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults.  LC4007 .E53 2000

College of Education: Databases

Databases A to Z List

Academic Search Complete
Credo Reference
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Issues and Controversies

JSTOR- advance search
Masterfile Premier

ERIC: Education- EBSCOhost
Netlibrary (Now EBSCO)
Newsbank  (National newspapers)
Newsbank Stats
Newspaper Source
Professional Development Collection

ProQuest Databases
PsycArticles (APA)
PsycCritiques
PsychInfo
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
SAGE Journals Online
Science Direct
Wiley InterScience

Lexis Nexis -Court Cases

Useful Education Websites

LD Online

www.ldonline.org
LD OnLine.org is the world’s leading web site on learning disabilities and ADHD, serving >250K parents, teachers, and other professionals each month.  LD OnLine seeks to help children and adults reach their full potential by providing accurate and up-to-date information and advice about learning disabilities and ADHD.

Merlot
www.merlot.orgmerlot
A free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education.  Links to online learning materials are collected, along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments.

National Center for Educational Statistics (NCES)
http://nces.ed.gov/index.html  
From the U.S. Dept. of Education–primary source of data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

National Forum

National Forum (http://www.nationalforum.com/) – A family of scholarly, refereed, peer reviewed, professional journals on the leading edge of academic excellence.  Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP)

Special Education Programs
www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/osers/osep/index.html?src=mr
Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) is dedicated to improving results for infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities ages birth through 21 by providing leadership and financial support to assist states and local districts.

 

More Useful Websites

Professional Education Orgainzations

Professional Organizations and Journals

       Administrative Science Quarterly

       Administrator’s Notebook

       American School Board Journal

       Educational Administration Quarterly

       Educational Leadership

       Journal of Educational Concepts

       Educational Researcher

       Harvard Educational Review

       Journal of Educational Administration

       Journal of Educational Research

       National Association of Secondary Principals Bulletin

       Phi Delta Kappan

       Principal

       Qualitative Inquiry

       Review of Educational Research

       The Journal of Urban Education and Practice

       The Executive Educator

       The Harvard Business Review

       The Journal of Negro Education

       The School Administrator

       Urban Education and Society

Head of Reference and Information Services Department, Librarian II

eBooks: Education

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours