Skip to main content
John B. Coleman Library

College of Business: Library Resources: Home

The College of Business at Prairie View A&M University provides a high quality, comprehensive business education to a diverse student population. Encouraging an integrated approach to instruction, the College helps students understand relationships among

Reference Business Books

  • African-American business leaders and entrepreneurs / Rachel Kranz. Kranz, Rachel. 2004
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HC102.5.A2 K73 2004
  • American business leaders: from colonial times to the present / Neil A. Hamilton. Hamilton, Neil A., 1949- 1999
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HC 102.5 A2 H36 1999
  • Careers in focus. Business. 2000
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HF5381.2 .C375 2000
  • Dictionary of business / Graham Bannock … [et al.]. 2003
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HF1001 .D444 2003
  • Dictionary of e-business: a definitive guide to technology and business terms Francis Botto.2000
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HF 5548.32 B67 2000
  • Dictionary of international business terms / John J. Capela, Stephen W. Hartman. Capela, John J. 2004
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HD62.4 .C36 2004
  • Encyclopedia of African American business / edited by Jessie Carney Smith; Millicent Lownes Jackson, consultant, Linda T. Wynn, consultant. 2006
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HD2358.5.U6 E53 2006
  • Encyclopedia of African American business history / edited by Juliet E.K Walker. 1999
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HD2344.5.U6 E53 1999
  • Encyclopedia of business / Jane A. Malonis, editor ; foreword by Martin S. Fridson. 2000
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HF1001 .E466 2000
  • Small business desk reference. 2004
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HD62.7 .S585 2004
  • Ultimate business library: the greatest books that made management / Stuart Crainer. Crainer, Stuart. 2003
    Library Location: Reference Call Number: HF5351 .C732 2003

BRASS - Business Reference & Services Section- Business LibGuides

About BRASS Business LibGuides

The BRASS Business Guides include selected free and fee-based resources highly relevant to information professionals and users interested in business research. Reference and User Services Association Division of American Library Association.

 

Research Websites

Find articles: journals, magazines, newspapers,

Find Articles

Full length journal, magazine and newspaper articles can be found in our online article collections.

If a book or article cannot be found in PVAMU’s resources, it can usually be borrowed from another library. Fill out the Interlibrary Loan form, and please note that it may take several weeks to receive the item.

NBC Learn Videos

Library Business Database Collections

Specialized Business Studies Databases

ABI Inform

Contains 175 journals, including major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and area business publications. The database contain information from 1985 to present

Business Source Complete

Nearly 1,300 active full journals that are full-text and peer-reviewed. Nearly 770 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo, More than 2,100 active and magazines, and More than 840 active full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus

 

Business Insights: Global

Business Insights: Global is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.

 

Business Economics and Theory

Business Economics and Theory Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.

 

Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.

 

Academic and Business Research Institute

AABRI publishes peer-reviewed related journals

 

Accounting and Tax

Provides current accounting, taxation, and financial management information, as well as profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms. Contains information between 1971-present.

 

Business Collection

Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

 

Checkpoint (Tax & Accounting software)

Checkpoint provides fast access to thoroughly integrated and up-to-date research materials, editorial insight, productivity tools, online learning, news updates, and marketing resources. Get trusted answers to your tax, accounting, finance, and trade questions, plus guidance and resources to help you make confident decisions quickly — adding more value to your firm or business.

 

Small Business Collection

Small Business Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines perfect for both business school students and entrepreneurs. The database offers content that includes insights, tips, strategies and success stories. (Gale)

 

Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO)

Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

 

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. (Gale)

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

This is the repository of graduate dissertations and theses in the world. It contains more than 4 million theses and dissertations from universities across more than 88 countries. Each year, at least 130, 000 dissertations are added to the database.

 

E-Books

 

E-Book Collection (EBSCOhost) This collection has many titles on Business Studies, Finance, Management, marketing among others.

 

ProQuest Ebook Central  This collection has many titles on Business Studies, Finance, Management, marketing among others.

EBooks are selected for this collection to assist students and scholars with various business research, special project and entrepreneurial needs, and to help students understand general business concepts. The eBook Business Collection encompasses a variety of business topics, such as marketing, finance, supply chain management and entrepreneurship, with additional focus on career growth, personal development, communication and networking.

 

Online Reference Materials

 

The following 2 databases contain reference books such as encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. Among the various disciplines included are materials on business administration.

Credo Reference

 

General Reference Center Gold

 

eBooks: Business

Kimberly M. Gay: Head of Reference and Information Services, Librarian II

eBooks: Business

eBooks: Business

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours