Skip to main content
John B. Coleman Library

Communications and Journalism: Library Resources: Home

The Communication library research prepares students for careers in television and video production, news broadcasting, speech, public relations, and writing and editing for print media.

Find Articles

Full length journal, magazine and newspaper articles can be found in our online article collections

Find Books

Use the Online Library Catalog to locate books in the library. You might want to start with “Communication” and “Journalism” as subject words and or key words.

Suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings and Call number locations included these but not limited to:

P87-96 Communication/Mass media;

P94.7 Interpersonal communication;

P95-95.6 Oral communication/Speech.
If a book cannot be found in PVAMU’s resources, it can usually be borrowed from another library. Fill out the Interlibrary Loan form, and please note that it may take several weeks to receive the item.

Reference Books (on the 1st Floor between the Reference Desk and Periodicals room) You will find useful statistics and background information in these non-circulating books

YEARBOOK/CAREERS

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook. New Providence:  R.R. Bowker, 2000. [REF HE 8689 .B77]
International directory in eleven main sections: i.e. overview of broadcasting media; law and regulation; programming services; etc.

Careers in Focus: Journalism. New York, N.Y.: Ferguson, 2006. [REF. PN4776. C35 2006]
Book that focuses on the careers: Art Directors, Cartoonists, Columnists, Copy Editors, Desktop Publishing Specialists, Editorial and Research Assistants, Fashion Writers and Editors, Food Writers and Editors, Foreign Correspondents, Illustrators, Journalism Teachers, Magazine Editors, News Anchors, Newspaper Editors, Photo Editors, Photographers and Photojournalists, Prepress Workers, Printing Press Operators and Assistants, Reporters, Sportswriters, Writers.

Communication Yearbook. Anderson, James A., ed. Newbury Park, CA: Sage, 1982 – [REF P 87 .C5974]
Organized in topical sections with criticisms on each of the main works. Indexed.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information / edited by Jorge Reina Schement.   [REF P 87.5 E53 2002)
This well-written source provides an overview of eight major topics in communications and information science. Includes 280 signed entries with bibliographies and cross-references.

From Talking Drums to the Internet [Electronic Resource] : An Encyclopedia of Communications Technology / Robert Gardner, Dennis Shortelle. [P96.T42 G374 1997eb].   An electronic book.

International Encyclopedia of Communications. NY: Oxford University Press, 1989. [REF P 87.5 15 1989]
Scholarly articles about communication systems, modes, behavior, and effects, relating to both verbal and non-verbal communication. Contains biographical articles about recognized names in the field.  Cross references and indexing provided.

Language and Communication:  A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. [REF P 29 .F47 1998]
The author, a cultural anthropologist, offers a broad perspective on language and communications. Covers 126 cultures from five continents. Includes 151 entries, bibliographies and cross-references.

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Media Literacy. [REF P 91.3 .S527 1997]
Text focuses on terms and ideas in media literacy, or the methods people use to evaluate mass media’s messages. Includes key organizations and leaders in the field.  Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media and Communications. [REF P 87.5 .D36 2000)
This helpful source covers terms, concepts, people and movements in semiotics, media analysis and communications. Arranged alphabetically; includes cross-references.  Oxford English Dictionary, v. 1-20. [REF PE 1625 .O87 1989].
This renowned source defines more than 615,000 words. Known for its lengthy etymologies (word origins) and valuable cross-references, OED is the definitive dictionary of the English language. Entertaining to browse.

Selected Journal Titles and Online Databases

The most recent issues of print journals can be found in the Periodicals Department, which is located on the first floor of the library behind the Reference Department.

• Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Communication Booknotes Quarterly in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Communication, Culture & Critique in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Communication Monographs in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Communication Quarterly in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database and in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform)
• Communication Reports (Pullman, Wash.) in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database and in Expanded Academic ASAP and General OneFile Database
• Communication Research in Business & Company Resource Center and in Expanded Academic ASAP and General OneFile Database
• Communication Research Reports in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Communication Research Trends in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Communication Studies in ProQuest Psychology Journals (Legacy Platform) and in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database.
• Communication Theory in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform) and in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Asian Pacific Communication in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Broadcasting in HeinOnline Law Journal Library Database
• Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media in HeinOnline Law Journal Library and in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Communication in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Development Communication in Expanded Academic ASAP Database
• Journal of Film and Video in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform) Database and in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Intercultural Communication Research in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Mass Media Ethics in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database

• Journal of Media Economics in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database and in Business Source Complete Database.
• Journal of Media Practice in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Media Psychology in PsycARTICLES Database
• Journal of New Communications Research in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Popular Culture in Academic Search Complete Database and SocINDEX with Full Text Database
• Journal of Radio & Audio Media in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Radio Studies in HeinOnline Law Journal Library Database and in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journal of Visual Communication and Image Representation in ScienceDirect Freedom Collection Database
• Journalism & Communication Monographs in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database and in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform) Database
• Journalism & Mass Communication Monographs in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform) Database and in Academic Search Complete Database
• Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database and in ABI/INFORM Complete (Legacy Platform)
• Journalism History and in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database and in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform)
• Journalism Practice in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journalism Quarterly in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journalism Studies (London, England) and in Communication and Mass Media Complete Database
• Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly – Print: 1998 to present- John B. Coleman Library Stacks
• Journal of Communication – Print: 1979 to 1995- John B. Coleman Library Stacks

Associations and Orgainzations

ASSOCIATIONS

If you are looking for experts in a particular area, information on presenting and publishing research, or general information about the field of communication studies, the following associations are a good place to start:Accuracy in Media. (www.aim.org)
“Nonpartisan, media watchdog organization.”American Society of Journalists and Authors. (www.asja.org)
“An organization for freelancers. Members share candid data on writing rates, publishing contracts, editors, agents and more. Non-members benefit from our Contracts Watch newsletter, annual writers conference and writing resources.”Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. (www.aejmc.org)
The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication is a non-profit, educational association of journalism and mass communication faculty, administrators, students and media professionals. Founded in Chicago, Illinois, in 1912, AEJMC has some 3,600 members around the world. AEJMC conventions attract more than half these members each year to various destinations throughout the United States and Canada.Association for Women in Communications. (www.womcom.org)
“…a professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines.”Communications Workers of America. (www.cwa-union.org)
“Union for telecommunications, printing and news media, public service, health care, cable   television, general manufacturing, electronics, gas and electric utilities workers.”IEEE Communications Society. (http://www.comsoc.org/)
“The IEEE Communications Society is a diverse group of industry professionals with a common interest in advancing all communications technologies.”International Communication Association (http://www.icahdq.org)
ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.Journalism Education Association. (http://www.jea.org)
“The Journalism Education Association, Inc., is the only independent national scholastic journalism organization for teachers and advisers.
Founded in 1924, JEA is a volunteer organization. Members of the Board of Directors, including the officers, are current or retired journalism teachers who have obtained their positions through national membership elections.”

National Association of Black Journalist (NABJ). (www.nabj.org)
“The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide. Founded by 44 men and women on December 12, 1975, in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization of journalists of color in the nation.”

National Association of Broadcasters (NAB).  (www.nab.org)
“A full-service trade association which represents the interests of free, over-the-air radio and television broadcasters.”

National Communication Association (natcom.org) Formerly SCA, this is the oldest scholarly speech association in the United States. Includes information about conventions, research, and educational programs.

Public Relations Society of America.  (www.prsa.org)
“Professional society of public relations practitioners.”

Society of Professional Journalist (SPJ). (www.spj.org)
“The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members; works to inspire and educate current and future journalists through professional development; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press through its advocacy efforts”

Southern States Communication Association (SSCA).  (www.ssca.net)
“To promote the study, criticism, research, teaching, and application of the artistic, humanistic, and scientific principles of communication.”

WEBSITES

Journalism.org. (www.journalism.org)
“The Project for Excellence in Journalism is an initiative by journalists to clarify and raise the standards of American journalism. … There are two main components to the Project. First, it sponsors The Committee of Concerned Journalists, which after a series of nationwide public forums, now conducts a national newsroom training program, The Traveling Curriculum. Second, it conducts research. Several reports are released each year, including a new Annual Report on the State of the News Media.”

Organization for the Study of Communication Language and Gender (OSCLG.org)
OSCLG–the Organization for the Study of Communication, Language and Gender–has grown from a series of interdisciplinary conferences that began at Bowling Green State University in 1978. Since that time, it has sought to provide a forum for professional discussion, presentation of research and demonstration of creative projects in the areas of communication, language and gender, and to promote recognition of those doing work in this area.

Statistics Every Writer Should Know. (nilesonline.com/stats)
“A simple guide to understanding basic statistics, for journalists and other writers who might not know math.”

Head of Reference and Information Services Department, Librarian II

eBooks

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours